We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS FOOD AND A QUIRKY THEME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sidings Restaurant

The Sidings Restaurant
Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
01904 470221
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Sidings Hotel and Restaurant is situated in York, in North Yorkshire and is based around 5 Pullman-style railway carriages, located by the east coast mainline. The restaurant is unreservedly Italian, offering dishes such as cannelloni, marinated sardines, lamb with rosemary and potatoes, steaks and a selection of pizzas. The wine list focuses on Italian wine and three courses will cost an average of ��30 per person. Don't forget to check out the specials of the day, as well. Tickets, please! Next stop: the Sidings Hotel and Restaurant!
Middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS FOOD AND A QUIRKY THEME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We got this deal on a Groupon. It took a year after getting the voucher to actually get there because of water damage/frozen pipes at different times of year and we were only told this the day before we were due to go, so make sure you confirm your booking the night before. However, when we got there it was great. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and in a carriage, and the breakfast was fantastic. We'd booked for full English but wen continental as the spread looked so nice with fresh meats, a cheese board, yoghurts, grapefruit, eggs, fresh juices etc. The best bit about the stay was the 3 course meal, taken from the set !14.95 menu. It was to die for and we'd recommend the steak; very nicely, lightly cooked. Would definitely go back again,

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    25
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable weekend......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent Saturday 14th/Sunday 15th July at The Sidings as a birthday treat from my wife. Two friends accompanied us, (another birthday boy and his wife), and all four of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere was very relaxed and easy going.
We slept in a converted railway carriage (small, but it was a railway carriage), and we ate in a Pulman car, very enjoyable, the food and ambiance was excellent, the staff attentive, courteous and polite.
We had the pleasure of meeting Sid, the manager, a really nice guy, who takes an interest in his guests, and takes the trouble to interact with them.
When he found out there were two birthdays being celebrated, all four of us received a complimentary glass of ouzo, cheers Sid.
The Sidings is alongside the main East coast train line, which added to the experience.
Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just that bit different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sitting alonside the London to Edinburgh railway line might seem bizarre, but here is a venue with a difference. About 5 miles north of York, this Italian/Cypriot eating place offers good food, great atmosphere, and whilst we were there, a real demon keyboard player who could play any request from Bach to Adele without sheet music or a safety net !!
Sitting listening to cool music, bottle(s) of wine, watching the sunset and the trains whizzing by. - magic

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeadon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a very 'Happy' Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a marvellous place to stay or go for a meal. We booked it for our anniversary as the idea of staying in a converted railway carriage appealed to us and we weren't disappointed.
As soon as we arrived we received the warmest of welcomes and the friendly staff were superb throughout.
We spent a lazy afternoon in the beer garden/conservatory watching the world and various trains go by then dined the the converted railway carriage for our evening meal.
The food was superb. Lovely large portions and a lovely variety of things to choose from.
We'd have no hesitation in recommdning The Sidings to anyone and can't wait to go back there again very soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The worst B&B we have stopped in.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Having been given this two day break as a Christmas present i perhaps shouldn't be able to write anything negative about The Sidings.Unfortunately this is not true. On arrival we were greeted by polite and friendly staff but there the plus points ended. I expected the accommodation to be small but there is more room in an 8x10 garden shed.Everything in the room was in need of a lot of TLC. Broken down wardrobe.TV you could barely see the picture on.My wife refused to use the shower,a hand basin you could only clean your teeth in with a struggle. On each wing of the structure are two parallel carriages one of these on each wing was just full of junk with the curtains hanging off.The area between the carriages was covered in weeds a foot high.The curtains in our room were ill fitting and so thin you could spit through them. We ate in the restaurant,a decent meal but slightly expensive at £20 per head for a basic three course of 2x liver pate,2x pasta dishes and a pancake for pudding. The breakfast was continental and of a very basic standard. £5 extra if you wanted an English breakfast. In short the whole place leaves a lot to be desired,we left a day early and traveled back to the comforts of home. The whole place needs a good revamp and i would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidings Restaurant also viewed

Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sidings Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sidings Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.