We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family evening meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant

The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant
Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
01874 620111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $197
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The exterior of Brecon’s Felin Fach Griffin may be of ‘another country pub’ but step inside and it’s almost as if chintz and row upon row of horse brasses never happened. Boldly coloured walls and plush leather couches sit happily alongside scrubbed wooden tables and chairs and historic beams, but it’s the food that we’re here for…the very food that has critics raving and the awards piling up. Locally sourced ingredients, including a selection from the restaurant’s own kitchen garden, provide a centrepiece for glorious dishes full of imagination. Make the most of melt in the mouth mains and to die for desserts but remember to leave room for the spectacular selection of Welsh cheeses which really make the meal.

The Felin Fach Griffin has won the Best Family Restaurant award for the United Kingdom in the 2008 Good Food Guide.
carmarthenshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“family evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We found this place on the hop. Excellent food with small portions and quite expensive but this is what you would expect for an el a carte menu. We would recommend this gastro Inn to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    57
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Classic gastro pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It does what it says on the tin. Busy, friendly, good service, well cooked food, not cheap but Roth it. For me, most gastro pubs give me too much meat and too little veg and this was no exception. My steak was delicious but the accompaniments were too rich for me (fatty hash brown and deep fried something, together with a rich mushroom puree with lots of cream in it). The desert spoon of spinach was lovely but too little. My husband liked the monkfish and particularly liked the butternut squash purée served with it. He loved the Austrian red wide, worth trying. It was also across the road from a friendly B&B where we stayed. A great end to riding unguided over the hills with Free Rein.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

To day we have had a Fantastic lunch. Superb fresh fish with an iexcellent Italian wine from Sud Ti rol. This restaurant earns a Michielin star!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Decided to go somewhere nice for lunch and I thought about places visited previously. A few restaurants came to mind but my daughter who was taking me out agreed the Felin Fach would fit the bill! The restaurant was quite busy for a Tuesday lunch time. We were made to feel welcome and invited to take a seat on the sofas in the lounge bar. We ordered real ales while we pondered over the menu choices. I chose a pork black pudding terrine as a first course and a salmon dish for my mains. My daughter chose a crab dish to start and the same mains. The quality of the food was excellent. Service was first class and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. We ordered a white house wine which was dry, but also fruity. To finish we had a cheese board of goats cheese , chutney,rustic bread and home made biscuits. We really enjoyed our lunch and yes we will return in the future!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge on Wye
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Mid Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There is always fun stuff to try on the menu great fair priced wine list! lovely puds, VERY CHILD FRIENDLY! Wonderful Service! Go have Fun and you won't regret it! Amazing SUNDAY LUNCH! Visit the allotments. Drink the local beers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.