We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding, good food, great staff,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peterstone Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Peterstone Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peterstone Court Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach LD3 7YB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Llanhamlach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding, good food, great staff,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had the pleasure of attending a colleagues wedding at Peterstone Court. It was a welcome return for my wife & I as we have previously stayed for a long weekend. Just as during our last stay the welcome was superb and the staff's helpfulness and general sense of putting the customer first shone through all day and right to the end of the night. Food was terrific. Wonderful day made even more pleasurable by a hotel and team that put the customer first. Bravo. Will return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    81
    23
    18
    18
See reviews for
47
149
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Though we got married Nov '11, it's only now I've started review on Trip Advisor. My first port of call had to be Peterstone Court.

I only had to step through the doors to know that this beautiful Georgian building as 'it'. A place like this could easily be pretentious but you are immediately made to feel welcome. The place is packed full of character and each of the bedrooms are amazing.Their lounge is impossible not to relax in with its cosy sofas and fireplace. I was lucky enough to be the first bride to stay in the newly refurbished bridal suite and it was perfect... especially loved the adjoining doors to the bridesmaids, to provide a massive space for getting ready on day.


The food on the day was ridiculously fantastic... people still comment to date about the beef!!!
The day went so smoothly thanks to the amazing staff. So many little hiccups (not on their part) were averted. Apparently, some one spilled mulled wine on the train of my dress... I only knew about it after the FANTASTIC restaurant manager had removed it!!! But thanks must mainly go to wedding organiser, Chloe! After our wedding planner unfortunately had to take leave, we were handed over to Chloe. We were here first wedding at Peterstone. Well, we were so privileged. She seamlessly stepped in and her approach was much more my style! Friendly, welcoming, smiling, down to earth and nothing was too much bother. I've been there several times since and am always met with a warm welcome from both her and the dress saving restaurant manager.

Perfect! We are forever grateful!! x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.e.wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

friends,family and I spent a day at Peterstone court for their 1/2 day spa experience which included lunch.We had a delicious lunch in the restaurant with beautiful views of the Brecon Beacons. The restaurant and Bar staff were friendly, attentive and totally professional. The 2 course lunch was delicious, all fresh, locally sourced produce. After our leisurely lunch, with equally good wine, we went to the Spa .We had a choice of treatments and also full use of the leisure facilities- jacuzzi,sauna, gym and outdoor swimming pool. The spa staff were as professional, solicitous and friendly as the hotel staff.The weather was gorgeous and the views from the gardens were breathtaking. I would highly recommend this pamper day to celebrate a special occasion or just to give yourself a treat.

Room Tip: i cannot comment on the rooms as we did not stay at the hotel overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were booked in to this hotel for a 4 night stay but had to check out after only one night!
Unfortunately it did not come up to scratch or expectations for the the following reasons.
My suspicions of poor cleanliness were alerted when I moved the TV to a different angle and saw thick dust under the stand.There were stains and marks on the chest of drawers on which the tea tray was placed suggesting it had rarely been wiped clean.Inside the drawers was dust and hair etc ..again suggesting they were not cleaned out after previous guests.We could also see that where hooks had come off walls and door in the bathroom no replacement had been fitted leaving shabby looking holes.The bathroom was not satisfactorily clean with brown stains in the toilet pan, disintegrating grouting and accumulated dust on the floor in and around the toilet and bath.As I was now becoming more uncomfortable in the room I felt that I should investigate under the bed..I found what can only be described as an unhealthy collection of debris which can only have been there for a lengthy period of time...hair,hairpins,fluff,old slipper,A4 paper and a plastic bag containing some unrecognisable objects plus a huge cobweb hanging from the bed canopy.
I called reception and the Assistant Manager came to the room accompanied by a member of staff and a 'Henry" vacuum cleaner.As the problem was too vast for the 'Henry' to solve in a small amount of time we were shown 2 alternative rooms.
After checking the cleanliness of them..although not totally acceptable..dirty glasses,dirty pillowcase we agreed to stay for the night in one of them although not feeling 100% comfortable at this point.
The evening meal was average as was service with the exception of one young girl who was cheerful and polite.
The next morning we had breakfast in the conservatory which again could have benefitted from a thorough clean along the edges and and corners of the floor.The haddock at breakfast was excellent but the coffee was awful...undrinkable!
By this time we had decided to move elsewhere for the remainder of our Brecons break and were fortunate to be able to find availability at Gliffaes just 15 minutes away..a beautiful hotel ..spotlessly clean and hugely welcoming
I have to wonder whether I was in the same hotel as all the other travellers bar 1 on trip advisor!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
As a 5 star restaurant with rooms, we do have a high standard which we comply too, and I apologise that we didn’t meet your expectations. We achieved this standard in the recent past, and all of the team at Peterstone Court work hard to maintain this excellence. There is no excuse at all for this disappointing level of cleanliness, and I can assure you this problem has been addressed. As our Housekeeping department unfortunately failed on this occasion, we charged nothing for your accommodation for the one night in compensation for your discomfort. We would love to welcome you back in the future and I can confidently say that the inconvenience you experienced will not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Britain traveling on our own for more than two weeks. Thos far th Ptetertone Court Hotel has been our favorite place to stay. We are glad we booked a standard double. It was huge and luxorios. The view of the sheepfolds was so entertaining. We checked in during an outpor but by the time we got to our room there was a rainbow over the fields, All the staff we encountered were efficient, friendly and helpful. Food at dinner and breakfast superb.

Our only suggestion for improvement is for lights near the seating. In all of Britain we have stayed in only one room that had reading light near a chair, There where so many comfortable chairs and couches in our room at Petertonr Court. It would have been so nice to be able to read there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the great escape deal. Beautiful room at front of house on the first floor overlooking the fields. Food was delicious and although not massive portions, we all felt full....quality not quantity. A good variety of breakfast options to suit all tastes. Highly recommend the sausages. The staff were friendly and efficient and we felt able to relax and enjoy the house, food and wine and enjoy our break away. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent hotel. We stayed in Usk room on second floor. Bedroom was huge, as was bed! Wonderful to overlook fields with sheep and newborn lambs.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bar staff equally pleasant. dinner was not huge but we all found it was more than adequate. All four of us enjoyed every course. breakfast was great, selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, apricots prunes. Fruit juice, croissants as well as a good choice of cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff and breakfast staff were very efficient and friendly.
We would all go back another time and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We both had rooms at the front of the house, which were large and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach LD3 7YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peterstone Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.