We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel & Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bellevue

Le Bellevue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Bellevue to your Saves list
Le Bellevue
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2, avenue de Limoges, 87250 Bessines-sur-Gartempe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel & Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this hotel very comfortable, the food is excellent compliments to a brilliant chef, staff & great host.

We loved the area & Bessines is a typical French town with a beautiful square the people are friendly & love a chat

Room Tip: Use Logis international guide 2600 restaurateurs & Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We hadn't planned to stay here, but had had enough of driving for one day, so phoned & they had a room available. Friendly manager (?owner) who showed us to a room on the first floor. It was quite small, with twin beds (wonderful firm mattress) & small shower room (perfectly adequate for a night) - all very clean & tidy. We were told there was free Wifi if needed. there's also a small resident's lounge on the first floor. After a drink on the terrace at the front, we had a good meal, presented well & served with a smile in the pleasant dining room. We had a good night's sleep & were not disturbed by any traffic noise. Breakfast was fine - juices, hot drink, cereals, croissants, bread, jam & fresh fruit. Would stay again for overnight if passing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pre-booked through the Logis de France website, we arrived at the Bellevue in mid-afternoon to a slightly less than effusive welcome. Our room was small, and as plain and unadorned as you could find. Not a great start. The bedroom and bathroom were at least clean and tidy, but it wasn't the appealing environment we had been hoping for. As this is a pretty small hotel, noise from the kitchen was evident until late in the evening, though as we are generally late retirers this wasn't a particular problem. The bed didn't look as though it would provide a particularly good night's sleep, but in the morning we woke having had one of the better nights of our French trip. Our hosts were much more full of bonhomie and the breakfast offerings were quite acceptable.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant the previous evening, so can't give a view on the standard of the meals on offer (try the pizza place closer to the town centre on the left hand side as you walk down the hill - it's a cheaper (and quite decent quality) alternative).

Without quite understanding why, we left this place feeling that it really wasn't at all bad - it's just a minute or two off the A20 autoroute, so quite handy for an overnight stop. There isn't a lot to see in Bessines-sur-Gartempe, but it's a pleasant enough little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Leaving the motorway we arrived in nearby Bessines-sur-Gartempe late in the afternoon without a booking and checked out available hotels in our Logis book. Le Bellevue, about a kilometre from the centre of the village, had a room available upstairs but no lift and when we enquired about downstairs they showed us a nice room on the ground floor, obviously set up for disabled guests. This room is just off the restaurant which did not cause us any problem. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious with a good wifi signal. That evening we dined in the restaurant where we had good service and an excellent meal at a reasonable price. The manager and staff were friendly and efficient. Secure parking was available adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bellevue

Address: 2, avenue de Limoges, 87250 Bessines-sur-Gartempe, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Bessines-sur-Gartempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bessines-sur-Gartempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bellevue France/Bessines-Sur-Gartempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.