We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llangoed Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Llangoed Hall to your Saves list
Llangoed Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friends reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Last minute booking as we had been let down by another hotel. Warm welcome .
Gorgeous hotel and the room was excellent.
Unfortunately the restaurant was full but breakfast was very good. Local Welsh produce. We went walking which was lovely. Will try to go back there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    67
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
45
225
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a group of 10 who booked for the full afternoon tea. First impressions were a beautiful Hall, with lovely gardens, amazing setting. As it was a damp day we were met at the car and escorted inside along with umbrella, lovely touch. The Owner and Management Team have obviously a very good eye for detail the furnishings are outstanding, a real touch of class. Afternoon tea was prompted served, sandwiches and scrumptious cakes... First class. We asked if we could have a look at some of the bedrooms, and our host kindly obliged, taking all of us on a tour around. Staff were extremely welcoming and attentive... Well done, all of us thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and can't wait to come back..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were six people for a birthday lunch mid-week. We were greeted at the porch entrance, a nice touch, and shown into a very traditional and comfortable lounge. Drinks came promptly, as did the menus.There was a good choice. The dining room was beautifuly laid out with a large round table which gave us all ample space.The food was superb.Very creative, lovely flavours and real touch of artistry in the presentation. Service was excellent, friendly and unobtrusive.I wasn't paying but the menu price was very reasonable for three courses. A real find and we have already decided to go again. If you enjoy a good meal in traditional Country House surroundings you will find it hard to better this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the driveway to the hotel, things looked great, the welcome and the standards in the drawing room could not have been better. Room 19 is unfortunately not altogether suitable for a lady because there is nowhere near a power point to use a hair dryer because there is no mirror nearby. The room is up two flights of stairs and for people who are older and disabled, not ideal.

Shame
, because it looks like its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Unless your young, fit and don't need to use a hairdryer, don't stay in room 19!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willenhall, west mids
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend the 28th and 29th September here. What a beatiful place this is, set in its own land and the house is just glorious. If you are fond of attention to detail and expect the best then this is definitely the place for you from the reception you get when you arrive through to the staff led by the fantastic Bernard who is just a joy through to your departure. There is nothing that you could want for and nothing is too much trouble although they think of everything well before you do. The staff are always extremely polite but if you want to take your time and chat that is fine too. The food is excellent, very fancy though so make sure it is to your taste before you go, if you like the more simple fayre then perhaps not right for everyone. I have a dietary condition and found it a little too much sometimes for my delicate constitution but whatever I didn't manage my husband mopped up with glee. Would most definitely return if only to switch off and shut the world out.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room obviously and it was state room, but I cannot imagine any of them are bad at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I just happened on this hotel when we needed to stop for lunch whilst touring the area. We were very impressed with the approach and the grand facade. We had very tasty sandwiches in the lounge with super service with charming staff. The interior is comfortable and attractive country house hotel. We'd love to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we knew this was going to be a special stay. In the heart of Wales, with many fun villages to tour, I was sad that our stay was only one night. The resort has been completely updated.We arrived in time for tea, got settled in our rooms. The rooms are amazing! From the beds, to the welcome waters and sherry, to the tubs for soaking, showers (for those from the US). The history of the resort is deep. The food was amazing! The staff very helpful and gracious. Can hardly wait to return and stay longer than one day -

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Wales/Llyswen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llangoed Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.