We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit of |Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llangoed Hall

Save Saved
You added Llangoed Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Llangoed Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of |Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This Hotel must be top of the list of establishments I have stayed in over the years. The location, decor, staff, service are all absolutley first class. I stayed on the 'Romantic Champagne Break' package which includes amongst other things a bottle of quality champagne in your room, afternoon tea on arrival, all meals and a room up grade. Well worth the money. Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff and they will attend to your every request. The grounds and gardens are maintained to a very high standard and a walk around them is a must. The hotel is steeped in history and it is fascinating to look back at its many uses over the years.
A thoroughly enjoyabe and relaxing stay. If you are feeling a little 'under the weather'...don't go seeking medical attention..come and spend a couple of days here instead!

Room Tip: State rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    49
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
42
172
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I took my grandmother here for a cream tea birthday treat. It was so beautiful and I had to restrain myself from asking for a doggy bag. It was such a lovely calm place, I now see that the restaurant does £25 lunches so will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just turned up and asked for an afternoon tea. Offered welsh or cream and nothing was too much trouble. Decided on the welsh tea and the welsh cakes are the best I've had anywhere. Freshly made! Beautiful setting. Well happily return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Llangoed Hall is tucked into the shadow of the spectacular Black Mountains. Wonderfully attentive service, beautiful food and stunning views complete the picture of a total escape from the rat race. We stopped for a few drinks on passing and noticed the beautiful textiles echoing the house’s Laura Ashley heritage and impressive art collection.The bathrooms with Penhaligons products offer a comforting, warm bath after a day out in the Welsh countryside.
Current renovations to the outbuildings are in place to facilitate a new spa and relaxation center. Will bring my wife here as soon as this is completed. Also enjoyed playing snooker in the billiards room. Well done to all at the hotel excellent job!

Best bits....
- attentative service always with a smile nothing is too much trouble for the staff
- Striking views of the Black Mountains
- Beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable rooms
- Outstanding art collection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have visited this hotel on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. It has a country house feel, and all of its rooms are individually decorated.

Our last visit was a midweek stay in November, and has a consequence on our second night we were the only guests eating in the hotel. This was a lovely experience as we ate warming winter food (sausages and mash) in front of an open fire.

The hotel is ideally located for Brecon and Hay-on-Wye with all its book shops.

There is a great walk along the river Wye, and in the hotel there is a games room and plenty of quite space to sit and read.

The food, atmosphere, location, and attitude of the staff are all excellent. If you are looking for a hotel that offers great service and is set in a beautiful location where you can really relax, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having stayed at Llangoed many times we had begun to despair-no investment for years so a steady decline in standards in the rooms and the public areas.Delighted to report that we have just been back and the transformation is afoot.The new owner clearly cares and it shows,bathrooms,linens,furnishings all coming up to the high standards this beautiful house deserves.The staff were in great form,delighted they now had a hotel to be proud of,the service matching the new environment.We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with some friends on the 26th may to Llangoed Hall for afternoon tea to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. as we arrived we were met by the concierge who took us inside and showed us to our seating area. We sat on the most comfortable settees which I call lovely and squidgy. We had a really wonderful afternoon, the tea we had was out of this world and everything home made. The selection of sandwiches and cakes were to die for and the home made scones, jam and clotted cream were fantastic. We were then told we could explore the hall and it was wonderful, furnished with lovely antiques and paintings. Before we departed we had a walk around the gardens which was very nice in the warm sunshine. The staff were so polite and attentive and ready to chat with us. All in all a truly memorable afternoon and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Wales/Llyswen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llangoed Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.