We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food and poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Inn

Griffin Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llyswen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griffin Inn
Llyswen LB3 0UR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Llyswen B&B and Inns
Leicester
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad food and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had rabbit casserole at the Griffin in August 2012. The casserold seemed over cooked and had aan acrid flavour to it, as if the food had burnt on the bottom of the pan during preparation. I've had better food out of a tin. When I complained they refused to do anything. Left in disgust, food half eaten.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We visited twice whilst we were camping, it was such a treat!
The outside is very attractive and well kept, beautiful plants, excellent parking.
We were made very welcome on both visits, we had lunch, which was very reasonably priced. The food was tasty and very fresh. The chips were out of this world!

The staff made us very welcome, including our 2 big smelly dogs! They got the dogs water and made a huge fuss of them. The other customers were also very friendly and lovely!
A lovely place and I can't wait to return, a real gem!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Lovely cosy place to stay, stayed three nights. Excellent walks and excellent food in the restaurant to end the day

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyburn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had a two night stay, very comfortable rooms well equipped, cosy bar with great log fire, service was excellent and the landlord most helpful and definitely NOT Grumpy.
Breakfast was all local produce beautifully cooked as was dinner.
Would certainly come again and very well placed for visiting Hay on Wye.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshsire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Taking lunch in this area most Saturdays we like to tour around. We had a pleasant welcome to this Inn which we had not been into for several years but had been recommended to try as recently it has changed hands. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, a nice log fire burning brightly on a cold dull day. Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble an although a small menu the food was well cooked, well presented and reasonably priced for this area. We will certainly come again and will try the evening menu as well. The Griffin is far enough from Hay-on-Wye not to be as horribly expensive as most of the third rate places at that overrated, so called town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Last weekend, my wife and I stayed at the Griffin Inn with my sister and brother-in-law. We only required one night as we were attending a Christening on the Sunday. We all enjoyed the whole experience at the Griffin; we had dinner on the Saturday which was good quality and excellent value and the menu was interesting and varied. Breakfast was a well cooked full English or you could select from many other things on offer. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. After the Christening on the Sunday, we were amongst a large group who came back for an organised lunch, again we felt that we were treated well with excellent food.
This Inn has bags of character and is well supportd by the locals as well as those wanting a room. David & Margaret

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We ordered 4 adult portions of fish and chips and 4 children's portions, plus 2 other lunches. 3 of the fish portions were undercooked - the batter was soggy and the middle of the fish was still pink. We didn't complain as we were in a family group and just wanted to pay and go. We were asked how the lunch was and politely let the landlord know 3 of them hadn't been cooked properly. A few minutes later, we were informed that the cook said they definitely were properly cooked! We didn't make any further fuss, just paid and left. The other lunches were fine and thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llyswen hotels

Been to Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Inn

Address: Llyswen LB3 0UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llyswen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Griffin Inn Wales/Llyswen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Griffin Inn to your Saves list