We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forresters Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Forresters Arms to your Saves list
Forresters Arms
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Square, Kilkburn, Nr Coxwold,, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£120 (GBP)
Ranked #1 of 3 Kilburn B&B and Inns
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great time again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

oh yes, always a welcome smile from Dawn & Nigel, the meals are great cooked to perfection.
The waitress's are very pleasant.This is our 2nd visit and it is not our last.Local people are fine as are the other guests.We had room no 2 and my only moan would be it needs a thicker matteress.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    49
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We ate dinner here, one snowy January night and we were the only people in the restaurant for a while. Then the pub section started to fill up, but it wasn't noisy, just added to the ambience. The food was very good, much of it locally sourced, and Jessica, our server was friendly and efficient and knew when to leave us alone. I would highly recommend Forresters Arms restaurant to anyone who happens to be passing through this little town.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, we stayed at the Church Farm Bed and Breakfast, right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was the first time we'd been here. After reading such fabulous reviews on the web we had high expectations which were exceeded at every turn. We were welcomed by friendly, smiling staff and immediately made to feel like one of the locals. We then decided to have a meal there that evening so we didn't have to do any travelling and it was absolutely superb! Hats off to the chef- it was extremely well cooked and tasty! So much so in fact, that although it was originally our intention to check out other places to eat in the area, we ended up eating at the forresters all 3 nights we were there!
During our stay the staff were only too happy to help, suggesting beautiful local walks and places to go, as well as keeping the rooms very clean and well stocked with tea bags!!!
We will definitely be returning next year and have recommended it to all of our family and friends.
Thanks you so much to all concerned for a wonderful long weekend!

Room Tip: We had a beatiful 4 poster bed which was comfy and fit in well with the feel of the pub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Once again we had a superb week here with fabulous food and very comfortable room. We always get a great welcome from Dawn, Nigel, Sean and all the locals. We thoroughly recommend this place to all, we have been coming for a great nimber of years and as they say "It only gets better". Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel-Dawn, Manager at Forresters Arms, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Many thanks for those kind words, makes all the hard work worthwhile, it is good to know we are able to make a good experience better!
Look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Dawn, Nigel etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just had a great 2 day break at the Forresters and would certainly visit again. My wife and I were on a short visit to Yorkshire, taking in Harrogate and York and although a little bit of a journey (30 mins by car) it really was well worth the extra bit of driving to stay here.
Very warm welcome, very nice room and good food & drink. All you need really from a hotel.
Noted another visitor's comments re room 7 and noise levels, all I can report is 2 nights of undisturbed sleep.

gerry

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We arrived after Day 1 of the Cleveland Way to a warm welcome. However, the room was an annex and right next to the noisy kitchen extractor fan. 'Don't worry', said mine host, 'it goes off at 8 when the kitchen's closed.' And on again next morning at 8 when the kitchen opened up again! However, it did serve a purpose as a makeshift drier for my sodden trousers. When in Rome! Disappointly, the water from the shower was not hot enough - a big deal after a hard footslop. But scalding hot from the basin tap. Lesson: ask not for the annex!

On the positive side, the bar was friendly, the beer excellent, and the restaurant atmospheric and first-class, serving beautiful rack of lamb.

Room Tip: Ask not for the annex, which is next to the kitchen extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We decided upon short break at the last minute and were not disappointed. A very warm welcome greeted us upon our arrival and our 2 dogs were equally warmly greeted. Our room (9) was very clean and spacious with a lovely comfy good quality bed. Breakfast was of a high standard, due to the fine choice of foods used, as were the evening meals - very generous portions! We went on one of the walks which was recommended by Nigel & Dawn - they have provided detailed maps of 3 walks which vary in length & distance - we chose walk no. 3 which was 8 miles and took 6 hours and which started out at the pub, over Sutton Bank & the White Horse & back - some stunning views to be seen. We came to the Forresters for Christmas about 15 years ago (different owners then) and it's for this reason we came back as we enjoyed it then - hope not to leave it too long before we return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forresters Arms

Address: The Square, Kilkburn, Nr Coxwold,, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kilburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forresters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilburn is located around 20 miles north of York centre. It is ideally located for walkers participating in the Cleveland Way. They can look forward to roaring log fires and an excellent selection of real ales, and an extensive menu incorporating local produce.Renovations to the Forresters Arms have been recently carried out where care has been made only to enhance the quintessential Old Country Inn charm that the Forresters bed and breakfast has become famous for. Surrounded by immense natural beauty in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, also known as Herriot Country. The B&B nestles below the famous White Horse, a unique landmark of North Yorkshire, believed to be the largest of its kind in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Forresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forresters Arms Hotel Kilburn
Forresters Arms Kilburn, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forresters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.