We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fairfax Arms to your Saves list
The Fairfax Arms
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Gilling East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Nice, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Fairfax arms and have had a great time on both occasions. The only downside is the vegetarian options available. On our 1st visit they had a couple of poor options and specially made a broccoli pasta and on our 2nd visit it is now slightly worse. I do enjoy the hotel but unless the address this small problem (Make a veg lasagna or veg roast) I will have to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairfaxArms, Manager at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments – we were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Fairfax Arms. I am very sorry that you were unhappy with the vegetarian options during your stay. As always, we have several vegetarian starters and at least one main course on the menu, as well as a range of specials available upon request.

All of our vegetarian options are freshly prepared to order and therefore we tend not to offer options such as vegetable lasagne or roast because this would involve us freezing the dishes and this is not something that we would be prepared to do. However if you were to let us know in advance we could arrange for the chef to bake a lasagne especially for you!

We will continue to offer a range of freshly prepared dishes, such as the roasted pepper stuffed with goat’s cheese & red onion marmalade, penne pasta tossed with button mushrooms in a stilton cream sauce and the baked avocado stuffed with ratatouille to name but a few.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope to see you again in future.

Best wishes
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
117
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had lunch at this lovely country pub,the staff were welcoming and friendly the decor was traditional but light.
The food was delicious,I ordered the chicken Caesar salad and it was the best I've tasted,chunky pieces of chicken on a bed of lettuce,croutons and Parmesan.
My husband had a sandwich of beef and cream horseradish served with coleslaw and crisps and salad,we ordered a bowl of chips to share.
We both agreed that we would love to return and try the dinner menu, the young lady behind the bar kindly showed me the dinner menu and specials menu and advised me on how to book a table.
Thank you to all the staff for making our lunch so memorable,
we will certainly be back very soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited 30th August, perfect place and so rare to find pub accommodation of a good standard but the Fairfax team care and it shows. Excellent food, the dressed crab salad is something special, will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 4 , it was unbearably hot as there was no air coming into the room. We had to prop the door open and have a fan on. We had to have the fan on all night and had a bad nights sleep. It was such a relief when leaving the room as you finally had fresh air! I think room 4 is directly above the kitchen?! It was nicely decorated and had everything you needed though.

The evening meal was really tasty and the staff were all friendly.

The breakfast was so disappointing, served 8.30 until 9.30, we went at 9 and there was no fresh fruit or bowls and the limited staff were so busy it was hard to ask anyone if they could replenish it. Our toast annoyingly arrived when we had finished our breakfast and we ready to leave- again there were no staff to chase up where the toast was. It was such cheap bread- awful. With the price we payed I did not expect customers to have to chase after the staff for fruit and toast- they should be more organised and aware of what they were supposed to be offering customers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our third stay at the Fairfax arms and yet again received a warm welcome and only compliant is that if you stay on Dinner bed and breakfast you need to watch your waistline as food is so good !!!
We stayed again with our small Westie Molly who is always welcome in the outside bedrooms which are well furnished and decorated .This will certainly will not be our last stay just need to work off the calories first !

Room Tip: If you have a dog outside rooms room 10 good but 9n even better with large settee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a family room which was pleasant aside from a melted lampshade and mould in the corner of the bedroom, also no blinds on the skylights made it difficult to achieve any darkness in which to successfully put the kids to bed.

My issue was with the service. In the evening the pub was busy but we were sat outside. Half of the party had ordered yet when the other half tried to we were told that they were too busy and no orders were going into the kitchen. They pointed to a pile of orders that were sat on the bar and explained that they couldn't say when they would even be sent to the kitchen. One of these orders was for a 3 and 4 year old, but at the time of booking nothing was said. I asked if we could at least get the kids sorted, was told not for at least an hour if not more (it was already gone 8 by this point) so i cancelled all food and one party member had to drive around to find something to feed our party, mainly the children.

I said to the staff that I would have expected to be able to eat there as we had accommodation. She told us that "most people were staying over and they booked a table" basically tough, despite the room info CLEARLY stating that you didn't need to book a table to order food.

The manager came out and half apologised, very insincerely and said we must have got it wrong. Until we told him that a party member had been told that we weren't getting food because we'd been rude. We hadn't and he was very sheepish.

Next day at breakfast we weren't seated, had to ask several times and wait 20 minutes for a high chair, and were limited in choice as most food needed replenishing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairfaxArms, Manager at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Clashdown
We were so disappointed to receive your comments and would like to express our apologies to your party. We work extremely hard to deliver excellent service and strive to ensure we handle difficult situations in the best possible way, however this was rather a traumatic ordeal for myself and for all of the staff involved. We have been awaiting feedback from your stay and were unsure if this would come by way of complaint or apology.

Firstly, the problems with your room were inexcusable and we are very sorry that we did not address these matters at the time but we were unaware of the issues. The skylights actually do have blinds – they are all built in and a tool is provided in the room so that you can reach them to open and close them. I am sorry if this was not clear to you but unfortunately as this was not mentioned to us we did not realise that you needed help. The lightshade has now been replaced and we are hoping to completely redecorate the family rooms to remove any unsightly stains.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the service that you received.
As we discussed at the time it was a very busy evening and it was rather unfortunate that we already had quite a number of tables on our waiting list at the moment that you decided that your party of 12 wished to dine and order immediately. As I explained to you, there were several other tables ahead of you in the queue, some of which had booked several weeks in advance and others who had been patiently waiting for a table. It was therefore not possible for us to take your order ahead of these others. I am sure you would agree this would have been very unfair on our other customers.
I am so sorry if this message was not conveyed succinctly and I would like to apologise that the situation escalated so quickly.

Whilst we do not stipulate that residents must book tables in advance we do try to encourage large parties to make a reservation to avoid a long wait to dine. When you booked your stay we asked if you wanted to dine and you actually said ‘no’ for the Saturday evening but that you may wish to eat on the Sunday lunch time. When we confirmed your stay in writing we once again recommend booking in advance, just in case you had changed your mind about the Saturday evening. Of course we are more than happy to serve diners who have not booked, however it can be rather difficult for us to accommodate a party of 12 at 8pm on an extremely busy Saturday evening without even 5 minute’s warning that you wished to eat. As I tried to explain, we would have been able to take your order in half an hour but this was unacceptable to you.
I was rather taken aback to be called ‘the rudest person you had ever met’. I found this really rather upsetting and thought it best that my husband dealt with the situation as it was clear that you did not wish to reason with me. Your comment that you were ‘told we weren’t getting food because we’d been rude’ is completely fallacious. Furthermore there was never a point where you were told that you could not eat; we merely stated that there would be half an hour’s wait until we could take your order because we could not push you ahead of others.

With regard to the breakfast service, we normally allow guests to choose their own table rather than wait to be seated. However on this occasion there was only one table set for 12, therefore there was no alternative table. The staff recall that you were shown to the table without delay so we are a little confused why you state that you ‘weren’t seated.’ Unfortunately we had not realised that you required two high chairs – I understand that you noticed one in the entrance to the kitchen and helped yourself to this and then requested another. As we were unaware that you needed any high chairs we were a little unprepared and I am sorry that you had to wait while we had to locate the keys to unlock the store where the other one was being kept.

It is a shame that you failed to mention the positive elements of the service we offered you. Firstly, when you telephoned on the morning of your arrival to ask to check in several hours early we rushed to ensure that this was possible. You claimed that you had requested early check in when you booked, however this was certainly not the case and the fact that you received written confirmation with the check in time of 2pm verifies this. We also quickly provided a cot for the room, even though you had agreed when booking that you would bring your own. Whilst the member of staff that had taken your booking was shocked by these sudden changes of plan we did not at any point quibble or argue. You were also given two complimentary upgrades (the superior double to the family suite and the deluxe double to the superior suite). Furthermore, when two members of your party refused to leave the bar two hours after closing time we remained polite and courteous.

We are very sorry that it was not possible for us to reach a solution on this occasion but would like to thank you for your comments. It has prompted us to attempt to make a clearer explanation of our dining system – i.e. that we ensure that all guests are served in the order in which they arrive to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and couldn't fault the location, facilities or service. The hotel is located in a pretty village, with sheep bleating from the soaring hills behind the picturesque cottages and houses, and central for many places of interest such as Helmsley, Rievaulx Abbey and Kilburn. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with a good selection of teas, coffee and complementary mineral water and fruit provided. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and the food at breakfast and in the restaurant was delicious. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax Arms

Address: Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gilling East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gilling East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fairfax Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax Arms Hotel Gilling East
The Fairfax Arms Gilling East, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.