We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service and mould on the walls!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fairfax Arms to your Saves list
The Fairfax Arms
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Gilling East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very poor service and mould on the walls!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a family room which was pleasant aside from a melted lampshade and mould in the corner of the bedroom, also no blinds on the skylights made it difficult to achieve any darkness in which to successfully put the kids to bed.

My issue was with the service. In the evening the pub was busy but we were sat outside. Half of the party had ordered yet when the other half tried to we were told that they were too busy and no orders were going into the kitchen. They pointed to a pile of orders that were sat on the bar and explained that they couldn't say when they would even be sent to the kitchen. One of these orders was for a 3 and 4 year old, but at the time of booking nothing was said. I asked if we could at least get the kids sorted, was told not for at least an hour if not more (it was already gone 8 by this point) so i cancelled all food and one party member had to drive around to find something to feed our party, mainly the children.

I said to the staff that I would have expected to be able to eat there as we had accommodation. She told us that "most people were staying over and they booked a table" basically tough, despite the room info CLEARLY stating that you didn't need to book a table to order food.

The manager came out and half apologised, very insincerely and said we must have got it wrong. Until we told him that a party member had been told that we weren't getting food because we'd been rude. We hadn't and he was very sheepish.

Next day at breakfast we weren't seated, had to ask several times and wait 20 minutes for a high chair, and were limited in choice as most food needed replenishing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairfaxArms, Manager at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Clashdown
We were so disappointed to receive your comments and would like to express our apologies to your party. We work extremely hard to deliver excellent service and strive to ensure we handle difficult situations in the best possible way, however this was rather a traumatic ordeal for myself and for all of the staff involved. We have been awaiting feedback from your stay and were unsure if this would come by way of complaint or apology.

Firstly, the problems with your room were inexcusable and we are very sorry that we did not address these matters at the time but we were unaware of the issues. The skylights actually do have blinds – they are all built in and a tool is provided in the room so that you can reach them to open and close them. I am sorry if this was not clear to you but unfortunately as this was not mentioned to us we did not realise that you needed help. The lightshade has now been replaced and we are hoping to completely redecorate the family rooms to remove any unsightly stains.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the service that you received.
As we discussed at the time it was a very busy evening and it was rather unfortunate that we already had quite a number of tables on our waiting list at the moment that you decided that your party of 12 wished to dine and order immediately. As I explained to you, there were several other tables ahead of you in the queue, some of which had booked several weeks in advance and others who had been patiently waiting for a table. It was therefore not possible for us to take your order ahead of these others. I am sure you would agree this would have been very unfair on our other customers.
I am so sorry if this message was not conveyed succinctly and I would like to apologise that the situation escalated so quickly.

Whilst we do not stipulate that residents must book tables in advance we do try to encourage large parties to make a reservation to avoid a long wait to dine. When you booked your stay we asked if you wanted to dine and you actually said ‘no’ for the Saturday evening but that you may wish to eat on the Sunday lunch time. When we confirmed your stay in writing we once again recommend booking in advance, just in case you had changed your mind about the Saturday evening. Of course we are more than happy to serve diners who have not booked, however it can be rather difficult for us to accommodate a party of 12 at 8pm on an extremely busy Saturday evening without even 5 minute’s warning that you wished to eat. As I tried to explain, we would have been able to take your order in half an hour but this was unacceptable to you.
I was rather taken aback to be called ‘the rudest person you had ever met’. I found this really rather upsetting and thought it best that my husband dealt with the situation as it was clear that you did not wish to reason with me. Your comment that you were ‘told we weren’t getting food because we’d been rude’ is completely fallacious. Furthermore there was never a point where you were told that you could not eat; we merely stated that there would be half an hour’s wait until we could take your order because we could not push you ahead of others.

With regard to the breakfast service, we normally allow guests to choose their own table rather than wait to be seated. However on this occasion there was only one table set for 12, therefore there was no alternative table. The staff recall that you were shown to the table without delay so we are a little confused why you state that you ‘weren’t seated.’ Unfortunately we had not realised that you required two high chairs – I understand that you noticed one in the entrance to the kitchen and helped yourself to this and then requested another. As we were unaware that you needed any high chairs we were a little unprepared and I am sorry that you had to wait while we had to locate the keys to unlock the store where the other one was being kept.

It is a shame that you failed to mention the positive elements of the service we offered you. Firstly, when you telephoned on the morning of your arrival to ask to check in several hours early we rushed to ensure that this was possible. You claimed that you had requested early check in when you booked, however this was certainly not the case and the fact that you received written confirmation with the check in time of 2pm verifies this. We also quickly provided a cot for the room, even though you had agreed when booking that you would bring your own. Whilst the member of staff that had taken your booking was shocked by these sudden changes of plan we did not at any point quibble or argue. You were also given two complimentary upgrades (the superior double to the family suite and the deluxe double to the superior suite). Furthermore, when two members of your party refused to leave the bar two hours after closing time we remained polite and courteous.

We are very sorry that it was not possible for us to reach a solution on this occasion but would like to thank you for your comments. It has prompted us to attempt to make a clearer explanation of our dining system – i.e. that we ensure that all guests are served in the order in which they arrive to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
117
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and couldn't fault the location, facilities or service. The hotel is located in a pretty village, with sheep bleating from the soaring hills behind the picturesque cottages and houses, and central for many places of interest such as Helmsley, Rievaulx Abbey and Kilburn. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with a good selection of teas, coffee and complementary mineral water and fruit provided. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and the food at breakfast and in the restaurant was delicious. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We found the Fairfax Arms a lovely place to stay when visiting friends for a family party. Its situated in a quiet and quaint village with plenty of good walking nearby. The rooms were comfortable and the Yorkshire Breakfast was marvellous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I booked this pub / hotel for one night on the strength of the reviews and we weren't disappointed in fact I was over the moon that I have chosen so well!!
The pub is what you would want as a typical English village pub. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was traditional but modernized and the bathroom wasn't too small and was very clean and modern. The room had everything you would need. I won't list everything just look on their website and trust it will be as described...
I can't fault this place, I loved it!!!

Room Tip: Classic rooms are upstairs above the Bar / restaurant so if this bothers you because of the potentia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful location, warm friendly welcome, nice bar and outside areas, helpful staff, great food, beautiful well appointed room. Can't imagine how anyone could find anything to complaint about this place. We only had one night but Emily and Andrew and their staff did more than enough to ensure a return visit. Thank you.

Room Tip: Just hope they have a vacancy and make sure you book a table to eat in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a 3 night stay at the Fairfax Arms trueley a diamond beautiful setting fantastic food and very friendly and attentive service what more can one ask. Had a fab time definatley be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Fairfax Arms epitomises all that is good in an English Country Inn. Situated in the quiet Yorkshire village of Gilling East, The Fairfax offers easy access to all parts of North Yorkshire and is close to Ampleforth College. Gilling itself has a lovely 9-hole golf course and an amazing model railway both just 200 metres from the Inn.

For my part (and I have high standards) the Fairfax experience was quintessential. The Inn itself is a delightful building and from the moment one enters, you are met with a welcoming experience: The interior is immaculate with tables beautifully laid both in the dining rooms and lounge areas alike; the food preparation and quality is excellent and presented by staff who’s attitude is first-rate; the accommodation and bedrooms are also immaculate with the highest standards of cleanliness and care applied by the house-keeping staff.

The Fairfax Inn offers excellent value for money with the owners determined to provide visitors with the highest standards of service. Well worth visiting and a stay.

A resounding 10 on the scale and I have never done that before

Room Tip: Look on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax Arms

Address: Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gilling East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gilling East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fairfax Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax Arms Hotel Gilling East
The Fairfax Arms Gilling East, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.