We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb New Year experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bay Horse Inn to your Saves list
The Bay Horse Inn
York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
redcar
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb New Year experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from a brilliant night for the New Year.Rooms have all been upgraded since our last visit.All staff and waitresses are very welcoming and seem to enjoy their work..The evening meal was superb and could have been served in any top London restaurant as was breakfast this morning .All the produce is locally resourced..We had a lovely time as an extended family and we will be back.My only concern is that the New Year disco was mainly for the young lads and girls of the village and not suitable for all tastes-maybe something to think of in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stella19NorthYorks, Owner at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Lovely to see you again, and I am so glad you enjoyed our food. Thank you for your comments about the entertainment- hopefully, we will be able to book a more suitable live act for next New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just had 2 nights at the bay horse inn we stayed there 9 years ago this is the reason we thought we would go again I have to say the food was very good the place itself could do with a refurbishment
th rooms were clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we planed a trip to york for our 40th wedding anniversary,so took a chance on the bay horse ,so we could come and go as we pleased,we had a pleasant stay,we had a warm room all we needed for our 4 night stay,we even got a card from the owners ,that was a lovely surprise.the food was outstanding,my other half had lamb shank while i had pigeon.both was served with a good selection of veg.well done stella & mike.we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stella19NorthYorks, Owner at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary stay. We have a super new chef, and an excellent farm shop- Tancred - on our doorstep- who supply all our meats. It is really helpful to us to have some feedback, so thank you again for taking the time.
Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

On the plus side the pub has a lovely cosy atmosphere. It's set in a pretty village which is in a good location. We ate here and we all enjoyed our food. Bar and waiting staff were very friendly and kept us entertained, well fed and watered. Only thing I will say is that the bar looked a little grubby.

However we were disappointed in the room we had booked. We booked this last minute and fortunately got it for £10 cheaper than advertised (£85 full price I believe). However even for £75 a night this did not represent good value when compared to others around. I understand this is being currently refurbished and not before time. Although the bedroom looked quite nice, tables were stained and a little more attention could have been shown to the cleaning. However the bathroom was one of the poorest I have encountered for many years in a B&B. Plain walls and plain lino floor, no bath, an old shower with out of date tiles and black mould on the grouting, bad lighting. Bathroom suite looked very old fashioned..in fact thinking about it may even have been a green loo and sink!
Breakfast was good although I didn't get the fried eggs I had asked for but thoroughly enjoyed what I had.

Definitely in need of a refurb but has got good prospects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stella19NorthYorks, Owner at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments, and taking the time to give us your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your food, and found our service as it should be.
You are quite correct in your comments about a re-furb. We have now just about completed a large programme of improvements, which included much-needed new bathrooms to all our letting rooms. I will be adding some new photos to our listing shortly, so I hope you will see a big improvement. Unfortunately, on the date of your stay, our upgraded rooms were fully booked but I hope we will see you again to show you our progress.
We have also added a fantastic new, seasonal a la carte menu featuring some wonderful local produce from Tancred Farm. All our meats will be available for you to buy and take home from their new farm shop just a mile from The Bay Horse.
Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The room was ok and the service was good. Would stay again. The accommodation is within the pub yard which was nice. Very accommodating place. Nice little village on the outskirts of nice areas of Yorkshire. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stella19NorthYorks, Owner at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our re-furb is just about complete, and we have a fantastic new a la carte menu in addition to our bar meals blackboard. I hope we will see you again soon.
Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

David2012 . . .My wife and I have just spent three nights at this very friendly and practical bed and breakfast and wish to alert other visitors to the York/Harrogate area about our experience, because it is very conveniently placed between the two and situated in the delightful village of Green Hammerton just 3 miles off Junction 47 of the A1(M). There are ten rooms in a converted block adjacent to the main pub, so one has one's own independence and privacy as well as benefitting from the facilities of the cosy pub as well.
The rooms are quite satifactory for the purposes of one's visit; comfortable beds, good storage facilities, tv etc and although the bathroom could perhaps be 'brightened' up a bit, it was spacious and practical.
The fact that evening meals are available, except Sunday's, is a bonus to save searching for other means and the selection of food is excellent and the quality superb . . . to say nothing of the sumptuous full English breakfasts also available!
Stella is a wonderful 'mein host' and her supporting cast are very friendly and helpful too. The overall atmosphere beside the open fire was very relaxing after a day's sight-seeing - - generally, it is a lovely 'oasis' for you to spend a few days whilst in that beautiful part of Yorkshire . . Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stella19NorthYorks, Owner at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, and taking the time to post your views. i hope to see you again in the future.
Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

stayed at the bay horse inn for three 3 nights a really great time the owners were outstanding really made our stay great, the food was out of this world the attention we got from the staff was second to none. Icould recomemend the Bay Horse to anybody we were a golf trip but it is a place for families and couples rooms were great.The price is just right for a short stay or longer if you can spare the time it will be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stella19NorthYorks, Owner at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to pass them on. I hope you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Green Hammerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Hammerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Hotel Green Hammerton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.