We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for young and old!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA York

Save Saved
You added YHA York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA York
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic for young and old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our road trip from Australia came to a standstill when we tried to get acccommodation for 3 adults in York, including our elderly mother. We had our YHA cards to receive discounts and to stay in a hostel, if suitable. Well, what a great place YHA York is! We had a private ensuite room, warm, comfortable and very clean. Mum was not too sure if it would be her cup of tea, but there were all ages in the cafe area from young to old. We were surprised that there were more of the 'mature age' hostelliers and maybe that is because the hotels can't accommodate 3 adults without paying for 2 rooms. Parking is very limited in York so it was good to have plenty of parking at the YHA. The cafe was a bonus, where we did not have to go out for a meal at night. Meals were good and you can get wine and beer if required.
The next morning we walked into the town, which is no more than a 30 minute lovely walk via the river.
Well done to all the staff as you were all very welcoming and accommodating! Mum said that you were young, professional and respectful, that you have now convinced her to stay in more YHA's.

To those that complain,you need to take a good look at your expectations and value for money. YHA YORK is the place to stay when you are on a budget travelling and want a nice clean warm room!

Room Tip: Private ensuite if a few of you travelling or want your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for writing an awesome review of YHA York, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we have managed to convince your Mum to do more hostelling in the future!

'YHA YORK is the place to stay when you are on a budget travelling and want a nice clean warm room!'

I dont think we could ask for a better review than that :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The refurbished York Hostel is fantastic. Great food, price, quality, location and of course bike shed.

The bar could do with some draft bitter and not just lager, but that's about the only thing that could be better.

The breakfasts are fantastic, very helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for a cracking review... With a number of keen cyclists working here we made sure that as a part of our recent refurbishment the all important bike shed got a make over too :)

Whilst we dont currently offer draft ale on tap at the bar we do have a range of localy brewed bottled beers.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've stayed in a couple of the YHAs now but this one is by far the best! The staff were friendly and helpful. The new refurb means that the decor is modern, clean and bright. It's also only about £5 in a taxi or a nice walk along the river into the centre of York. There's also a decent bus route!

We were a group of all girls and were given two rooms on one wing of the hostel. Both rooms were comfortable and had a ensuite with a wetroom. The kitchen is a nice size and the relaxed atmosphere was amazing - crawling in at 2am to have a cuppa and some toast was a godsend.
We stayed for 2 nights and it was so much more relaxed and welcoming and also nicer than many of the hotels and B&Bs I've stayed in over the years.

The bar stays open till late and the food smelt amazing. We only had one meal and that was a fry up breakfast on the Sunday morning. For £4.99 it was really good - full english buffet plus breads, toast, jam and unlimited tea, coffee and juices. Very nice.

Couldn't have been happier and will definitely be booking for weekends in York again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Wow... 'Couldnt have been happier' Thanks for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay at YHA York :) We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to attend York races. Great value for the busiest race week of the year. Well located, a short stroll down the river to the city centre. Immaculate after recent refurb and the staff are very good. Breakfast well worth the extra £5. Would prefer twin or double beds in the private room, rather than a bunk, but that is a minor gripe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for writing a fantastic review of your stay at YHA York. We are really pleased you enjoyed the race weekend and hope to see you again next year :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 24-26th August '13. Excellent location, just a 15 minute stroll from the centre of York, along the riverside path. Easy access by road - avoiding the necessity to negotiate the city centre itself.
Entrance to reception is a stunning, modern, glass-fronted extension that contrasts with the older facade of the main building. Our room was spotlessly clean with a well designed wetroom-style en-suite.
Excellent shared facilities along with a well-stocked bar.
A major plus, compared with many YHAs, is the 24 hour access. We cycled to the hostel and were able to store our tandem and use changing facilities hours before our room was ready for occupation. Similarly on departure, we checked out at 10a.m. but were able to leave our bike in storage until after 3p.m.
Staff are very polite and friendly, always asking if there is anything else they can help you with.
Excellent all round!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
'Excellent all round' Wow... What an amazing review! I have shared your kind words with all the team at YHA York and we are really pleased you had such a great stay.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This week (22nd-24th august'13) along with some friends, we stayed at the YHA in clifton, york. As we were in york for work we decided to book rooms of 4 sharing. The room I stayed in had 2 sets of bunk beds for 4 people. The room was en-suite with a lovely shower. The bedding was a spotless with nice green covers & was plenty of wardrobe space for clothes etc. The reception is really gud & hire out many things including towels. Breakfast is £4.99 for a cooked breakfast, cereals, toasts, danish pastries, fruits, yogurts & teas, coffees etc. All nicely cooked & enjoyable. Is only a 10 minute walk into york city centre or £6 in a taxi. Whether its business or pleasure, if your off to visit york then booking a room at the yha clifton I can highly recommend. Thank you to all the lovely friend staff esp the guy who made myself & husband a coffee in the lounge at 2am on Friday mornin, excellent customer service & such a friendly and inviting atmosphere. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for a great review of your stay at YHA York. We are really pleased you found your room comfortable and the breakfast to be a good standard. I will make a point of sharing your review and kind comments with the night staff the night staff who made you coffee at 2am :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at York YHA as a family a few years back, and liked it then, so decided to stay again on our trip to York this past weekend, the refub is fantatsic, lovely clean, and contemporary looking. However, I think that withthe refurbs they have lost alot of the family element. As the TV room is now tiny, and the facilities they had for children are non existent anymore. Also the pool room only has one snooker table now which is a shame.

The ensuite family rooms have also lost out on space and no longer have a TV, which is a shame as the main TV room is too small to accommodate for the amount of people that stay at the hostel.

I was also dissapointed that although it states that they do not take booking from all male or female groups etc, on our first night either side of me was just this, all drunk making tonnes of noise, which was very dissapointing.

However the location, friendlyness of staff, cleanliness and other facilities does make up for this.

All in all we had a great stay, and have booke to go back again for the Christmas Market in December

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for a fabulous review, we are really pleased that you like the refurb and that you had a great stay.

Having only been open for a few months now since the extensive refurbishment, we are still working on some of the important details that make the YHA York a great place to stay for all our guests. Having listened to feedback from our guests this summer we decided to open up the Harris Room (opposite the self catering kitchen) to be used as a TV room. As well as the pool table, for the kids we have invested in a whole load of brand new board games which have proved very popular over the last few weeks.

YHA is open to all and actively promotes the use of hostels to young people. Occasionally we do have groups of young people who are looking to go for a night out in York and we do our best to manage this through careful room allocation and by having staff working 24hours a day conducting regular tours of the building to ensure all guests keep noise to a minimum after 11pm.

We are really pleased that overall you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in December for your trip to the Christmas markets :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YHA York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA York

Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
YHA York UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.