We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely refurb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA York to your Saves list
YHA York
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely refurb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at York YHA as a family a few years back, and liked it then, so decided to stay again on our trip to York this past weekend, the refub is fantatsic, lovely clean, and contemporary looking. However, I think that withthe refurbs they have lost alot of the family element. As the TV room is now tiny, and the facilities they had for children are non existent anymore. Also the pool room only has one snooker table now which is a shame.

The ensuite family rooms have also lost out on space and no longer have a TV, which is a shame as the main TV room is too small to accommodate for the amount of people that stay at the hostel.

I was also dissapointed that although it states that they do not take booking from all male or female groups etc, on our first night either side of me was just this, all drunk making tonnes of noise, which was very dissapointing.

However the location, friendlyness of staff, cleanliness and other facilities does make up for this.

All in all we had a great stay, and have booke to go back again for the Christmas Market in December

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for a fabulous review, we are really pleased that you like the refurb and that you had a great stay.

Having only been open for a few months now since the extensive refurbishment, we are still working on some of the important details that make the YHA York a great place to stay for all our guests. Having listened to feedback from our guests this summer we decided to open up the Harris Room (opposite the self catering kitchen) to be used as a TV room. As well as the pool table, for the kids we have invested in a whole load of brand new board games which have proved very popular over the last few weeks.

YHA is open to all and actively promotes the use of hostels to young people. Occasionally we do have groups of young people who are looking to go for a night out in York and we do our best to manage this through careful room allocation and by having staff working 24hours a day conducting regular tours of the building to ensure all guests keep noise to a minimum after 11pm.

We are really pleased that overall you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in December for your trip to the Christmas markets :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
12
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have stayed here twice before. The refurb is lovely. Nice modern clean rooms. Ensuite available. Cheap bar prices. Good quality hot drinks on sale and not too expensive. Staff very helpful and professional as always. But that horrid menu persists, poor quality food. Pizza like cardboard, chewy Lasagne. Where are the healthy options? We don't all want junk style food, deep fried everything with chips, burgers etc? Big Salads please.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your stay at YHA York, we are really pleased that you like the refurb and enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your feedback on the menu, whilst our food has been really popular with our guests we recognise that it doesn't really have that many healthy options at present. In response to your feedback we have just this week started to offer some more healthy specials in addition to our regular menu.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here last week for 3 nights, having been before 2 or 3 years ago and wanted to see the new refurbishment of the hostel. We weren't disappointed, the new reception area and seating is exceptional and pleasing. We had a double room, ensuite which was very comfortable with plenty of room. We had breakfasts each morning which were good and one evening meal - on the latter there wasn't a lot of choice if staying for a few nights.

Room Tip: On the downside, the room we had backed on to the delivery area, so we were woken in the morning by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for writing an amazing review, we are chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay at YHA York. Good News on the food front! we have just this week introduced specials to the menu and we have big plans for the future so watch this space....

We hope to see you again soon! :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and four friends, all 18 years old, wanted a last good knees up in celebration for the end of our A levels and splitting of our theatre studies group. We decided on York because it is known for being a good time with lots of things to do in a a culturally diverse beautiful city. I have stayed in youth hostels before and you pay what you get for and know to expect a simple but obviously clan place to sleep in the evening. I was so pleasantly surprised and I must say out of all the youth hostels I have ever stayed in it was by far the cleanest, most accessible, modern and plush. Upon our arrival the stay were extremely pleasant and approachable, can't fault them. Literally my only single grumble would be that you had to pay for wifi at a rate of £10 for the day or 50p for ten minutes which. Think is extortionate. 100% though a fabulous p,ace to stay for such a cheap price and so close to York without paying inner city prices, would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for writing a fantastic review of your stay at YHA York, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us... We get your point about the wifi, it is the norm these days to get it for free.... so GOOD NEWS! we will be offering wifi for FREE to yha members from September!!!!!

We hope to see you and your friends again soon :)

Kind Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We'd had a good experience at a YHA before, and this one was no disappointment. Clean, spacious, secure (lockers and key cards), with extremely comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Not to mention a comfortable lounge area perfect for a nice cold one in the evening from the bar.

Within walking distance of the city centre, but far enough away that it's very quiet at night.

Only critique - the showers didn't drain properly, so expect an ankle bath with the suds from Those Who Washed Before.

And tip! - if you are coming back after dark, get a £7 taxi rather than walk the riverside path in pitch darkness (the street lights don't go the whole way).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for a great review :)

Since our total refurbishment earlier in the year we have found that one or two of our brand new showers dont drain as efficiently as we would like. This is something we are looking at with the contractors that installed the showers and we hope to make improvements very soon.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon for another visit.

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

While this YHA is in a good location for visiting the city, it would seem that after it's 2.5Million Pound Re-Fit they have left out a few 'Normal' YHA Facilities!

1) No 'quiet room' for reading, you only have the Bar/Restaurant area which with the background music and general chatter from diners/drinkers is by no means quiet.
2) No TV so if you wanted to catch up on the news, forget it!
3) The 'Games' room has a snooker table and a few seats but no tables and no room for them to allow you to play other games!
4) While the Members Kitchen has excellent facilities, the area for eating your food having cooked it is quite small with a maximum of 10 People fitting around the tables. While their is an area just outside, but this is normally for 'smokers' judging by the number of cigarette buts on the floor and is open to the elements.
5) The best bit however is the 'little' WC between dormitories HO1 & HO2 where to close the door you have to stand on the seat as there is not enough room when you get inside!

While the 'Crew' receive numerous complaints about the lack of facilities, please don't ask for the Comments Book as there isn't one!
Send an email to YHA HQ Customer Service instead it might have a better effect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at YHA York. We are sorry to hear that you feel we have missed a few things out during the refurb. The refurbishment has proved to be very popular with most of our guests but we appreciate that as with any major revamp, our new more contemporary backpacker hostel layout isnt going everyone's idea of the perfect YHA York.

We are committed to continuing to make improvements to the hostel in response to the feedback of our guests. Since your visit we have opened up the Harris room opposite the self catering kitchen adding some soft furnishings and a TV in order to provide additional space for dining and another place to relax for our guests. As well as our games room we also have our lounge bar area where all our guests are free to relax and play board games which can be borrowed from reception. On top of that in response to your feedback we have now ordered a new comments book for the hostel.

Kind Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunk beds. We were pleased to find the en suite bathroom. The entire facility recently underwent major renovations, and it shows. New modern environment, Nice and clean smelling, great lounge are where our kids could play cards, billiards, or even run around in the grassy garden. We have stayed at several hotels while touring the UK this summer, and this was probably the best. About a 15-20 minute walk to the railway museum or York Minster.

The self catering area was sufficient, but I feel most people weren't using it. If more of the people who were staying there were using it, it would have been crowded.


Upon departure I accidentally left some valuable in the room (drivers licence and credit card) and phoned the hostel on our way to London. They put the items in the post an I received the next day. Great staff was helpful the entire stay and after too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay at YHA York. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our brand new self catering kitchen is pretty compact but we encourage all our self catering guests to spread out and make use of the bar & courtyard areas when we are busy.

We hope to see you again soon! :)

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA York

Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
YHA York UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.