We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Noir to your Saves list
Hotel Noir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed one night in December with my partner. Paid a great price for York and booked the compact room. Expected a tiny cramped space for the price but it was great, plenty room for 2. Lovely comfy bed, Tassimo machine, fridge, tv etc. Bathroom was beautiful too. Room was really warm, bit too warm so kept bathroom window open.
Arrived late morning and were able to leave the car in the car park. All the staff were really helpful and courteous. The location was great too, nice 15 minute walk into town.
Have always stayed at others such as Travelodge/premier inn but will def come back to Hotel Noir instead. Lovely stay, well worth the money and will def be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing when we receive such kind words! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future.
Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    218
    138
    63
    66
See reviews for
50
443
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for one night. Payed a great price for a standard double and on arrival was upgraded to a four poster room. Our room was lovely with a mix of traditional and contemporary furnishings. The free minibar and coffee machine were a bonus.
The guy on the reception was really polite and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing when we receive such kind words! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future.
Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having paid £90 a night, we stayed 2 nights, although over new year. We expected a lot more!

Upon arrival, we tried to park in the back. Wasn't a space, this didn't bother us, we then parked on a street near by. Having read reviews, we did half expect this anyway. We checked in and were given the key to room 205. We asked the man on reception what the menu was and if he could give us some local information. He told us that we would find everything we needed in a red folder in the room.

So we opened the door to the room. We were ok, not bad. Went to turn the lights on, only 2 out of the 5 worked. So we didn't make a deal about it. Went and asked the the man on reception if he could sort it for us. So he came to the room and changed them.

We then looked for the red folder he had told us was in the room, wasn't in the room. So had to go back to reception to get that, which he didn't have and had to bring up 5 mins later.
I then went into the bathroom and the bath panel was hanging off! Tbh looked a mess! Defo in need of updating or at least a new bath, as it was chipped/cracked all around bath. I simply put the bath panel back in. Later on that night having a shower and the tap top fell off. Which was sharp and could have been dangerous.

The room had certainly not been checked! So a group of problems but only minor! So we did not think of saying anything more to reception as we wanted to get on with our break and enjoy it.

Breakfast was chaos! They have a fairly large room for breakfast, however feels small due to how many tables are crammed in. Constantly having to say excuse me when u get up etc. under staffed at breakfast. The breakfast was gdd quality, did ask for some brown sauce when my breakfast came out, however didn't arrive until I had finished it. :s. Heard quite a few apologise from waiters. Saw a couple decide to not wait any more for there breakfast as they had waited for a while with out any one seeing them. We did have to be rather patient to make our order.

On leaving the hotel we addressed the problems we had had. The receptionist told us that the manager isn't in at the moment and would get him to give us a ring in the next 48 hours. 3 days later no phone call. So we rang again and got told the same! So we then wrote an email saying how disappointed we were. The reply we got off Fergus Todd was to be honest shocking! Blaming the problems on us and saying that we were not true? Aprantly the bath is fine, the tap is fine and if we had complained at the time they would have arranged a new room! Generally all we wanted was them to say sorry and they would try to fix the problems. However they gave us a poor, rude email and said if we stayed again, they would give us a discount for a returning guest!

Apart from that it was in a good location.

Room Tip: Don't go in 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It’s always disappointing to receive such a negative review, however we take issue with several of the things you say here. We have reproduced the email which you describe as rude it in full below (with any personal information removed) as it answers most of the points in your review, and will allow Trip Advisor readers to make up their own minds.
Good afternoon ****,
I have spoken to both the receptionist and the housekeeping supervisor who was working on the Sunday of your arrival, please see my findings to each point raised below.
In respect of the bedroom lights, the receptionist assures me that only 1 bulb was replaced as the others were turned on using the switches (some of these are located on the wall behind the headboard ).
The room pack folder had been left at reception for your arrival as it had been filled with new copies of the room information, menus etc. I can only apologise on behalf of my reception team for not handing this to you on your arrival but the receptionist advises me that this was brought to your room promptly.
The bathroom has been inspected by myself and in regards to the bath panel it is securely fastened ( it does protrude slightly giving the impression that it may be coming off and can understand you highlighting this point ), I have tried all the taps in the bathroom both on the bath and sink and all are fastened tightly.
The issue with the hair bobble could have been easily rectified by calling reception, we would have brought a housekeeper directly to your room to deal with this whilst offering you complimentary drinks in the bar for your inconvenience.
In regards to breakfast we have no control over what time guests come down for their breakfasts as they have up until 09:30 therefore sometimes breakfasts can be very busy especially on weekends and holiday periods, if as you have highlighted some guests left the breakfast area without eating they did not pass comment onto the reception staff. I do hope though that the breakfast that you received was of a satisfactory standard.
If when you had initially checked into the room and were not happy with room and bathroom you should have spoken to the receptionist who would have immediately transferred you to another room but without ourselves knowing until you checked out it is hard to rectify the issues.
I understand your disappointment but believe this would have been avoided if you had brought all the issues to the attention the reception team after you had arrived.
We would like to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and would like to offer you a free room upgrade and bottle of house wine on arrival ( if you were to make a booking directly over the you would also receive a 10% discount for returning guests )
Regards,
Fergus Todd
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Well located about 15 min walk along one road to the Minster. The hotel has a restaurant downstairs and will offer room service for a 15% of total bill charge (though they didn't collect the tray until the next morning).
The room was nice. The tassimo drinks machine was handy for the hot chocolate and the mini bar was a treat - it's nice to have cold water available after a long journey - mini bar re-stocked each morning. The room looked nice and had everything we needed - iron and ironing board, hair dryer extra blanket etc. A few points though: The bath mat is a sheet of paper so you lose a face towel to the floor. The glasses in the bathroom are actually plastic cups that are not heavy enough to hold a tootbrush and the spoons with the coffee and tea are plastic stirers. These three things were notable, but not massively problematic. There was road noise as we were at the front of the hotel, but it was managable. The rooms were very warm (we were there as it snowed) and the windows - though single glazed - seemed to keep the heat in.
The rooms could have been a little cleaner - around the skirting board and corners etc and there were some marks on the blankets, but nothing we felt we needed to complain about. A good 3* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad that overall it was a good one.
Regarding the removal of room service trays – usually we find guests prefer not to be disturbed, however you can leave the tray outside your room where it will be removed, or call down to reception to have it collected.
We have had a few guests comment on the paper floor towels - we use these, as in many hotels, to cut down on the environmental impact of washing thick floor mats. If you return and prefer a towel we will be happy to bring one up to your room.
I hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future.
Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time staying at this hotel on bonfire night the room was boiling and cosy the coffee machine with hot chocolates was to die for! And the whole decor was lovely shame we ventured into York and Didnt enjoy a meal here but I'm sure we'd of enjoyed it if we did!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review – I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the little extra touches we provide. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future.
Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An easy twenty minute walk from the city centre the Hotel Noir is an ideal base for a break in York where you can relax in comfort, enjoy quality food and a wide range of drinks served from the small bar. The staff are friendly without being pushy and the range of available extras include nail kits, hair straighteners and the contents of the room fridge - all without charge. There is a private car park with direct access to some rooms and a bus stop nearby. A taxi from the station cost £5 and bags can be dropped off before hitting the shops! Regular special offers mean bargains, especially out of season.

Room Tip: Explain you're needs and the staff will put you in a suitable room.As pensioners we were very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review – I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the little extra touches we provide. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future.
Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Overall this was a nice little hotel, but there were a few points that really let it down. First of all, the window in our room didn't close properly (305) and as it was a snowy weekend the room was freezing when we first got there as the radiator was turned off. The room heated up ok but the outside noise was annoying at night. Also the carpet was coming up at the walls and where it joined the bathroom. The bathroom was quite outdated and the shower was a bit naff. Other than that it was good. Bed was comfy enough and the breakfast was lovely, the hotel is in a good location and only takes 10 mins to walk into the centre of York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you had some disappointments with your stay. The heating should be on in every room for our guests' arrival but sometimes if a previous guest has turned the radiators off this might not be spotted, so I do apologise if this was the case for you.
Our maintenance team have sorted the issues you report, thank you for bringing them to our attention.

I’m glad that overall your stay was a good one and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.