We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Noir to your Saves list
Hotel Noir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Overall this was a nice little hotel, but there were a few points that really let it down. First of all, the window in our room didn't close properly (305) and as it was a snowy weekend the room was freezing when we first got there as the radiator was turned off. The room heated up ok but the outside noise was annoying at night. Also the carpet was coming up at the walls and where it joined the bathroom. The bathroom was quite outdated and the shower was a bit naff. Other than that it was good. Bed was comfy enough and the breakfast was lovely, the hotel is in a good location and only takes 10 mins to walk into the centre of York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you had some disappointments with your stay. The heating should be on in every room for our guests' arrival but sometimes if a previous guest has turned the radiators off this might not be spotted, so I do apologise if this was the case for you.
Our maintenance team have sorted the issues you report, thank you for bringing them to our attention.

I’m glad that overall your stay was a good one and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    194
    128
    61
    66
See reviews for
45
404
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good location but no usefull car park. There is one at the back but its so small do not count on any space.

Look of the hotel good however its cold inside and water drainage doesnt work well - be prepared to a bath while taking a shower... room number 103.

Breakfast fantastic same as dinner meals however do not count on any tissues at the tables.

Reception staff arogant and unhelpfull - my buisness partner and myself due to the nature of work do nightshifts. Unfortunately for us one of our shifts was extended. For our lack of luck it was the day whenn we stayed at this hotel. We asked at the reception when we got there (after 8am) if there was any possibility we could extend check out of a little bit of more time to have at least some sleep. We were prepared for constructive no -however an arrogant answer we received from who he was i believe a manager was - ''your company should have informed us about it''. When, Who and how could prepared us for such an option!!? Fair to say we agreed to extend it till 12. What a disappointment when we left a hotel i had a tel call from my headoffice that management of the hotel called complaining about our extended stay!!
Very inapropriate way of doing business.
Despite my plans to come there back in two weeks for a week i already decided and booked very local alternative next doors and will never advise anyone to stay at noir site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our car park is limited, as stated on our website, but there is ample free parking on the street next to the hotel.
The hotel being cold is certainly not a comment we hear often! Had you informed us however, we would have been able to provide extra heaters straight away.
I’m glad you enjoyed the food – we do provide napkins with both breakfast and dinner, I apologise if these were missing, but again had you informed us these would have been provided straight away.
Regarding late checkouts, we do offer these if possible, subject to prior agreement . We did agree an extra hour in the room free of charge until 12pm, although in the event you did not leave until nearly 1pm. We called your company for assistance at this point as we were having difficulty getting into the room as you were ignoring telephone calls and repeated knocking on the door. Regardless of the reasons for requiring a late check out, we are a busy hotel and the guests arriving that day still require their room to be ready for them to check in by the advertised check in time of 2pm which is difficult to achieve if the previous guest won't answer the door and stays until 1pm. We trust other guests will understand when they read this review.
Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had read mixed reviews of this hotel but we had no problems at all.

It was easy to find, the car park although small had a free space when we arrived although I'd park somewhere else if I had a larger car.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy and looks like it would have been an old family house with landings and staircases shooting off at all angles.

We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park which was quiet, no problems on that score.

No problems with the staff who greeted us and answered any questions we had.

We had breakfast the next day and which was tasty and served quickly.

The only slight issue was the mini bar, poorly stocked and missing the advertised bottle of Cava as it was New Years Eve. It wouldn't stop me going back however I wouldn't pay the £177 a night I paid on New Years, I'm assuming that this isn't the standard rate just an opportunistic rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for peace and quiet although I can't see how it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
I’m sorry that the cava wasn’t in the minibar – we would of course have brought it up for you with apologies if you’d let us know at the time. Sorry if you felt the free minibar was poorly stocked, it is intended as a welcome for our guests, and of course is provided at no charge, something you don’t find in many hotels!
The price was higher than normal as you say, being a peak demand day on New Year's Eve, but if you do return to us in future, please check our website – there you’ll find the best available rates , and special offers run frequently. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent value for money. The mini bar is free unless you choose the compact room. Very convenient for centre of York shops and restaurants, less than ten minutes walk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good location within walking distance of the city centre. Very hospitable staff. Free WiFi and free parking is always a bonus. I didn't eat at the restaurant or use the bar but they both looked decent. Room 413 is small for a double with nothing more than bed and small shower room. Tassimo coffee machine in the room was a nice addition. I would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. As you note, our compact doubles are on the smaller side, but this is why we price them so competitively. We have larger rooms available if this is what you require. I hope we can welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in January. Found the hotel easily, no problem with finding a car parking space. We arrived at 10 minutes to 2, and unfortunately were not able to check in these 10 minutes early. We found the receptionist to be a little 'off' with us and didn't offer us to leave our luggage in the room or anything - both myself & partner work in the hotel industry and we feel that offering to leave our luggage in a storage room or anything may have come across a bit more helpful. However, we went to explore York and came back to the room later.
We were allocated Room 303, a compact room upstairs. We were pleasantly surprised after paying less than £30 for the night. The room was modern and the bed was comfy. The heating worked well and the bathroom was super clean. The Tassimmo coffee/tea machine was a nice touch, as was the cold water in the fridge. This room was fine for one night, but I think if we were to stay more, I would recommend a larger room. Overall, we had a great stay and would return again if I ever visited York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I’m glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay! I’m disappointed to hear that the welcome you received was not up to scratch. We do often look after bags for guests who arrive before check in time, and this should have been the case on this occasion too.
As you say, our compact rooms are more suited for solo travellers or short stays, we would recommend a standard double or above if you need a little more room! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is located 15 minutes walk from York Minster. It is full of character and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, very clean and well equipped. The room had a tassimo coffee machine and a mini fridge that had a small bottle of wine, lager,soft drinks , fresh milk (for coffee/tea) and was included at no cost and replenished daily.
The hotel was warm and quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel but the menu looked good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the future! Regards, Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.