We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpura Japanese Restaurant

Kimpura Japanese Restaurant
Ground Floor, The Shops, Greenhills Shopping Center | Ortigas Avenue, Greenhills, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
+ 63 2 721 0581
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Came with family, 6 adults and 4 kids---- made a reservation for the teppan table--- I'd say the whole point in dining at Kimpura is having the teppan table--- with the food cooked right infront of you. A novelty in itself especially if you have kids with you! Also ordered shrimp tempura, which was great! Be prepared, though, to smell like you' personally cooked your dinner!!! Good food, though----- and would definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fast and Efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of eight. Orders were efficiently taken. Cooked foods were of the right quality. The raw items were fresh. Service was a plus. Good value for money

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ate here on a Friday night. Waiter took our orders at 8:15 PM. The rice, tempura and sirloin steak only arrived an hour later. No apology from the manager, just excuses that "seafood rice" actually takes a while to cook (what??? 1 hour to make fried rice??? really?)

Such a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Love their ebi tempura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed in a private room with my group of friends. My favorites among the food we ordered were ebi tempura and gyoza. Their ebi tempura remains as one of the best i ever had. Also enjoyed their angus beef; it was really good, properly cooked and with the right amount of fat.
Service was impeccable, staff was quick to attend to our requests. A bit pricey but quality of food remains excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Teppan style Japanese Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Had dinner here, colleagues ordered the teppan steak menu which included the miso soup, usual nishikimori salad, steak grilled in front of you with the usual flair and artistry accompanied by vegetables and fried rice(very good), lastly ice cream for desert. Ordered also tempura shrimp and vegetables which were cooked perfectly accompanied by soy sauce with finely grated ginger and radish. Steak quality was fair, had a lot of fat for the price we were paying. Service by kimono clad waitresses, quick and helpful. Average for the price we paid, in terms of steak quality.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimpura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
San Juan, Metro Manila
 
San Juan, Metro Manila
 

Been to Kimpura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimpura Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.