We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, friendly people, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Oxhill

The Peacock Oxhill
Main Street, Oxhill CV35 0QU, England
01295 688060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oxhill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice, friendly people, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a very enjoyable dinner with friends. They were most accommodating to special diets etc., and very friendly. Lovely atmosphere with great ambience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    31
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Popped in to The Peacock at Oxhill after a visit to nearby Redwings Horse Sanctuary. Being a Tuesday lunchtime it wasn't particularly busy and we were greeted by a very friendly young man. We had already had a quick glance at the menu and knew what we both wanted to order. We both had the beer battered cod and chips which was absolutely delicious. The staff were all very friendly and we couldn't fault them or the meal in any way. The pub itself is very pretty and in a beautiful little village. We will definitely be visiting The Peacock again on future visits to the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I ate here on Saturday night (27th April). The table was booked in person for 4 in the window. No record in the book and it was laid up for 9 people, some kind of misunderstanding I was told. As I didn't book I stood back and left my friend who booked to resolve. There seemed immediately to be an "atmosphere". The maitra'd, Pam who ran front of house didn't look pleased that the tables had to be re-organised. We placed our orders, 2 had starters two did not. The wrong starters were delivered initially, after a further wait the correct ones turned up, when they were finished we had a one and half hour wait until the mains arrived! The food was excellent (no denying that), but dirty plates were left on the table for a long period, but when I commented to the very nice young waitress that I felt it was too long to wait, my comment was met with embarrassement. We were visited by Pam, who was very surly, we could have ended up with an unsavoury argument as she pointedly and unceremoniously said I understand there is a problem here, did you enjoy the food I said yes but waiting an hour and a half in my view was unacceptable. She pointed out agin in a surly manner, they didn't do fast food. Fair enough, but the whole approach to the conversation was unhelpful and argumentative. As with many other comments here; excellent food but poor service and be warned woe betide anyone who complains or gets on the wrong side of Pam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rustic charm and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Off the beaten track maybe, but this little country pub offers a warm welcome, a cosy atmosphere
and an excellent choice of brews and food. The food is amongst the best I have tasted, all freshly cooked, and great value for money, especially the specials.
Quite a drive for us from Warwick, but well worth the journey for this friendly hostalry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely anniversary meal. Nice welcome on arrival and very good friendly service. Seafood platter for sharing to start with was gorgeous and very filling. I had the lamb which was cooked to perfection and my husband the duck, all beautifully presented. Unfortunately no room for desert. We went on a Thursday night and was quite quiet but really enjoyed it and will definitely be back again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Oxhill also viewed

Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon
Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Epwell, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Peacock Oxhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Oxhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.