We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Trout Hotel

Brown Trout Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brown Trout Hotel to your Saves list
Brown Trout Hotel
Station Road, Watten KW1 5YN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watten
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel around 10am as we had been travelling all night. The owner could not have been more accomodating, providing us with tea and biscuits until the room could be cleaned.
The following day the breakfast was freshly cooked and couldn't be faulted.
If you are visiting Wick or the surrounding area we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ballater
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Whilst kerbside appeal is lacking a warm & genuine welcome awaits in this compact, clean & comfortable privately owned hotel. There is an ongoing refurbishment programme the results of which are apparent indicating a willingness to ensure guests are comfortable. Food plentiful and of a good standard. A credit to Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schepdaal, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

On arrival the hotel looked closed and abandoned; after the many positive reviews on tripadvisor we were a bit upset and ready to search somewhere else, when suddenly the owner appeared. He explained the hotel was in process of renovation but that rooms and restaurant were ready; Indeed, our room was clean and comfortable, the restaurant nice and cosy, breakfast was super just as the meals in the evening. We got an excellent service and the staff was very friendly. We appreciated that the owner immediately put a paper outside the hotel to inform and warn other guests of the ongoing restoration works. Should we return to John O'Groats and the Orkneys, we will certainly first have a stop in this small but nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Well-appointed accommodation - clean, neat, tidy with everything fully functional (shower, TV etc). Lots of parking space, so none of the city-based "parking angst". Good food with more than enough menu choice for a few days stay. Only drawback for me, as a light sleeper, internal doors are capable of being slammed by inconsiderate guests - not that there are many of those. Bit of muffling round the doors? Should I ever again need a place to stay in Caithness, I'd certainly look forward to coming here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Was recommended this from Ann and Robbie Flett at Corrigal B&B - good food and decently priced. Kids thoroughly enjoyed their food and there was enough on the kids menu to please even our pickiest eater! The scampi was lovely and fresh and there was plenty of it. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just come back from a few days stay at the brown trout hotel and can only recommend it to all. Donna and the girls are friendly and only to willing do to the bit extra to make your stay memorable.
Good food, whether you eat in the bar or in the dinning room
We will be back next year.

Craig, Eddie, Iain and Jim

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

one of the best small hotels in the north we have we have stayed in. The Ritz it is not, no Michelin stars or fancy food. What it does have is good highland hospitality ,friendly owners and top class staff. Donna and Colin are excellent hosts and cant do enough for you. You can forget about packed lunches because once you have had breakfast you don't need anything till dinner. evening meals are top class bar food. Room was clean and comfortable,shower was very compact and was the only downside but we are told work is on going.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout Hotel

Address: Station Road, Watten KW1 5YN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Watten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family run hotel offering comfortable clean accommodation, home cooked food and a friendly atmosphere, only 7 miles from Wick and 14 miles from Thurso. It is an ideal base for all your needs while in Caithness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brown Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Trout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.