We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort to your Saves list
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 36, Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matten
zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dirthy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have planned to stay for two days, but left after the first night. this Hotel should decide, whether they are a backpacker hostel or a Hotel or at least separate these two areas more effectively. Also, I found the Hotel in general to be dirthy (reception, corridor, bar), the blankets in the room had wholes, the rooms are ugly furnitured, there was no closet in the room. the "restaurant" is part of the bar.
although the stuff was friendly, the service was a bit unprofessional.
but they have a very nice garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    14
    11
    16
See reviews for
20
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you go to booking.com, you will find a lot of photos that make you dream of a very pleasant stay at a fashionable hotel. What you see is NOT what you get. I and my family found an old building needing urgent refurbishment. That was NOT the problem. The hotel was dirty (we opened a black trolley on the room floor and it magically became dust white), the bed linen is lousy (there were only mattress protections with cigarette holes, not real linen), the hotel is publicised as a family hotel (see the photos in booking.com) and you find that the two first floors are destined for backpackers.
Add to that a receptionist who doesn't care about your complaints and the picture is complete.
It really is a pity that such a lovely building with such a wonderful location is not appropriately used. It's a real shame...

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This definitely used to be a majestic hotel once, but now it is just terrible to look at. Everything is falling apart, everything is dirty. All the furniture is outdated. Nothing has been renovated for decades. The owners clearly can not manage this building.

I was booked into a standard room. My first words to myself, said out loud, when first opening the door to my room where: no, it can't be! But yes it could. It was about 9 square meters maximum. At first it seemed there was no bathroom at all, but what at first seemed like a door of a built-in closet turned out to be a door to a tiny bathroom about the same size as usually in the cheapest cabins on ships. Whenever you opened the tap you always also received some water coming from the shower and you could not escape it because the bathroom was so small.

My standard room had a metal bunk bed for 3 people. I could not count the holes in linen, there were so many. The pillows had 2 pillowcases, thank god for that because the pillows itself where just so dirty. I spent 2 weeks there. They did not clean my room at all, only made up the bed and changed towels. After a week I had to ask for vacuum cleaning. Of course then they only did that but did not do any dusting. And it was not just the room but the whole hotel was just so dirty all the time.

Every day I found meter long black hair on my new towels, on bed linen and on the floor, i think this was the most disgusting part as I myself have blond hair and therefore noticed them right away.

The service in the reception table and during breakfast was below any standard, on the whole everything was below any standard.

As this hotel was already prepaid and because of a festival everything was booked elsewhere, I could not change it either.

On the whole, everything was below any standard and I would not recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went on euro trip in may, To our surprise, nobody helped us to carry the luggage. The lift is very very small. I would rather say - tiny. The rooms heater was not working. when we asked for a heater, it was delivered after 30 min and surprisingly it was too small to heat the room so we used to only in the bathroom.

The breakfast is pathetic, we only had - bread and butter and cornflakes nothing else. the reception told us to pay 2Euros if we would like to have continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Please dont choose this hotel to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although the staff seemed friendly the rooms are very dirty, the balcony furniture looked like it had been dragged through a hedge, the bathroom was extremely small and again dirty. The hotel itself is very shabby and dated and i would recommend not staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we chose this property based on my husband's past stay here 12 years ago as a college aged backpacker, who remembered it as a highlight of his europe adventure after university graduation. Lets just say, much has changed. the hotel iself is situated on a beautiful property with amazing views, but it is not being maintanined to the standard it should be. Cleanliness is an issue in the bathroom, with mold on the showercurtain and in the tub. not just a little bit, either.
The rest of the room felt cleaner, but the bed linens were so worn and old and threadbare, i wish i had brought my own. the pillows had clearly not been replaced in years and years. the staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a Wonderful time canyoning with the AlpinRaft group situated on the property. with more attention to keeping the property in top shape it could be a great place to stay, but we are thrilled to be out of there after 2 nights. Sadly, the atmosphere my husband remembered was long gone. i think this "resort" needs to re-market itself and not try to get residual funny farm business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

OK, so there are some very positive reviews, and some very negative reviews. After four days here I can see how the reviewers arrived at both. This is an older, typically Swiss/German (read: spartan) hotel that has at times served as a backpackers' retreat. The furniture is older, the beds not terribly comfortable, and the room was a bit musty at times--keeping the windows open helped. But there are a lot of positives as well. First, the setting: this was clearly at one time a grand old hotel and resort set right at the bast of the Bernese Oberland. The south-facing rooms have incredible views up the valley to alpine peaks. The gardens are beautiful, and there is a large pool, both features you're not going to see at other hotels. There is a restaurant with decent, standard Swiss-German food (fondue, rosti, etc), and several bars on-site that charge very reasonable prices in otherwise expensive Switzerland. There's also a couple pubs and restaurants near the hotel that are enjoyable (try The Three Tells), and it's kind of a little "backpackers area" with several hostels around which gives it a younger, more bohemian vibe. The thing that really makes this place is that the staff is great--they're fun, cool, laid back, all speak English, are helpful, and all have great insight on what you need to see and do while in Interlaken. There's just a great vibe to this place that you're not going to find in the nicer hotels--and yes, there are much nicer hotels to be found. I really think it's worth a shot for the more adventurous traveler (not tourist), and if you can see past the wear and tear, it's a great base camp for your alpine adventures.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort

Address: Hauptstrasse 36, Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park-Garden Hotel At Mattenhof Matten
Park Mattenhof Interlaken
The Park-Garden Hotel At Mattenhof Resort Interlaken/Matten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.