We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY awesome place, location, people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmer's Herberge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Balmer's Herberge to your Saves list
Balmer's Herberge
Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“VERY awesome place, location, people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our group loved Balmer's. It is ranked highly among hostels, and has a lot of amenities such as a game room, hammock room, fire pit, restaurant, and bar close by. The staff is also very friendly, and know what activities to do around Interlaken!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
10
43
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service with a smile for many years, it was my second trip to interlaken and balmers and the atmosphere is still there..
Not recommended for couples unless your on a budget, this is for young backpackers looking to have an adventure and a few drinks afterwards, the facilities, beds, rooms are basic, you.ll struggle to charge your phone with only one socket per room, but just enjoy yourself,

And have the best burger in town for the Money, will definaely comeback for a third stay, although my wife prefers luxury, my mates can handle a bunk bed

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Terrible twin room. Ceiling only 1.5 m high in some areas. They really have crammed as many rooms/beds in as they can. Tiny room with no air con in summer! But for the price, really shouldnt complain. No bells and whistles here. Good location. Wifi is very hit and miss. Wouldnt stay again.would pay a little more for something better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you're a 20-something backpacker looking for great people, a party atmosphere and easy access to adventure sports, Balmer's is the place for you! I will say that I was traveling with my husband, we're in our early 30s and we stayed in a private room so maybe we're not the exact target demographic here. Still, we had a really great time. The girls at the front desk spoke English and were so nice and helpful. Our room was a good size and had a window overlooking the street. We had to share the bathrooms and showers, which were in the hallway (not my favorite thing), but we did have a sink and mirror in our room that made things easier.

FYI #1, breakfast is free, but very minimal so don't go in with high expectations. FYI #2, it's a 15-minute walk from either train station, but you can hop on a free bus. FYI #3, don't expect a tv in your room, but there is one computer with free (but spotty) Internet.

You can tell that Balmer's caters to the young because there are TWO happy hours everyday! One is 5-6pm in the outdoor restaurant area (which has a good bratwurst dinner!) and one is 9-10 in the downstairs bar/club. Even on weekdays nights, the club will eventually be full of people and it's a very fun place to hang out and meet others. There is also a little area with some hammocks if you just need to chill in the sun for awhile.

We were extremely lucky to be at the hostel on July 1st, Canada Day. Three times a year (July 1, July 4 and August 1), there are big parties at Balmer's Tent City site, about a 10 minute walk from where we were. There was an excellent band playing, some special food and drink offerings and we were a part of one their famous group pictures. These hang on the walls there and they even send you a copy for free. We can't wait to get ours in the mail as there must have been a few hundred people there. Also there: Eric Balmer, the man who founded the place and we got to meet him!

There are many fine hotels and hostels in Interlaken, but I'm very glad we chose Balmer's!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The best hostel we stayed at on our trip! The staff was very friendly, and their knowledge about the area was very helpful in planning our itinerary for hiking in the mountains (also, they helped us with the free bus pass they provided). Good breakfast, loved the restaurant/grill, and enjoyed playing ping pong in the game room. I absolutely recommend staying here when in Interlaken!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Around 20 minutes walk from both the Interlaken stations..which I thought is a little far especially if you're hauling luggage around. Rather happening place, a bit of a party destination with a club of sorts in the basement. Nice kitchen, dining area and a games room of sorts with ping pong & foosball amongst others. No wifi in the rooms. Decent beds, and nice rooms albeit a little cramped. All in all a value for money place...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I enjoyed this place! Great location, I was in a room with 10 beds and it wasn't bad at all! Good breakfast provided with excellent Swiss cheese. Very close to all the activities available and right above the main club in town Metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmer's Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer's Herberge

Address: Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balmer's Herberge. We are the first established private hostel in Switzerland, providing a comfortable and friendly location from which to explore the adventure capital of Europe. The Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (Swiss Alps) at our doorstep and two big glacier fed lakes are just a stones throw away. We have dormitories, private rooms, apartments and tents. Rated Top 10 hostels of Europe, a product of over 60 years of experience.We are the heart of all hostels. Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Balmer's Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel Matten
Balmer's Herberge Interlaken/Matten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmer's Herberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.