We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmer's Herberge

Save Saved
You added Balmer's Herberge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Balmer's Herberge
Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Around 20 minutes walk from both the Interlaken stations..which I thought is a little far especially if you're hauling luggage around. Rather happening place, a bit of a party destination with a club of sorts in the basement. Nice kitchen, dining area and a games room of sorts with ping pong & foosball amongst others. No wifi in the rooms. Decent beds, and nice rooms albeit a little cramped. All in all a value for money place...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
32
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I enjoyed this place! Great location, I was in a room with 10 beds and it wasn't bad at all! Good breakfast provided with excellent Swiss cheese. Very close to all the activities available and right above the main club in town Metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travelled in a group of 3 and had mixed feelings about this place. If you are a heavy sleeper or no sleeper (hardcore party guy) then it *is* the place for you as a friend of mine felt. It has a very young feel about it, you will meet people out on adventure trips. The staff is quite helpful and eager to help you. However if you are a light sleeper, you might have a hard time sleeping with people moving around and the noise in the pub downstairs. The lounge and the guest kitchen are quite nice. The hostel has a cosy feel about it though its cramped for space. We stayed in a room for 3 and it was quite cramped and the furniture and beds were quite basic as well. The view from my room was amazing, I could see the some amazing snow covered peaks in the background. The washrooms and showers are clean and ok. The free breakfasts are really nice. You dont get a lot but enough to keep the engine chugging. The hostel is located at a nice location in between Interlaken Ost and Interlaken West. Its better to take the bus if you are carrying luggage, it will take you 20-25 minutes to talk to the place. The place has a nice youth, hip and happening feel about so its completely up to the person if they like or not like the place. Its quite cheap and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the attic facing the Lauterbrunnen valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here in 2006 when I was backpacking and thought it would be fun to visit it again. Umm... Its a good place, let's just say that this place is better suited for the young.

As a hostel, it is second to none!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a great stay at this hostel. A lot of the people that came in we're very outgoing, athletic and looking forward to having a good time. Even though I only got to meet with some for one day we connected right away.

The breakfast is pretty good but there's no meat included or vegetables so I ended up buying some quick ham and vegetables for the morning breakfast from COOP about 2 minutes away.

The night life and social life is great.

BRING CASH! There are a LOT of activites in Interlacken that are a LOT of fun like paragliding, sky diving, canyoning, and canyon swings. You can also rent a bike for 24 hours from right next door and you get some amazing trails that you can do.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room from which you cannot hear the sound from MetroBar, and make sure to men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Balmers is very affordable , there is dorm accomodatiion available , If you want privacy you can choose the guest house as we did , in summer there is also a tent village . Balmers is my choice when in Interlaken . Staff are very friendly and they are happy to book all your extreme sports such as rafting , paragliding ,skydiving and scenic flights .Night club operates on the weekends at Balmers . Best place to stay if want friendly atmosphere . Balmers I will return

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

First of all, I was traveling with a group, so they booked this place for me. I have never stayed in a hostel before, so I didn't know what to expect. Let me start with the pros - the front desk ladies were exceptionally nice and attentive to my needs as a guest for the most part; the place was relatively clean and in a great location; the view was awesome; the room was pretty large and contained 2 beds and a sink. Now the cons - the toilet was in a closet by itself and the showers were separate so there was no true bathroom for us. Apparently, this place is known for partying and they have a bar in the basement. A lot of the patrons appeared to be very young, maybe in their early 20s. One reviewer stated it did not get noisy, but that was not my experience! We stayed on the third floor in the building above the bar and could still hear the noise! One couple decided to stand in front of our door and make love while we were trying to sleep. They left after I asked them to do so. Once they left, it didn't take long for a couple of drunk girls to arrive in front of our door. One was so drunk she started vomiting. To top that off, we had to listen to doors slamming and people yelling off and on all night. The next night, several kids decided to have their "pre-party" in a room down from ours. First, they showered, and since we were right by the showers, all of the conversations were heard very clearly. Next, they got drunk, so all of their yelling and cursing could be heard by us and this was all before 8:30pm. They went to the party and came back yelling, cursing and slamming doors. Fortunately, the night desk person intervened on 2 occasions to try to keep the noise down.

If you are young and want to party, you'll probably like this place. But if you want serenity, this place is definitely not the one for you.

By the way, I did not see a pool or fitness center but I hit the rating accidentally and could not erase it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the building above the bar. Some others told me the noise wasn't as bad in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmer's Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer's Herberge

Also Known As:
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel Matten
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel
Balmer's Herberge Interlaken/Matten
Address: Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Matten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balmer's Herberge. We are the first established private hostel in Switzerland, providing a comfortable and friendly location from which to explore the adventure capital of Europe. The Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau (Swiss Alps) at our doorstep and two big glacier fed lakes are just a stones throw away. We have dormitories, private rooms, apartments and tents. Rated Top 10 hostels of Europe, a product of over 60 years of experience. Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Balmer's Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmer's Herberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.