We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmer's Herberge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Balmer's Herberge to your Saves list
Balmer's Herberge
Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here in 2006 when I was backpacking and thought it would be fun to visit it again. Umm... Its a good place, let's just say that this place is better suited for the young.

As a hostel, it is second to none!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
10
43
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a great stay at this hostel. A lot of the people that came in we're very outgoing, athletic and looking forward to having a good time. Even though I only got to meet with some for one day we connected right away.

The breakfast is pretty good but there's no meat included or vegetables so I ended up buying some quick ham and vegetables for the morning breakfast from COOP about 2 minutes away.

The night life and social life is great.

BRING CASH! There are a LOT of activites in Interlacken that are a LOT of fun like paragliding, sky diving, canyoning, and canyon swings. You can also rent a bike for 24 hours from right next door and you get some amazing trails that you can do.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room from which you cannot hear the sound from MetroBar, and make sure to men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Balmers is very affordable , there is dorm accomodatiion available , If you want privacy you can choose the guest house as we did , in summer there is also a tent village . Balmers is my choice when in Interlaken . Staff are very friendly and they are happy to book all your extreme sports such as rafting , paragliding ,skydiving and scenic flights .Night club operates on the weekends at Balmers . Best place to stay if want friendly atmosphere . Balmers I will return

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

First of all, I was traveling with a group, so they booked this place for me. I have never stayed in a hostel before, so I didn't know what to expect. Let me start with the pros - the front desk ladies were exceptionally nice and attentive to my needs as a guest for the most part; the place was relatively clean and in a great location; the view was awesome; the room was pretty large and contained 2 beds and a sink. Now the cons - the toilet was in a closet by itself and the showers were separate so there was no true bathroom for us. Apparently, this place is known for partying and they have a bar in the basement. A lot of the patrons appeared to be very young, maybe in their early 20s. One reviewer stated it did not get noisy, but that was not my experience! We stayed on the third floor in the building above the bar and could still hear the noise! One couple decided to stand in front of our door and make love while we were trying to sleep. They left after I asked them to do so. Once they left, it didn't take long for a couple of drunk girls to arrive in front of our door. One was so drunk she started vomiting. To top that off, we had to listen to doors slamming and people yelling off and on all night. The next night, several kids decided to have their "pre-party" in a room down from ours. First, they showered, and since we were right by the showers, all of the conversations were heard very clearly. Next, they got drunk, so all of their yelling and cursing could be heard by us and this was all before 8:30pm. They went to the party and came back yelling, cursing and slamming doors. Fortunately, the night desk person intervened on 2 occasions to try to keep the noise down.

If you are young and want to party, you'll probably like this place. But if you want serenity, this place is definitely not the one for you.

By the way, I did not see a pool or fitness center but I hit the rating accidentally and could not erase it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the building above the bar. Some others told me the noise wasn't as bad in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a great hostel to stay in with a group of friends and to meet people. Lots of internationals having a great time. You couldn't tell if the people in the place were working or locals just hanging out because it was so much fun.

The room we stayed in was clean - average beds - great value. The highlight of our trip was hang-gliding and canyoning (both recommended by the hotel. Great staff, great time. Only downside was food and how expensive it was around Interlaken.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here at this guest house/hostel through a tour with Bus2Alps in October 2011. This was my first hostel ever and I was very impressed compared to horror stories ive heard of hostels. We had a nine person room with bunkbeds. There was a sink right outdide our room and the bathroom down the hall to share with the floor. The bathroom is what you would expect from a hostel.I dont remember any dirtiness or anything like that.The building itself is actually very cute and fiit in with the country. Nice dining room and places to hang out and relax with other guests. There is a dance club downstairs and they have a desk to sign up for activities, get free maps and advice, and buy things (I bought a swiss army knife and they engraved it for me...who doesn't want a swiss army knife from switzerland?!) Really the only complaint I have is that it is loud. But what do you expect from a hostel with young people? If you are looking for hotel quality and privacy or luxury, not the place for you. Otherwise, it is a nice hostel on hostel terms, so Id go for it!

A ten-ish minute walk to the center town where the shopping is and to see the mountains (beautiful!). I suggest taking a walk to where the citizens live...beautiful scenery along the way!

Room Tip: If it's your first time in a hostel, pay a little more to have your own room or one with only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My first stay in Switzerland was in this hostel. Here is my review of the Pros & Cons:

Pros:
1. Good locality. Well connected by local bus.
2. Cozy feel. The whole architecture is wooden.
3. A nice place to sit in the garden designed like a chessboard.
4. A party place available but not very noisy.

Cons:
1. Rooms could have been better lit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmer's Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer's Herberge

Address: Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balmer's Herberge. We are the first established private hostel in Switzerland, providing a comfortable and friendly location from which to explore the adventure capital of Europe. The Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (Swiss Alps) at our doorstep and two big glacier fed lakes are just a stones throw away. We have dormitories, private rooms, apartments and tents. Rated Top 10 hostels of Europe, a product of over 60 years of experience.We are the heart of all hostels. Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Balmer's Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel Matten
Balmer's Herberge Interlaken/Matten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmer's Herberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.