We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST FANTASTIC, SO GOOD WE ATE HERE TWICE.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of el caleton

el caleton
Av. Maritima, 5 | 35570 El Golfo, El Golfo, Lanzarote, Spain
650064693
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in El Golfo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Berkshire, UK.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“JUST FANTASTIC, SO GOOD WE ATE HERE TWICE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We took a drive to El Golfo, had no idea what we would find as we had never been to Lanzarote before. Anyway we decided to eat in this restaurant as it looks welcoming and has an excellent view of the sea. The waiters were extremely helpful on both occasions and spoke English (my Spanish is sadly lacking). This is a fish restaurant and you were presented with just the most fabulous choice of fresh fish on a plate for you to choose, and the waiter described each one in detail. The fish was then cooked and presented on a platter and de-boned in front of us. A side salad and Canary potatoes were provided. I can't recall ever enjoying fish so much before; so simple and unfussy. I also tried limpets which were just divine. Please please eat here, you can see from all the other reviews what a super place it is and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    36
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“El golfo is seafood heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We love this little fishing village near playa blanca. We have over the last few years been faithful to another great restaurant that we have reviewed before and when you have found a great restaurant it's difficult to try another.

Yet we did on this occasion and are so glad we did. Had beautiful squid, croquettes and the very best grilled sea bass that I have tasted. Combine the great views with the great seafood and el golfo is unmissable on any trip to Lanzarote.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

A great little restaurant - the fresh fish they have is shown to you on a platter to choose and is very fresh and tasty. The service was excellent and very friendly. Good value too. My son had the steak and enjoyed this also. Would highly recommend !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another excellent El Golfo restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited a number of local restaurants while staying in El Golfo. While this was not our number one choice overall, it was where we had the best fish. In spite of it being a slightly chilly night we were perfectly comfortable outside thanks to the sheltered dining area. The service was very good and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Food great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch watching the breakers crashing on the shore.

Good Food Good Service

I had baby squid my wife had grilled squid both v.good

El Golfo is a traditional fishing village with lots of fish restaurants we can recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed el caleton also viewed

 
El Golfo, Lanzarote
 

Been to el caleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage el caleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.