We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club La Santa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tinajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club La Santa
Save
You added Club La Santa to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Krogager S/N, 35560 Tinajo, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tinajo
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had heard that this is the place to go if you want to train with the best equipment ,coaches and others of the same mind.. If you are a keen cyclist the bikes available seem very good and well maintained with very few cars to interfere with you on the roads.It can be windy.
The gym was very disappointing , the cardio equipment lacked entertainment eg TV / radio, free weights and machines were very good. I was very surprised that there was no A/C. The spin classes were held in a squash court with about 25 participants attending, this class was awesome but guess what,there was only some desk fans to keep us cool. I was also disappointed with the lack of knowledge from the gym instructor eg not knowing how to stretch the quad muscle. BASIC..

Unfortunately I was disappointed with my stay here it just didn't live up to my expectations. I will now be grateful for what I have on my doorstep ,flat runs around the bay,hill runs around the cliffs some of the most picturesque beaches in the world which offers kite boarding and surfing. A sports centre which has up to date equipment and A/C. I live in Swansea ,it does get rather wet with very little sun

Room Tip: The steak and sushi restaurant was ok with very expensive wine. The supermarket in the village sell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    82
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
79
50
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

One of the best vacation I have had.. Our appartment was nice. Terrasse with sun and no wind. There was everything we needed.
The hotel it self was very clean and beautifully kept. The staff was friendly and all around people seemed to be in a good mood.
The sports facilities was great and the instructures was awsome - good energy and tried to make everyone feel like alle time stars whatever the sport.
The only thing I can put my finger on was that there was nothig else to do really.. Far from civilisation, but if you go to La Lanta my guess is that sport is what you want to do..

Room Tip: Might be a bit chilly in the evening. And room not so close to the plaza is to prefer.. not som much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Used to love holidaying here (during the 90's), but think whoever owns or runs this resort needs to realize that you need to move with the times!!!!! Visited here last year in 2012, this was once a really great family activity holiday location,buts it's so run down now, what used to work 20yrs ago just looks shabby & old now!!!!! The resort is in the middle of no-where, but used to have so much going on in the resort it didn't seem to matter, now it just seems like a 'very run down' prison camp in the back of beyond. With unforetold infestations of cockroaches.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although the clubs accommodation is looking some what tired, it is still a great place for an early season triathlon training camp to get you kick started! Weather is warm if a little windy during Jan,Feb,Mar but ideal for getting out on the bike and building some base mileage.
Don't eat on site though as there are some lovely restaurants in La Santa itself at half the price of those in the Club!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Club La Santa for a week in early October 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If your idea of a holiday includes the availability of a wide range of physical activities, a number of which are organised, then this is the resort for you. Everything, with the exception of scuba diving, is included in the price. We each rented an apartment, which although clean, were somewhat 'tired' and in in need of a re-vamp. There also was a considerable degree of reconstruction work taking place, as the Club is planning a fairly massive extension to its facilities; including another two 50 metre pools. Fair to say that the building work didn't really impact on our stay there.

After eating within the complex for the first few evenings, we decided to try the restaurants and bars in the nearby La Santa village. This was an excellent decision as, not only was the food of a much higher quality than experienced in the Club restaurants, it was also very significantly cheaper. Moreover, the G & Ts were around one third of the cost of what we were paying in the Club's bars. As there are numerous taxis and the cost to La Santa village from the Club is a mere three euros it is an ideal option if one likes excellent food and a few drinks at the end of the day's exertions.

Notwithstanding, Club La Santa was most enjoyable and I have no hesitation in recommending it to my friends who prefer not to lie on the beach all day. It is most certainly designed for those people who like physical activity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed at Club LaSanta during half term week and had an excellent time. The sports facilities are superb and the staff were really helpful. We had road bikes four mornings, swam daily in 50m pool, used the gym, played tennis twice, badminton daily and much more - and all this was included in the price of the apartment! The apartment was well appointed and very clean - comfortable beds and great shower - what more do you need? Walked to the village on the first night to eat, but after that stayed on the resort and had good food at the restaurants. The supermarket is well stocked and a bakery makes wonderful bread. Building work going on just means that when we return next time Club LaSanta will be even better!

Room Tip: We were in 10A which was great but there are a lot of new rooms being built overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went here for the spring triathlon training camp in early February.

The apartments were basic, but reasonably clean and the cleaners were in every day.

There are basic cooking facilities, but you don't really need these as the restaurants (several of these available) are cheap enough and the food they serve is excellent, you don't need to cook in the room apart from some breakfast and you don't spend much time in the apartments as there's so much to do. They have spent the money on the facilities, not the rooms and long may this continue!

The facilities are amazing. A 50 meter swimming pool (for serious swimming....), a 400 meter running track, a large and well sorted gym, bikes for hire (awesome cycling in Lanzarote), loads of classes and events you can attend, mostly for free, every day of your stay and theres personal training services and sports massages available after those 5 hour bike rides. Everything the active person needs on holiday. Simply awesome.

If you want smart apartments, go somewhere else. If you want a most excellent experience, go to Club La Santa. I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: As you don't spend much time in the rooms, you don't need a view, so this is cheaper. Most r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club La Santa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club La Santa

Address: Avenida Krogager S/N, 35560 Tinajo, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Tinajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tinajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club La Santa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club La Santa is a totally dedicated healthy holiday resort with an Olympic Village atmosphere. It is the Number 1 sports and activity holiday resort in the World, catering for a wide range of visitors including elite sportsmen and women, top sports teams, Olympic champions and families looking for a great time on holiday. In the past year, we have seen Formula 1 drivers there training and relaxing, together with many of the London 2012 competitors making their preparations for the Games, plus with so many children travelling here with their families during the summer period, we have probably witnessed one or more future Olympic Champions too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club La Santa Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel La Santa
La Santa Sport
Resort La Santa
Santa Club Lanzarote
Club Lanzarote Santa
Club La Santa Lanzarote/Tinajo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club La Santa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.