We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Audries Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Quantoxhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Audries Park
Save
You added St Audries Park to your Saves list
West Quantoxhead, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aintree
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

this venue is delightful. was very lucky to attend a wedding during the heatwave back in march 2012. were given a room in one of the converted single storey buildings by the courtyard. very spacious and warm bed/sitting room with huge comfortable bed. clean newly fitted shower room though a little small. i didn't find any problems with the outside lighting as other reviewers have suggested. the ceremony was lovely & the wedding breakfast excellent as too was the evening buffet. just a shame (due to modern day health & safety rules & regs) it had to be whisked away before we were able to do it justice. only down side, owing to the venue being so popular & requiring prompt check-out, breakfast was too early following the previous night's celebrations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAudriesManager, Manager at St Audries Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this accommodation for a wedding and soon realised it was not as expected.
Firstly as another reviewer has pointed out THIS IS NOT A HOTEL!!! It is only a room to sleep in and not a very nice one!
No one is allowed to check in before 12oclock so when you arrive you need to be very speedy! Our room was in an annexe up a flight of stone steps (which I will come to later). The room was very basic, like a youth hostel, however very run down. The bedroom was tiny not a full size double bed, and the bathroom was revolting. The bedding was very thin, and the entire room very unattractive, old and decorated many, many years ago!! The bathroom had a shower which made an incredible noise and was a real squeeze to get into, 1 sink and a toilet. I found the fact that the bathroom and toilet was carpeted very unhygenic. paint was peeling off the walls in many places. The rooms have NO TV, NO HAIRDRYER, NO INTERNET, AND NO PHONE, NO MINIBAR. The steps leading to our room were unlit, uneven, curved and very steep. Apparently the bulb had blown so they tried to light them with candles which was useless. They were very dark and I would imagine that they could pose a massive health and safety risk especially in bad weather. I think there is another posting which talks more about this, The main house looks lovely but when you actually spend time there it is very basic. Its a shame that grand rooms have nothing in them, no pictures, mirrors, real flowers, historical ornaments, books, lamps, all they have is a couple of mis matched sofas. We went at christmas at there was only one tree no other decorations. There is no reception area no quiet place sit no warm feel to any room. All in all I think the owners are trying to provide a wedding venue in a beautiful historic house but do not want to spend any profit on making it comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAudriesManager, Manager at St Audries Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry you had a disappointing stay with us. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I were married at St Audries in November 2010, and had a ball.

The day went by without a hiccup, and everything was just perfect, from the service, to the meal, everything. Nothing was too much hassle.

We were excited to hear about the Winter Ball, as we thought that after our wedding, we would probably never return there, other than to maybe just pop in one day.

We booked for the Ball, and got excited whilst looking at the menu. Yummie!

It was a three course meal, with drinks and dancing afterwards.

Once again, the food was incredible, the service was impeccable, and the venue just looked fantastic.

Thank you again for a wonderful evening, and for bringing back happy memories of our wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hi we went to St Audries for a friends wedding, and what everyone must remember is this is a wedding venue not a hotel. The place is beautiful and the church is amazing. Food was great and service was good.

The only things we found a bit weird was the reception area and waiting to get our room key. We were told we could get into our rooms until 12pm and we all hoovered in a room and then a load of staff arrived ticked off our names supplied us with a key and showed us to our rooms and then they were gone again. Also the morning after we were hastily rushed through breakfast in order for them to turn the room round for the next wedding.

Rooms lovely and big but no tv or phone. Funny thing is all staff disappear at night time and should you need them you have to call a mobile number. There are no phones on room and no phone signal. Rubbish if you had an emergency. ** This needs looking at**

Beautiful place and pictures were amazing and location amazing with deer in backgrounds.

Had a great time and most importantly so did the bride and groom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAudriesManager, Manager at St Audries Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. Please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helena Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

from the moment you arrive everything is perfect, even the weather for my son's wedding! My room was huge and really comfortable. the food was great and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We could even walk to the church. I would recomend St Audries to anyone who wants a traditional wedding in an amazing setting!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was concerned by the review written in November 2011 about St Audries Park. But having had my ceremony with my partner there in August this year I can confirm to anyone else worried by that review that St Audries Park and its staff are absolutely perfect in every way for a wedding. Our families and friends concur. Stop looking at any other venue now - I don't believe St Audries Park can be bettered (this coming from someone who looks at every detail till I am exhausted). Very happy to respond to e-mails from anyone who has worries or concerns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My Husband and I were married in the Orangery at St Audries Park, followed by cocktails on the lawn, the Wedding Breakfast, DJ, evening buffet and overnight stay with breakfast for all of our guests.

The quality of service from St Audries is five star from the moment you go to visit the venue as a 'maybe'. After our meeting we knew this was the setting of our dreams for our Wedding day. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind in the run up to our day and could not be faulted on the day itself.

All of the little extras and attention to detail were truly the 'icing on the cake'. Fragrant, crisp bed sheets, top quality toiletries and tea/coffee/mineral water (still and sparkling) in every room, spotlessly clean, handmade petits fours and chocolates after dining, wonderful staff who would have done anything for us on the day (especially Janette! Thank you!)

Perfect, perfect, perfect. I could not have hoped for a more spectacular day. We all want to relive the experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Audries Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Audries Park

Address: West Quantoxhead, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Quantoxhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in West Quantoxhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Audries Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.