We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stilegate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Quantoxhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilegate B&B
Save
You added Stilegate B&B to your Saves list
Staple Close | St Audries, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Room and ensuite great and hospitality outstanding. Tea and delicious scones were a lovely way to start our stay and we were very happy to be offered a lift to a local pub where we ate in the evening. As previous reports have said, the cooked breakfast really was amazing and the fresh fruit salad probably the best I have tasted. Heidi and Peter are lovely people, whether you want to chat about the local area or football! Would love to be able to stay longer next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
A big thank you for taking the trouble to report on us. We would love to meet you again one day - glad you enjoyed Stilegate B&B. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
76
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A really fantastic, clean and friendly b&b. Heidi and Peter are most welcoming with a 5 star greeting. Breakfast is one of the best we have ever had - something for all tastes. The beds are sooooo comfy and the rooms are excellent. We will definitely stop at Stilegate every time now, when we are down in St Audries. Thank you so much Heidi and Peter.
Hilary and Robert Gunson, Sheffield. South Yorkshire

Room Tip: No tip from us. All of the rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Oliver Big Boy. Well what can we say? Glad you enjoyed your brief visit and we look forward to having a chat again sometime. Enjoy Newquay. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely garden room, very clean. Warm, friendly welcome with tea on the patio. Excellent breakfast. The room had everything you needed.Would recommend to others. Brilliant location to St Audries Parl wedding venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
You are most welcome. We try our best and glad you enjoyed your stay. Heidi & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends for wedding. Not sure you could find a better B&B. Fantastic hospitality. Very clean spacious rooms. Heidi couldn't do enough for us. Great views from the garden and room. Breakfast was probably the best we have experienced. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
You are very kind.
Love to see you again one day. Heidi & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanty Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently, my daughter and I stayed at Stilegate about 2 weeks ago. We were walking the Coleridge Trail in Somerset and we arrived at their B&B on our second night. Actually we arrived at the end of our day's walk at a pub about 2 or 3 miles from Stilegate; we'd been instructed to call Heidi Morse when we arrived.
10 minutes later, she arrived to pick us up and from the very beginning was so welcoming. Later we met her husband Peter and he was cut from the same cloth. We couldn't get over the warmth and caring that they both expressed. It seemed that they couldn't do enough for us. As far as I'm concerned, they set a new standard for B&B hospitality.
If you are ever anywhere near Stilegate, you are missing out if you don't stay with them.
Peter and Heidi are remarkable caring people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We love the Canadians.......Thankyou.
Heidi & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a find. Travelling on my own to meet up with friends and relatives for a family wedding, I did not want to stay in a hotel so I surfed the web and found "Stilegate". It looked the ideal B&B for me. From my arrival (Heidi was already on the doorstep to greet me) I was offered a hand with my luggage, a pot of tea and home baked shortcake biscuits. Heidi and Peter have obviously travelled themselves and, with their knowledge have applied themselves to cater for all ones needs. The house was very pleasant, my room (a double with stunning views) was very nicely decorated and both the room and ensuite were spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and all the facilities were in excellent working order. Unfortunately I am on a diet so I could not take full advantage of their wonderul breakast menu but I was able to eat and enjoy what Heidi freshly cooked for me. My stay was both pleasant and memorable and I would not hesitate for a moment to recommend this hospitable couple and their beautiful home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are really glad that you enjoyed your brief stay and were made to feel at home. Thank you for you great comments and email. Come back and see us anytime.....Heidi & Pete. P.S. You do not need to be on a diet and look fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We discovered “Stilegate” by surfing the web as we were looking for a B&B in the area with a car park and with good reviews. Wow, what a fantastic find!
On arrival, we received a friendly, warm welcome from Heidi and Peter followed by tea and delicious, homemade cake.
Our double room faced west overlooking the beautiful garden, swimming pool and in the distance Exmoor National Park, Minehead and the sea.
The room was scrupulously clean and very well equipped including, in addition to tea and coffee making facilities, fresh milk, fresh fruit and a range of luxury toiletries. Lovely touches such as fresh flowers and a teddy bear made us feel like we were home from home.
The award winning breakfasts were delicious and filling with an extensive menu catering for all tastes and appetites e.g. fresh fruit salad; cereals; porridge; full English breakfast; boiled eggs and bread; toast and jam. In addition, there were none of those tasteless jams in plastic containers here. Stilegate’s jam and marmalade is homemade and packed with flavour.
Heidi and Peter are mines of local information and provided maps and advice which enhanced our stay.
Now that we have found Stilegate, we will be back.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room specially adapted for disabled guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your mini break. There is so much to do here you know. We would be delighted to see you both again sometime. Best Wishes Heidi & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stilegate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilegate B&B

Address: Staple Close | St Audries, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Quantoxhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Quantoxhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established B&B near Quantock Hills and coast with all en-suite accommodation and a warm welcome. Panoramic views from each room towards Exmoor National Park and Minehead. Close to St Audries Park Wedding venue. Enjoy our Aga home cooked breakfast freshly prepared especially for you and then relax at our local St Audries Bay beach or mountain bike straight onto the Quantock Hills (AONB) from the front door. Walk to the local Windmill Inn for a delicious evening meal,fantastic Sunday carvery or take a picnic up onto the beautiful Quantock Hills. Electric Vehicle charging point free for overnight guests. Off road parking and ground floor room available. Ask about our midweek break special. Special local complimentary membership of St Audries Holiday Club where our guests can use indoor heated pool, sauna, tennis, entertainment, meals etc (small fee applies & subject to availability). A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stilegate B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.