We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Jean Coste

Save Saved
You added Domaine Jean Coste to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine Jean Coste
Le Py, 11420 Pecharic-et-le-Py, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The time I spent was really amazing. Beautiful setting in rural Languedoc-Roussillon region of France. Interesting historical area. Catriona and Alan are really cool, awesome, amazing hosts, who made my stay! It's rare that one goes to have a holiday and leaves having made good friends. Comfortable spacious, clean, well maintained ensuite rooms, nice garden and pool. Delicious food made from local produce in traditional style.

Carcassonne is the closest airport but sadly only Ryanair fly to there. Other option is Toulouse which is a bit further away but gives you more options. Alternatively travel by ground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The website did not portray this correctly. It was a building site and vey messy outside .
Ok meal but expensive at 28€ per person. Breakfast ordinary. Linen was clean but a very musty damp smell. The clock chimed every hour so not relaxing . Would not recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freyaFrance, Owner at Domaine Jean Coste, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for this review. We are in the process of renewing our garage roof, a job that can only be carried out at this time of year. Some areas at the back of the building have building materials and rubble lying around, normally this area is cordoned off and not accessable to guests. All work will completed by the middle of November 2012. The interior of the house is not affected.

Meals are provided and costed using local fresh produce. Our prices are comparable with other similar businesses. 28 euros is a four course meal with aperotifs, coffee and wine.

We have a traditional granfather clock which chimes on the hour - it can be stopped for those who do not wish to hear it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Jean Coste le Py is a hidden gem, set in beautiful surroudings and has easy access to amazing historic towns and cities like Mirepoix and Carcassonne. It's also close to the magnificent Pyrennees. Catriona and Alan are welcoming and generous hosts, and Catriona creates great meals using local produce! Sitting on the terrace under the mulberry tree with a glass of wine after one of her meals is something I'd really recommend! (You can always have a swim in their pool the next morning to work some of it off!) If you're looking for a place to stay in this part of the South of France, either to use as a base when touring the area or somewhere to break your journey, you'll really enjoy Jean Coste!.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We loved this B&B from the moment we arrived. The house is situated on the top of a hill with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside with the Pyrenees Mountains looming in the distance. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and there is a new pool that is well maintained and was lovely to use and lounge around when we returned from our daily sightseeing activities. The room was clean and spacious and there was a lovely big bathroom. Catriona and Alan, our Scottish hosts, welcomed us warmly when we arrived and really looked after us during our 5 night stay. Catriona is a very talented cook and the food (both breakfast and dinner) was beautiful, whilst Alan was our most excellent wine host and tour guide for the week, using his extensive knowledge of the history of the area to map out detailed directions and hints and tips to assist us in our daily trips. The property is in a quiet location and a car is necessary, but it is central for visiting Carcassonne, the Pyrenees and the Coast. The stay was made even more special due to Catriona's lovely cocker spaniels who injected life into the house and also a fabulous resident parrot called Mack. We couldn't recommend Jean Coste highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

This B&B was a charming place to stay . On arrival we had a tasty lunch prepared by the excellent cook our hostess Catriona. Our dinner each eveing was relaxing but sumptious. The area around was very quiet and we enjoyed our walks. Jean Coste was a good centre for touring and Alan our host was superb in guiding us and giving us the local history. And finally, we loved the well-appointed swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine Jean Coste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Jean Coste

Address: Le Py, 11420 Pecharic-et-le-Py, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Pecharic-et-le-Py
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pecharic-et-le-Py
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domain Jean Coste is a tranquil B&B guesthouse (chambres d'hotes) near Pécharic-et-Le-Py in the Aude region of southern France. It has stunning views of the Pyrenees, wonderful food and a sparkling swimming pool. It is the perfect base for exploring a variety of attractions of southern France.We offer 4 double guest rooms (plus smaller child's room for families), terrace and conservatory for meals, 10 metre swimming pool and a hectare of gardens in a peaceful rural location. Your hosts Catriona and Alan speak both English and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Domaine Jean Coste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Jean Coste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.