We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Bristol airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winford Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Winford Manor to your Saves list
Winford Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Hill, Winford BS40 8DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for Bristol airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Immaculately clean family room. Friendly welcome, helpful staff. Delicious home made biscuits in room. We got there late and really just wanted a snack and had to eat in the restaurant and had a wait for the food but the food was good. We were just after something simpler! Definitely use hotel again for early flights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor. We do try to make the whole airport & hotel experience as stressless as possible

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    77
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
53
131
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The most wonderful hotel. Friendly staff and very welcoming. The food here is excellent - we still talk about it now. The room was spacious and comfortable and even though it was close to Bristol airport there was no noise to keep us awake. The grounds are stunning with lots of photo opportunities but the most memorable thing was the restarant with a stunning variety of dishes to suit every palate. Would highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality and the excellent food that the chefs serve up in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

KInd regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed only one night in order to catch a really early flight to the continent the next morning. We decided to pay a bit extra to stay in a "manor". We were pretty disappointed when we found that our room was away from the manor in a fairly typical modern motel wing tacked on the side of the main building. There was nothing wrong with the room it just was not what we expected and thought we had paid for. We ate in the restaurant that night. It was very nice but a bit expensive. We left very early but the hotel still provided us with breakfast which was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor.

I am sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay. Our website is explicit in stating that we are a modern hotel in sitting alongside a manor house, with many photos showing the style of the bedrooms and indeed the inside of the hotel. Our rates are very competitive locally. Perhaps you booked through a 3rd party agency where it can be a little more expensive than direct with ourselves.

We consider customer service to be the most important factor in a guests experience along with locally sourced, good quality food that unfortunately does not come cheap.

We hope you had a safe jounrney back to Australia and thank you again for your custom.

kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mevagissey, cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed overnight in before travelling from Bristol Airport. Good directions, lovely friendly and helpful staff, good bar meal, spotless and comfy room - with home made shortbread - and excellent Continental breakfast at 5.30am! We left our car there for 15 days and had a very efficient airprt transfer both ways - takes only about 5 mins. The cost for B&B car parking and transfers (which are included in the price - beware of others that charge extra) just £99.00 for the two of us.
We were particularly impressed with their Gold Green Tourism Business Scheme Award - an accolade which is not easily achieved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff.

Our Gold for Green Business Tourism is very important to us and we are very proud of it. We are delighted to get feedback that the sustainability we are so passionate about, is important to our customers as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights on business and found this hotel by chance, at very short notice and was lucky enough to secure a very competitive rate.

Lovely old property that has been thoroughly modernised to an excellent standard. Set in beautiful grounds and very convenient for Bristol airport less than 2 miles away . The hotel offers holiday parking and airport transfers.

The room was fairly small but perfectly adequate, immaculately clean and well supplied. The wetroom style bathroom was very good.

A nice touch is the offer of a jug of fresh milk for the room when you check in.

However, the real surprise was their absolutely excellent restaurant! The menu was quite small but the choices were well considered and balanced, with 3 great veggie options (I tried them all!) The chef uses local produce wherever possible. I eat in many hotel restaurants worldwide, mostly larger international ones, and this chef gives them all a run for their money! On top of that the waitresses/reception staff were really good, offering a very professional but friendly service.

Would definitely chose this hotel again if I need to be in this area another time. To top it all they're an eco friendly, green certified hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff. Here at Winford Manor, we source all our ingredients as locally as possible to produce some fantastic flavours cooked by our team of amazing chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First time staying here but would choose again due it's location which is very close to the airport. Rooms are basic but very clean, modern and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and the continental breakfast is perfect for an early start (I checked out at 05:30).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyBeck, General Manager at Winford Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Winford Manor. I am glad we made your early start a little more bearable.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous hospitality, food and of course, our amazing staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winford Manor in the very near future.

Kind regards
Tracey Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winford Manor

Address: Old Hill, Winford BS40 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winford Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of beautiful grounds, Award winning Winford Manor has free Wi-Fi and superb eco rooms. Bristol International Airport is just 5 minutes’ away and a shuttle service is available for a small fee. The Labyrinth restaurant serves a superb traditional menu from locally sourced ingredients. Set in the beautiful Chew Valley, the hotel is just a 30-minute drive from the historic cities of Bristol and Bath, with spectacular countryside views. Conference and event facilities are available at Winford Manor.Award winning Winford Manor has free Wi-Fi and superb eco rooms. Bristol Airport is just 5 minutes’ away and a shuttle service is available for a small fee. The Labyrinth restaurant serves a superb traditional menu from locally sourced ingredients. The hotel is just a 30-minute drive from the historic cities of Bristol and Bath, with spectacular countryside views. There is free secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Winford Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winford Manor Hotel Winford
Winford Manor Bristol
Winford Manor Hotel Bristol
Winford Manor Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winford Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.