We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Ana

Ristorante Ana
Palit 80, Rab Town, Croatia
00385 51 724376 .
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Rab Town
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch here with appetizers, starters, mains and side dishes with wine and coffee and the total price was a lot less than what I'd expected - brilliant.

We had two Octopus Salad in a slightly spicey dressing (with lots of garlic : ) - very tasty
Two fish soups, with a nice selection of mussels, mackarels and prawns, and some rice too.
Then we had grilled sea bass and sea bream, and a cauliflower salad in a very tasty sauce.

The house wine was lovely too for less than an euro per glass.

We ate outside on the terrace - wonderful.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

I higly reccomend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Roche-sur-Foron
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We were extremely pleased with our dinner at the Ristorante Ana. The location is nice (we ate on the terrace) and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The food was quite good and the prices were reasonable. It was a very enjoyable meal and we will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So glad we found this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were staying in a hotel with half board service, so we didn't go out for dinner every evening. My husband were having a craving for the special dish we had a few years ago in Croatia: roasted octopus under the bell (I guess it is called Dalmatian Peka). He got an advice to make a reservation in an old town restaurant, so he asked the receptionist at our never-get-what-you-want hotel to call them. She came back and said "They didn't pick up the phone, so I made a reservation at another restaurant which is not in old town." We were not happy... We went there though... And it turned out that the receptionist did the best thing with us. She showed us Ristorante Ana.

The lady (who may be Ana herself and reminded me of Shirley MacLaine :-) who greeted us and was our waitress that evening is the nicest person we met on Rab. She has attention to every tiny details.

We tired their fish soup and fried calamari. Both were great. Our octopus dish was superb!!!! The kids' pizza was also a big success. With the dinks, we paid about $90 which is very reasonable I guess.

We had to go back there, so we did on our last evening on Rad. We tried other dishes you have to try in Croatia: black risotto, spaghetti frutti di mare... Wonderful experience... I can say that our vacation wouldn't have been perfect without the culinary experience we had there. On top of everything, their garden area is beautiful, it was great sitting there on the nice evenings, they use cloth napkins (as another reviewer mentioned here before) and their dinnerware is very elegant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I've been coming to Rab almost every year for 15 years now and only recently discovered Ana. I had the Spaghetti frutti di mare, it was very tasty.
Will go there again when I'm back in Rab.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Possibly the best restaurant on Rab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

During a ten day stay on Rab Island, my wife and I ate out each evening. Fortunately early on in our stay a helpful member of staff at the local tourist office recommended Restaurant Ana as a worth a visit. The Ana is located in a side road at the top (north) end of the Town away from the old Town and harbour area. It does not therefore come easily to the attention of short stay tourists and has to date attracted little attention from Tripadvisor’s review writers. This is a pity because it is quite simply a very, very good restaurant from just about every gastronomic viewpoint and in our view is better than the five other restaurants we tried, all of which seem to be better known.

Ana does not have a particular outlook, but its spacious garden terrace is attractively set in a residential area with much surrounding greenery including huge and lavish bouganvillia. Because the evenings we were there were delightfully warm we ate in the garden area on each occasion we visited. The atmosphere as the tables filled was lively and entertaining and the ambiance just so very continental and relaxing. The interior restaurant is modern, spacious and appealing in its own way, featuring at one side large wood burning ovens where scrumptious pizza bread served as part of the standard basket of bread given gratis with all food orders, is baked.

What was particularly inviting was the freedom to choose any of the good sized tables, all of which had table cloths, proper cloth napkins (unless the customer ordered just a pizza) and very comfortable chairs. What a lovely contrast for those of us living in the UK where, more often than not, if there are just two of you seeking a restaurant meal, you are obliged by the restaurant management to sit at a tiny, bare table (and one often tacky from previous meals), hardly big enough for two plates and glasses) – and on none too comfortable chairs to match. One other attraction of the Ana is that payment can be by credit card.

Ana’s a la carte menu is similar to that of all the better restaurants in Rab, and is very competitive in terms of price. My wife and I have eaten around the world, and for ordinary (or even special) evening dining we think the Ana is up there among the very best. Starters (including the exquisite local Dalmatian air dried ham and local melon) are generous, so one has to rein back if the intention is to work through the menu. The different fish dishes are superb – my wife and I had fish on three of our visits; the generous salads are so fresh and appealing and in our case seemed to have just been fetched from the nearby market and prepared instantly for table. Ana’s chefs know how to cook potatoes so we did not miss out on our favourite carbohydrate despite being on the Continent. The Blitva (Swiss Chard with tiny pieces of potato through the green vegetable) was beautifully prepared. I had veal in wine sauce on one occasion and I thought it was special. My wife tried a pizza on one of the evenings when the wood burning oven was not being operated. That was possibly why it was not up to the superb standard of all our other meals. Many of our fellow guests chose meat dishes which looked very appetising (and huge!) as they were carried past our table. Hot cherries and ice cream is a restaurant desert special and there is always the ubiquitous Crepes – always two - (Palatschinken) in their various incarnations. The service (for which there is no charge) was good to very good (on a very busy occasion, one of the usual waiters was not there and things were rather slow, although the wait for the food was worth it when it came).

We were on holiday and determined to treat ourselves so we ordered fairly generously. Even so our bill for what was essentially a three course meal with a glass of wine and coffee averaged below £40. In the UK in a similar restaurant (the same quality would be difficult to find) it would have been more like £60 - £70, especially given the 10 -12.5% British service charge.

Without any doubt the Ana made our stay in Rab something quite special and memorable and my wife and I remain very grateful to the management and staff of the restaurant for their welcome, care, attention and the great food. Incidentally, the other restaurants we visited were

(i) the Panorama, at the top of the incredibly steep side road which has Ana at the bottom, good with a superb outlook over the town and the Kvarna Gulf, but this restaurant does not take credit cards:
(ii) More, part of a chain apparently, said to be the best place to eat on Rab Island and beautifully located on the Supertarska Draga sundowner waterfront, but the chefs there do not know how to cook vegetables and it is disgraceful that in a place where vegetables are so good, bottled carrots are served with the mixed veg;

(iii) Riva, next to the Arbiana hotel and so on the one main road of the peninsula and opposite cruise ship moorings, where fish is also cooked superbly but where the management saw us newly arrived tourists (it was our first night) coming and served up a huge fish, far too big for two people, at an equally huge price;

(iv) Tapas Bar Kampanel, a bit precious, pricey, unimaginative and not very Croatian, but nothing at all wrong with the food especially, if like us after a long day away visiting the Plitvice Lakes, you are hungry; and

(v) the Marco Polo, quite nicely located on the Banjol side of the harbour with a partial view of the Gulf, which we visited twice; the first time we had fish (a huge sole) which was as good as we had eaten any where; and the second, when we ate meat and it was a semi disaster.

Ana was best.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ana also viewed

Rab Town, Rab Island
Rab Island, Kvarner Bay Islands
 
Rab Town, Rab Island
Rab Island, Kvarner Bay Islands
 

Been to Ristorante Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.