We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best experience in old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Rab

Konoba Rab
Kneza Branimira 3, Rab Town, Croatia
+385 (0) 51725666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Rab Town
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“best experience in old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got back from a week in Rab. We ate there three times, and we had been there before. As for what others recently wrote, translation is not always accurate, but this is the same in many other places over there, and it's to be anticipated.. Meat is good, and so is fish, and octopuss, and calamaries. As for dessert, I always have palacinke, which are good (try them with nuts, if jam is too plain for you..). Service is good (but...a 10 k tip...is less than 2 euros..). I'll be there agai next year!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We ordered a crab soup, fish soup arrived. When we told the waiter, he just shrugged his shoulders and left. Seafood risotto below average, basmati rice was used. Mixed salad was mainly cabbage-based. Our neighbors ordered a fish platter, hoping for promised sea bass and dorada. They mainly got mackerel (cheaper oily fish), when they asked the waiter, the shoulder shrugging was repeated. Probably didn't come at the best day, but this is not the best place in Rab town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fair and nice place in historical rab town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, located in the old town.
The waiter was really nice and polite, we gave her 10 k as tip :)
The plates were plenty abd cheap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Local fare, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited this Konoba on trip to Rab Island last week. Great local food, all freshly cooked (fish is the best thing to try!) Lovely friendly service. Great wine, very reasonable prices.

Shame it was so quiet - not many tourists on the island yet.

Recommended if you like local fare and culture.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travelled to Rab slightly out of season. Konoba Rab was one of the few restaurants open so we ate there a couple of times. Food was good and homely, with the lamb under a baking lid behind particularly tasty and good value. It has a good range of typically Croatian fare, e erythema we had was very tasty. The waiter was very friendly, speaking four languages comfortably. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Rab also viewed

Rab Island, Kvarner Bay Islands
Rab Island, Kvarner Bay Islands
 
Rab Town, Rab Island
Rab Town, Rab Island
 

Been to Konoba Rab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Rab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.