We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very reasonable. Great takeaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenny's Fish & Chips

Kenny's Fish & Chips
18 Doncaster Road, Conisbrough, Doncaster DN12 3AG, England
01709 863030
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and very reasonable. Great takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place is good...no doubt about it. Portions are big for a takeaway and the food is cooked fresh. I would say this place is the best around this area and you should try it.
Love the fact that they serve cream soda as well!! Personal thing to me but still completes the fish and chip experience!
Only thing that annoyed me was the fact that no fish were ready...it's was a Saturday afternoon and the 'plaice' was packed yet we still had to wait for fish to be cooked which took a while to be honest. No bother really and I will continue to use this plaice on a regular basis!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    19
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“best fish and chips in yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Been to chippy,s all over England and this one in Conisborough is the best its excellent service and very clean .
Everything is of the highest quality and cooked to everyones tastes.
If you do not want to dine inside the outside shop is just as good with the same cooked fresh fish to order and all at the same quality

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Did Ashleighlauren go to the same place we did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were a party of around 50. The 3 course meal was served hot and delicious. Admittedly there were delays between courses, but one would surely expect that - if that many people came to my house for a 3 course meal, particularly one which was freshly cooked and not, as dining out at that price range, is usually served i.e., pre-prepared and "nuked"- there would be a little wait! The girls were friendly and very helpful and the entertainment - TCB completed a very pleasant evening and a very full tummy!

All in all a very pleasant experience and I would happily go back there!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I don't believe the majority of reviews on here are good !
Where to start?
My grandparents flew over from Spain to celebrate their wedding anniversary with the family, and as there were a lot of us we rang up days before to let them know there would be a minimum of 16.
When we were showed to the table we saw that the staff had put a Happy Anniversary banner down which was lovely and set good expectations.
The male manager was very friendly, however iv never seen a bunch of more miserable staff!! All of the young waitresses were very rude, never smiled once, and looked as though they would much rather be somewhere else.
We ordered as 5 separate families. Not so hard to figure out.
One of the families had starters, but the rest of the party were not even asked if they want their meals at the same time, which they should have been.
On the receipt it says the time of order, which was 1 hour 30 minutes before the mains were out.
I understand there were a lot of us, but 1) the restaurant was pretty much empty, and 2) it was only fish and chips! Not difficult and not like every person had a different meal.
When we were sat waiting, one of us caught the eye of a waitress, and with a dirty look and attitude she said "it's coming now!"
Then it took 3 waitresses about 10 minutes to figure out what food was where, when the different family names were written on the tickets. And again were very rude and impatient.
At the end of the table there was a 5 week old baby in a pram, in which instead of walking the few steps around, another waitress passed drinks over her, which were dripping! Thank god it wasn't hot drinks.
When we had all finished and were getting ready to finally leave, we remembered that with the senior meals came ice cream tea and coffee. I went to ask one of the waitresses who had her coat on and looked hurried to leave! We also had small children who were not asked if they wanted a desert. We had to chase down waitresses for extra drinks.
It then took 15 minutes stood next to the till until we could pay. If you were short staffed maybe the girl in the coat should have waited until her table was happy before she rushed off home.
The manager did bring out two complimentary bottles of champagne, which was very generous however money knocked off the meal would have been a better idea. A bit of advice ... Train the staff better ! And service is supposed to be with a smile!
Also, £1.50 for a side of garden peas is just stupid!
The fish and chips were nice, but portion sizes small and pricey,and not worth the hour and half wait.
Better preparation next time you get a booking maybe ?! Not that we will come again, nor will we recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

just returned from Kenny,s having being told how good it was
we was that way out and we called to have our dinners. we found a table, sat down and it was not long , when our orders was taken, we ordered pots of tea which came before our meal, so we thought our meals would shortly follow . when our meals did arrive our tea had gone when I told the girl she was very understanding and brought us some hot water thinking that our teas was cold at first I thought a beautiful restaurant what a shame. the meal was brilliant and I enjoyed every bite. the waitress must of told her manger and he came to the table and said let me fetch you more teas and he could not have been more pleasant and polite you think im complaining well no im not the food was brilliant and so enjoyable , the staff was amazing and could not do enough for you and very good vaule for your money the place is spotless and the toilets are so clean all that's missing is the red carpet will recommend to all my friends and will call again

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny's Fish & Chips also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Conisbrough, Doncaster
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Kenny's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenny's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.