We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Westwood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always Great ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Have attended two weddings in past two months in the Westwood and a few in the past 4 years,Hotel is top class,The food is always brilliant and plentyfull,Always a great atmosphere in the function room .Great venue Great staff Great residents bar.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    191
    64
    25
    8
See reviews for
172
258
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Firstly the positive things about my stay, the staff where extremely friendly, the food was really amazing - the full Irish breakfast was cooked fresh when ordered and was very tasty. I also had an evening meal of salmon and mash was melt in the mouth. Location was fine easy to walk into the city. The room was clean however it is in the room my disappoint lies I did book a superior room which turned out to be 2 beds pushed together! You couldn't lie in the middle of the bed as the seams of both mattress was sticking up so I feel it was a waste of money booking a superior room.. Also the iron wasn't working and the hair dryer got so warm when I was drying my hair that I had to wrap a hand towel around it so not to burn my hand. Which is extremely dangerous

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here a few times and it has been 100% consistant. Fantastic staff with great food. The rooms are perfect and immacuate. I have stayed here for weddings and business and on both sides of the scale I can not recommend this place highly enough. It may be a little walk into the city...but its more than worth it!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family stayed three nights and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, meeting all our needs. We arrived after a transatlantic flight and nervous rookie drive on the left side of the road. There was a wedding reception going on, but we found peace and quiet in one of the Family rooms. The room was clean, stocked and ready for my family of 4 (2 teens). We were expecting a tight fit, but the room was spacious and there was plenty of navigating space. The hotel restaurant was good and we found the entire staff to be helpful and friendly, eager to please. The location was slightly out of the city, but was a great launching point to go up to Connemara for the day. City was very short drive or less than 10 euro taxi. Parking was limited the night of the wedding, but available. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed once again at the Westwood Hotel in Galway. This is a really nice and relaxing place to stay our room was very comfortable and unlike a lot of hotels beds we have slept on it was huge and so cosy!
The staff are fantastic here each one nicer than the other and couldn't do enough to help you. The food in the bar is really good and a nice selection. The only negative was the breakfast and as every thing else about the hotel is so good this was so bad so much so that we cancelled the remaining breakfasts we had ordered for our other 2 days. There was no excuse for it as there were only four other people in the dining room. I ordered a vegetarian breakfast and after a long wait out came a full Irish then after another very long long wait out came the burnt offering I had expected sauteed potatoes, tomatoes, mushrooms et al well it seems like everything was lopped into the deep fat fryer and what should have been sauteed potatoes was economy wedges for want of a better description which were burnt as was every thing else I it was inedible so I sent it back "would you like anything else came the reply" mmm not likely !!! I did complain at the desk but naturally heard no more. I would stay again but definately without breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Having had a fantastic experience for our wedding reception in Nov 2010, we decided to return to the Westwood for our baby's christening in Feb 2014...we had high expectations and yet again these were exceeded! All staff we encountered were again efficient, friendly and helpful. They provided finger food and tea and coffee free of charge! The quality and quantity of the food was very impressive, this included sandwiches, chicken goujons, potato wedges and samosas. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed with a 2 & 5 yr old in oct 13 as part of a Halloween package, we got a bargain the hotel staff we so nice and so so helpful with everything, very kid orientated.

I couldn't say anything bad about the hotel it self and will for sure visit again!maybe only downfall is its quite a pain to get in and out to the city center! I didn't visit the pool or gym so i cant comment but i think they were away from the hotel in a different building

ps beds were so comfy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.