We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Westwood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family stayed three nights and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, meeting all our needs. We arrived after a transatlantic flight and nervous rookie drive on the left side of the road. There was a wedding reception going on, but we found peace and quiet in one of the Family rooms. The room was clean, stocked and ready for my family of 4 (2 teens). We were expecting a tight fit, but the room was spacious and there was plenty of navigating space. The hotel restaurant was good and we found the entire staff to be helpful and friendly, eager to please. The location was slightly out of the city, but was a great launching point to go up to Connemara for the day. City was very short drive or less than 10 euro taxi. Parking was limited the night of the wedding, but available. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    191
    64
    25
    8
See reviews for
172
258
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cashel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed once again at the Westwood Hotel in Galway. This is a really nice and relaxing place to stay our room was very comfortable and unlike a lot of hotels beds we have slept on it was huge and so cosy!
The staff are fantastic here each one nicer than the other and couldn't do enough to help you. The food in the bar is really good and a nice selection. The only negative was the breakfast and as every thing else about the hotel is so good this was so bad so much so that we cancelled the remaining breakfasts we had ordered for our other 2 days. There was no excuse for it as there were only four other people in the dining room. I ordered a vegetarian breakfast and after a long wait out came a full Irish then after another very long long wait out came the burnt offering I had expected sauteed potatoes, tomatoes, mushrooms et al well it seems like everything was lopped into the deep fat fryer and what should have been sauteed potatoes was economy wedges for want of a better description which were burnt as was every thing else I it was inedible so I sent it back "would you like anything else came the reply" mmm not likely !!! I did complain at the desk but naturally heard no more. I would stay again but definately without breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Having had a fantastic experience for our wedding reception in Nov 2010, we decided to return to the Westwood for our baby's christening in Feb 2014...we had high expectations and yet again these were exceeded! All staff we encountered were again efficient, friendly and helpful. They provided finger food and tea and coffee free of charge! The quality and quantity of the food was very impressive, this included sandwiches, chicken goujons, potato wedges and samosas. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed with a 2 & 5 yr old in oct 13 as part of a Halloween package, we got a bargain the hotel staff we so nice and so so helpful with everything, very kid orientated.

I couldn't say anything bad about the hotel it self and will for sure visit again!maybe only downfall is its quite a pain to get in and out to the city center! I didn't visit the pool or gym so i cant comment but i think they were away from the hotel in a different building

ps beds were so comfy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very impressed at location and great value. Checked in late and getting room service for food no problem from friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was top class with great service. Superiour rooms very nice with lots of room. Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Westwood for a wedding and had an amazing experience. The meal on the eve of the wedding was very good but have to say the wedding meal was terrific we were amazed to be offered more Sea Bass if we wanted.
The staff were very helpful ,courteous and friendly could not have wished for more. Loved the open fire in the dining room on a cold winters day it created a special atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here while attending a wedding in the hotel. Really good experience from first arrival. Room was standard hotel room, bed was massive. The food was excellent at the wedding. the lobby was very cosy also with a fire going in one corner. The lady that seemed to be going around making sure everybody was ok was very nice and she was on hand again the next morning at breakfast seeing to everybodys needs. The breakfast room was very cosy also with another fire in there. there was a great selction of food for breakfast. whatever you could think of for breakfast they had it. The hotel is at the edge of Galway city but Id imagine it loses business from the address not mentioning Galway city for anybody that's unfamiliar with the area. We will be recommending it though to everybody going to Galway. Tiny problem with our room key card not working properly, I did inform them of this on check out and I have no doubt they will fix it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.