We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Westwood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel, a short way out of town. Excellent staff who really go out of their way to help. The food in the restaurant, both breakfast and especially dinner is fantastic, and thats coming from someone who eats to live not lives to eat. The bar staff are always on top of the game, and its a great place to relax after a day at the races. The rooms are of a good standard, very clean, the beds are massive, with plenty of room in the bathrooms. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Whip26,

Many thanks for your very positive review of your time here with us at The Westwood.

It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments, in particular your comments in relation to our staff, our resturaunt, our rooms, and of course, our bar. Should you choose to return to Galway, for whatever reason in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back again,, and can assure you of the very best of all our services.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    191
    64
    25
    8
See reviews for
172
258
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went to the Westwood House bar for a drink after the Galway Races. This place was recommended to us by a taxi driver. Good service, not too busy (unlike all the places in the center at this time, which were absolutely packed)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Emilia_Kor,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed our bar. A reccomondation from a taxi driver is always a good sign, and Im glad to see we didn't dissappoint.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Following a day at the Galway races we bedded down at WW Hotel. Front desk was EXTREMELY helpful and happy to be there, room was good sized and quite clean, bathrooms were very nice despite the low water pressure. Overall it was a decent way to wind down a busy day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear DoctorKam,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Westwood.

I have noted your very positive comments in relation to our fornt desk team, and our bedrooms, and have passed them on to all the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, maybe for the races next year!!!

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Six of us have just returned from Galway.the hotel is extremely clean and the service was excellent.the food in the restaurant is excellent value and first class. Everyone is very helpful and can't do enough for you,we would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go for our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear sue_farrell,

Thany you for your review of your groups stay over raceweek with us here at The Westwood.

Your comments in relation to our service, staff, and our food are very kind indeed and have been passed on to all our team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at the Westwood House for three nights, but upon arrival, we were told the hotel had overbooked reservations due to a wedding, and there was no room for us. They graciously contacted a neighboring property the "Five-Star" Glenloe Abbey Hotel, paid our taxi fare to the hotel and whatever the difference in rates would be. I truly appreciate that level of customer service, however, I would NOT recommend Glenloe Abbey to anyone. While the grounds are lovely, the hotel itself is on the market to be sold and needs a major refurb. Also it lacked air conditioning during the heatwave Ireland was experiencing, which made me regret even further that I wasn't at the Westwood House. I can't help but think Westwood would've offered a much more comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Ms Wanderlust4,

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologise that we had cause to book you out to another hotel upon your arrival. We do not overbook the hotel to such an extent that we envisage having to move reservations to another property but unfortunately and due to extenuating circumstances this was the case with your booking. As a matter of policy we always try where possible to source a hotel in the immediate area and of at least as good a quality as our own. Glenlo Abbey is rated 5 Star to our 4 and thus we felt you would be pleased with its quality. They have commenced a refurbishment programme since recently changing hands so I am sure the issues you noted upon your stay will be addressed. Again please accept our apologies for having to move your booking which as I say is not our usual standard.

Kind regards
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful, tip notch hotel! We had an extra large room with air conditioning, which was important during a very warm summer for Ireland. The hotel was not within walking distance of town, but the friendly front desk attendant was extra helpful in detailing things to do in Galway and steering us toward parking areas. Good restaurant, beautiful furnishings and friendly staff made this a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Jamie R,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed our services, in particular our rooms, food, and staff,, and I have passed your comments on to all the team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I held our wedding reception here in April 2013. Most of our guests also stayed in the hotel with us. We can honestly say that we couldn't fault one single thing about this hotel - Dave and his team were so accommodating a looked after us perfectly on the day and in the run up to it. Our family and friends have all commented on the fantastic food, service and staff - in particular at how our little people guests were looked after even if they made a bit of a food mess! Thank you to Dave and his team for giving us a stress free and most enjoyable wedding day. Best regards, Martina & John

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear JohnMartinaC,

Many thanks for your review of your recent 'Big Day' with us here ar The Westwood.

As you can imagine, weddings are a very important part of our business mix, so it is particularly encouraging to read such high praise. It was indeed our pleasure to be part of your big day, and to be able to take care of all your invited family and friends.

Once again, many many thanks for your comments. Wishing ye both many happy and healthy years together.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.