We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Westwood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belmullet, Ireland
1 review
“really great helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would recommend this hotel, while not flashy or ultra modern it is comfy (a wee bit old fashioned but ok) and has all the extras that you would expect in a good hotel (including interactive tv/ free internet etc) and more than that from the first contact with staff you feel at home. The staff go out of there way to be friendly and helpful and went over and above to make my trip a success. They even gave me extras on my 'delivered to the room but still piping hot' breakfast. Soooo lovely. I would definitely stay again.
Staff here if you want a clean decent room, good tv options, warm local irish friendly staff who do all they can to help and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear JOJOmc,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments such as yours, in particular those comments relating to our breakfast, tv and wifi, and of course our staff who are the backbone of our business.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    191
    64
    25
    8
See reviews for
172
258
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Superior room is spacious. Good breakfast and a nice location that is away from the city. The staff was friendly and everything handled in a quick manner. I would stay here again. The pub is also good and provided us with a bucket of ice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear IIIinirog70,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed all of our services, from our spacious rooms, our breakfast, our bar, and not least our staff. I trust you will have happy memories of your trip to Galway for years to come.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two nights here. First night was perfect, however, the second night, about 12:30am, the fire alarm went off....and again at 12:45...and again at 1:00am. We were told to stay in our rooms so we did, but only after walking up and down the halls to make sure we weren't going to die in a fire or from smoke inhalation. After being woken up and having our hearts racing for some time, we managed to get back to sleep.
The next morning, while checking out, we asked what had happened and were merely told it was a malfunction. No offers for a free night or a discount for the inconvenience.
Be aware that your GPS might not get you to the hotel either. We ended up in a dead end neighborhood a few blocks down the road.
The only saving grace to this hotel was the breakfast....which was fantastic. However, since a tour bus had stayed here the same night we did, we were told that we weren't allowed to take hot food from the buffet, however, we were allowed to order food and wait for it. Not the best customer service in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear m s,

Many thanks for your review of your stay @ The Westwood. Firstly let me apologise for the issues encountered with the fire alarm during the 1st night of your stay and which caused you a disturbed nights sleep. We did indeed have an issue which caused the bells to sound on a number of occasions that morning and I regret that it took us some time to get to the root of the issue and to resolve the matter.

I have double checked the satnav co-ordinates on our website personally this morning and all seems to be in order so I cannot explain you not arriving at us as planned.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast and will discuss the matter of the hot breakfast with our Breakfast Supervisor Catriona. We do offer a hot buffet to our tour guests as they prefer this option for ease of service and choice and offer our other guests the option of freshly prepared plated hot breakfasts - that said if you preferred to dine from the hot buffet whilst it was available that certainly should have been accommodated.

If you are ever back in Galway please feel free to contact me direct via generalmanager@westwoodhousehotel.com and I will endevour to make up for the inconvenience of the disturbed first nights stay.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Westwood. The service desk went out of their way to accomodate us and helped us book a day tour of Connamara and even had the bus pick us up at the hotel so we didn't have to drive into City Centre and pay all day for parking.
Breakfast was really great, bar food was good, although there was no live music on the evening we were there.
Only bad thing was the wifi was so weak we had to go down to the lobby to get reception, but then there were lovely sunrooms to sit in so that made it pleasant in spite of the inconvenience!
Not located in City Centre but price was great and location was ideal for access to Connamara and to the Motorway when we departed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor didn't have good wifi service, but not certain if 1st floor did or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Amy K,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

Your comments in relation to our wifi signal have been taken note of and it is currently under review with a view to upgrading. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all the rest of our services, from our reception, to our rooms, and in particular our breakfast.

Should you be returning to Galway at any time in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back and taqke care of you.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stay here when on business.very polite and professional staff.clean bright spacious rooms.location is ideal for my type of work.food is good quality,love the napkin burger.will be returning soon.keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear pathfinder06,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments, covering all aspects of our service, from the rooms, to the food, and our location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We attended a wedding recently at this hotel. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The food at the wedding was very well presented and hot. The beef was cooked to perfection and vegetables were not overcooked.The waiter at our table was very helpful and friendly and spoke english. When the waiters serve the food you alway have to watch they do not spill food on you or the table. These waiters were very careful and not a drop to be seen at our table. Very good service.The desert were tasty, so I am told, I do not eat deserts. The wine was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear maiya,

Many thanks for your review of your experience here in The Westwood.

As you can imagine, weddings are a very important part of our business mix here and it is always very encouraging to read such positive comments such as yours.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

Generall Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Westwood May 2013 and we felt it was just OK. The bed was dated and not comfortable and the room was dark and small. In the morning when my husband went searching for coffee he was told "instant coffee" but we noted they were serving Mimosas at the front desk as we were leaving. Room was clean but we did not think the bar area was very clean and opted not to eat at the hotel. We were glad we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Dla1956,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I apologise that you did not leave us with a more positive impression. Your comments regarding the bed in your room are quite unusual as we normally receive praise for the standard both of the beds themselves and the bedding also. Likewise I can only say that the comments in relation to your room itself and the bar are most unusual and if you would care to elaborate further on these then please do not hesiate to contact me further via generalmanager@westwoodhousehotel.com.

In relation to the coffee request I can only assume that you refer to the complimentary take away teas & coffees which we offer from a side table in the alcove between the dining room and hotel reception - this is indeed of the instant variety as it is a service we offer, free of charge, between 6:30am and 12 noon making it impractical to offer any other type from a self service area such as that on offer to us.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.