We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have spent my whole stay sitting on the balcony enjoying the wine and the views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Pascoli, Castelvecchio Pascoli Barga Lucca, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could have spent my whole stay sitting on the balcony enjoying the wine and the views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Before we even arrived at this wonderful hotel, we received an email welcoming us and informing us of our perks as platinum members. An upgraded room with a stunning balcony view of the valley and the town of Barga. The room was large and roomy as was the bathroom. Linens were crisp and the towels were huge and fluffy. Our welcome from the hotel was a local bottle of wine and a platter of delicious meats and cheeses. This hotel is remote but with a car the area is easily navigated. The breakfasts every morning were well worth waking up for as was the view from the patio where the breakfast took place. Everyone working at the hotel was pleasant and made us feel welcome. Day trips to Lucca, Pisa etc were not a problem and the drives thoroughly enjoyable. This is a great place to relax as well as explore the Tuscan hillside.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the rooms with a balcony overlooking the lovely town of Barga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Mum613,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa was enjoyable.
You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We are most pleased to learn this has transpired throughout.
We hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to Tuscany.

Sincerely,

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    159
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
103
239
12
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Get ready to use your navigation and use your patient hat because this place s in the middle of nowhere and very hard to find. We drove here from Venice and by the time we arrived in our rental car, I was about to sock my husband:)
The hotel, and pool area are gorgeous. You must wear a swim cap if you are going to swim. The hotel will sell one for 2 Euros. The hotel is peaceful and clean, but rooms are very small.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear 3Guapas,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and description to our property and I am very delighted to see that your stay was generally satisfactory.

We hope that you will be back very soon in Tuscany and that you will choose our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 were upgraded to 2 suites because my husband is platinum elite for life. These suites were huge ( 3 large areas: family room with TV, bedroom and bathroom), beautiful, clean, comfortable, and had amazing views! The staff was fabulous. We didn't pack sunscreen and they brought us some. We met three American interns and we had fun getting to know them. I took the cooking class and it was amazing. We made pasta, bread & salad and I was able to replicate the recipes when I got back to US. The chef was so nice and the interpreter was so helpful!! They fed us wine and appetizers as we cooked. Then we sat down for dinner and ate all the foods we made earlier, so delicious!! Awesome cooking class for anyone. My girls spent day at the spa getting massages and pedicures. They loved it!! The spa area has great indoor pool and amazing showers with 5 different treatments - must try it! Also staff helped us with dinner reservations and provided maps for exploring Barga. We stayed 5 days and loved every minute of it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear mknew,
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and description to our property and I am very delighted to see that your stay was satisfactory.

Your comments are very valuable and we already shared them with our team.

Thank you for choosing Renaissance and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Tuscany.

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We slept with the door to the terrace open every night...the air was cool and overlooking the valley was spectacular...constantly changing because of the clouds and mountains. This is a Spa resort. The staff was amazing, particularly Sara, who helped us every day! If you stay here, you DEFINITELY need a car. The cab ride to Barga, which is a lovely old town with Duomo and fabulous restaurants, roundtrip is 20 euros! My only complaint about the hotel is they only have free WiFi in the lobby. Seems to me hotels of this caliber should over free WiFi in the rooms!

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room overlooking the valley...spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Moonbeams2010,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us here at the Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa .
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time as our guest.Please note that your opinion is very important for us and your review is shared with our team. I am glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Tuscany.
Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely
Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Superb location with staff that are outstanding. Makes a largish hotel feel very intimate and welcoming. The GM George is really nice, hands on guy and all of his staff, without exception really try ( and succeed) to make your experience special. The rooms are fine. Comfortable beds and well equipped. The views across the valley are just something else. Food was great and drinks were served in large portions (thanks Simone!)
It truly is a pleasure to stay somewhere where job number one is to ensure that your happiness is job#1

Room Tip: We had room 303. Great view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Thewilsonman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is such a pleasure to read your comments and we are so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.
Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.
Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

P.S. Many many thanks on behalf of our GM

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The view of Barga is the best feature of this hotel. Eating your breakfast on the terrase is a joy.

This hotel is part of Merriot and that is obvious. Lots of well-off American tourists. The breakfast is also a bit "american" with bacon, heinz tomatoo ketchup but also a few Italian specialities.

The spa is ok, but when you have seen the photos you risk beeing a little bit disapointed. It is not that big and not quite as stunning as the images suggest.

The "Navigators" (people in the reception) can help with information and tour suggestions. Ask for the walking directions to Barga for a nice one-hour hike throug the forest. That was our best experience staying at the hotel. You get even better views of the vally and you get to experience the charming city of Barga.

The hotel is a bit expensive and remember that you probably have to pay the "resort fee" on top of the listed price.

If you are looking for a charming and very "Italian" place, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a long way from the reception and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
dear tausick,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us here at the Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time as our guest. We hope we see you again very soon!

Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Heavenly views, excellent food, very helpful staff! Our room had a balcony which provided us with picturesque days and nights overlooking Barga. We enjoyed all of the amenities that were offered and found this peaceful little luxury resort to be the jewel of our trip to Italy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear sherri c,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review after your recent stay at the Renaissance.

We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations.

Your comments about the hotel and staff are very important for us and are shared with our team members for encouragement and improvement.

We thank you for choosing the Renaissance and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Tuscany .

Yours sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, Castelvecchio Pascoli Barga Lucca, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, recently renovated, is situated within a 2000 hectares estate inside the greenest land of Tuscany, the Serchio Valley. The first Renaissance Resort in Tuscany is an iconic venue where classic and elegant Italian style meets the brand new Chic Design by Renaissance Hotels.Our luxury Tuscan Resort hosts 180 guest rooms, 65 of which have been beautifully restored into new Executive Rooms. There is everything for your meetings & events including 11 meeting rooms fully equipped with every amenity and our “Salone Pascoli “ , ready to host any event up to 900 persons.Step inside our Daniela Steiner Beauty Spa and our Wellness centre to pamper yourself or, if you need some action, we have any kind of sport facility from horseback riding to soccer fields.Whatever is your wish during your stay, at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa you will find the opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.