We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be beaten.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita il Ciocco, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Have just spent 3 days at this hotel for a wedding and words cannot describe how perfect it was. The staff could not do enough,facilities were 1st class and the weather was beautiful. hadnt checked out the hotel before I left so was the best surprise ever to see how amazing it was.views were to die for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    121
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
78
170
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano Marittima, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have stayed at The Ciocco many times over the years as it's location is second to none and there is no better place to "chill out".
The once family owned hotel is now operated by Renaissance/Marriot and things have improved
no end. The refurbed rooms and public areas have moved the hotel into the the class it should always have been and is now a true 4/5star operation.
The staff are now more polished with most now speaking English to a good standard.
A special mention to Elena at reception who has been there for years and as always goes out of her way to assist with any queries we have and has a really good knowledge of places to dine out with the resort.
Looking forward already to our next visit .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koekelberg, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel's infrastructure is good but not elaborate enough to be so isolated. Example only one restaurant open limits the dining options

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in the refurbished wing, in two modern and immaculately clean adjoining corner rooms (to accommodate parents and one child) on the second-floor. The rooms were faultless. Particularly enjoyed the freestanding Duravit bath tub. Our balcony overlooked the new outdoor pool, offering a vivid panorama of the surrounding mountains and villages and a postcard picture view of the medieval walled city of Barga.

The hotel staff are fantastic! Check-in and all our inquiries were handled courteously and professionally. It was a pleasure dealing with Antonia C., deserving of particular mention for her kind and friendly demeanour.

We booked a Spa package that included breakfast and dinner. We found this to represent excellent value. The breakfast on offer is a generous continental buffet (variety of breads, pastries, cereals, yogurts, local Chestnut honey, jams, cheeses and sliced cold-meats, dried and fresh fruit, nuts, six varieties of juice, coffee and potted tea). Eggs and pancakes can also be ordered for an extra charge. Dinner is served at La Salette, the hotel's formal a-la-carte restaurant and there are no restrictions on what you order from the menu or daily specials. Note that drinks and beverages are not part of the package price and charged separately. The dinner menu features local cuisine (beef is a speciality) prepared with seasonal produce from local suppliers. Waiting staff are happy to translate and explain (in good English) the various dishes and ingredients. My favourite: the soups (made from scratch) are superb! Note that simple green salads or vegetable side dishes do not figure in the menu but they are available on request. A highlight is watching the waiting staff prepare individual dressings for certain dishes at your table. A special performance that I can't wait to try out at home at my next dinner party.

I should mention that you can also order dinner (served at La Salette) from the room service or Nour Lounge menus if you prefer. The food on offer here is perhaps more familiar for Westerners and may suit the less adventurous diner, like our son who preferred to order simple pasta dishes or a hamburger and fries.

The Spa facilities include an new outdoor pool and an indoor pool (with shallow section for children) incorporating an area for lap swimming and an invigorating spa pool featuring an awesome upper back jet-spray. Comfy deck chairs, plush towels and swim caps provided. The adjacent sauna and solarium are very good facilities, well cleaned and maintained. There is also a fitness gym but we didn't try this. For extra pampering the Beauty Spa offers a range of treatments - prices are on the high side though, for example, 50 euro for a manicure!

If you have time you may like to take a walk. The hotel is located on 2000 hectares of countryside and farm land. We followed two walking trails to nearby villages through lovely woodland. The walk to Barga is just over an hour walking at a brisk pace. Keep a close eye on the trail signage so as not to make a wrong turn as we did (follow the red not the white arrows). If you want to walk one-way and take a taxi back, the cost from the hotel to the city of Barga is about 25 euro. Be aware that taxis need to be pre-booked.

A note about transport if like us you choose not to self-drive or rent a car. The cost from Barga-Gallicano station (approx. 7km away), the nearest stop to the hotel, is about 25 euro. The hotel can arrange your taxi and also taxi-transfers from Lucca for 80 euro and Pisa for 130 euro. To avoid possible miscommunication, it is advisable you get someone who is proficient in Italian to book on your behalf as we found only one taxi driver (Massimo) who spoke a little English. You might want to consider when planning your trip that the journey time whether travelling from Lucca or Pisa to the hotel by train or taxi is similar. The train fares are cheap, under 10 euro for an adult and the train service efficient and safe. However, if you have a lot of luggage or the train timetable does not suit your schedule, it may be more convenient to book a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with a view of Barga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We are in the middle of a four night stay at Il Ciocco and love it so much we couldn't wait until check-out to leave a review. This resort is incredible!

As others have noted, Marriott recently took over and has been conducting renovations. The Marriott website says it was renovated in Winter 2011, but that isn't entirely accurate -- the renovations are clearly still ongoing. That being said, our experience in the renovated portion of the hotel has been outstanding! Hard to say exactly how long the rest of the renovations will take -- I'd expect at least a couple of months, but the ongoing work hasn't been a distraction to us.

Check-in was seamless and we were given a renovated room with a beautiful view of the valley below. The room is fresh and tastefully furnished and the view from our balcony is stunning. Breakfast in the restaurant has been incredible each morning -- loads of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, pastries, eggs and bacon -- and was included as a Platinum benefit. Staff has been enthusiastic and helpful -- most speak good English and they have been gracious with us as we practice our Italian. They have gone out of their way to make our stay comfortable and to help us with planning visits to local restaurants and wineries.

The hotel is located just outside the town of Barga, and a few km from Lucca. We've taken day trips to Pisa and Sienna, and are headed to Cinque Terre this afternoon and Parma tomorrow. We've found this to be a perfect "home base" to explore the rest of Tuscany and other surrounding areas, though you'll certainly need a car to do so.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a renovated room, and get a view of the valley as well if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Einsiedeln, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and made the following observations:
We requested and were given one of the refurbished Executive rooms, kingsized bed, small balcony, facing the valley. This room type was confirmed prior to arrival, and check-in and check-out was smooth and helpful.
The room was quite nice and tastefully refurbished as lynx46 has described, and in our view on a par with similarly rated Renaissance hotels in the Marriott chain in Europe. One key item that we missed in the room was a waste bin, however.
We sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. Breakfast in the room was below average on one occassion with not all items as ordered for the healthy start selection, in the restaurant we found breakfast with a much wider selection. Lunch and dinner were good but not unforgettable. Considering the isolated location of the hotel, we were surprised of the limited onsite restaurant options (one restaurant).
The pool was closed and unrefurbished during our stay although the weather was warming up. After some back and forth with a manager we succeeded in getting two sunchairs to the pool area, and later an umbrella, however, the pool area stayed officially closed. We didn't quite understand why.
The onsite fitness area is spacy, pretty well equipped (Technogym).
People and service generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Here for a meeting with my husband. We booked a room with a king bed, but the reservations were mishandled and we were given a room with two twin beds. The beds are bolted to the wall, and so can't be pushed together. We can just hold hands from across the beds...how romantic. One staff member was great trying to help us, but another rolled her eyes and laughed at us.
Basic things in room lacking, like functioning lamps, empty Kleenex dispensers, and no way to control the temperature. If you are here for a conference, you are stuck here, so what reason do they have to try to help you? Even though we are paying an insane amount of money to stay here...if you have a choice, I can't see this place being worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Address: Localita il Ciocco, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, recently renovated, is situated within a 2000 hectares estate inside the greenest land of Tuscany, the Serchio Valley. The first Renaissance Resort in Tuscany is an iconic venue where classic and elegant Italian style meets the brand new Chic Design by Renaissance Hotels.Our luxury Tuscan Resort hosts 180 guest rooms, 65 of which have been beautifully restored into new Executive Rooms. There is everything for your meetings & events including 11 meeting rooms fully equipped with every amenity and our “Salone Pascoli “ , ready to host any event up to 900 persons.Step inside our Daniela Steiner Beauty Spa and our Wellness centre to pamper yourself or, if you need some action, we have any kind of sport facility from horseback riding to soccer fields.Whatever is your wish during your stay, at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa you will find the opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.