We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unaccomodating.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Pascoli, Castelvecchio Pascoli Barga Lucca, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unaccomodating.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Here for a meeting with my husband. We booked a room with a king bed, but the reservations were mishandled and we were given a room with two twin beds. The beds are bolted to the wall, and so can't be pushed together. We can just hold hands from across the beds...how romantic. One staff member was great trying to help us, but another rolled her eyes and laughed at us.
Basic things in room lacking, like functioning lamps, empty Kleenex dispensers, and no way to control the temperature. If you are here for a conference, you are stuck here, so what reason do they have to try to help you? Even though we are paying an insane amount of money to stay here...if you have a choice, I can't see this place being worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    159
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
103
239
12
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was at the same conference as doormouse2 - but luckily I got a refurbished room in the main building, facing the valley [see photo], with a balcony and beautiful bathroom with walk-in marble shower. The beds were duvet-covered; bathrobes and slippers provided. As noted, the weather was not cooperative, but once in a while there was sun. I'd been here twice before - but the takeover by Renaissance bodes very well. The place is being spruced up, the food is now excellent [when previously it had been mediocre]. Lots of vegetables, salads, various pastas; wonderful pastries and desserts and crispy bacon at breakfast [take a pass on the scrambled eggs]. The service is lovely. I did not take advantage of the Spa - but the whole place has the quality of a retreat, high above the surrounding country - just the place for a calm spa vacation. As a place for an international conference, it is a little too out-of-the-way. But as a relaxing destination or part of a European trip, it would be very pleasant. especially in better weather.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor in the front of the main building, overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I attended a recent conference based in this hotel. This is the second time I have been here for this purpose. The weather was truly atrocious as in 2008 and typical for this time of year. However, the time I had a beautiful room (405), although at the back of the hotel with no view. This didn't matter as the mist and rain meant that the view could not be seen from anywhere! The food was good and generous, the staff just as friendly as I remembered. The hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment and once complete will be very plush.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the main building. It is refurbished and should the be o rain, the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. The location was very picturesque but there really was nowhere to go on foot from the hotel. The common areas were spacious and suitable. The room was quite large as well, but the beds were tiny, as can be expected in Europe I suppose.

Upon check-in my roommate and I realized that they had given us a room with one bed (which was actually the two single beds pushed together). The reception quickly fixed the problem and gave us a new room. We had a shared balcony, but forgot to close the shutters the first night and were up with the sun. The bathroom was quite large, especially compared to the budget hotel I had stayed at in Florence.

The food was average. Some people raved about it, but to be honest I have had much better Italian food in small town Alberta and on the street in Florence, but again that may be due to the buffet nature of the conferece setting. That being said, I have had much much worse conference food. My biggest complaint was the timing of the meals. Dinner was served at 8pm and the coffee breaks really only had coffee so by dinner I was starving and actually sick to my stomach. In most other places you would have the option to go out and buy something next door or down the street, but not here.

The gym facilities would have been adequate had the room not been 30 + degrees. The doors were left open, I guess to try and cool the room, but without air conditioning in the middle of summer it was just not pleasant and almost impossible to work out.

Overall the hotel was quite nice and would make for a nice retreat if you really have no desire to walk anywhere or do anything except relax at a hotel. The highlight was probably sitting out on the patio in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We spent 2 weeks in Italy, covering Rome, Lucca, Pisa, Venice, Florence, Siena, Orvieto and various other smaller towns, but our stay in Il Ciocco was the most relaxing, wonderful, and memorable! All staff were very friendly, and the hotel GM went out of his way to make our stay memorable and comfortable. During our few days there, we would start each one with a beautiful view of the Castelvecchio valley below us, followed by a delicious buffet style breakfast. After a long day of exploring Tuscany, we loved returning to the serene Il Ciocco to relax, recharge, and later feast at the hotel's cozy restaurant (all food and wine offerings we tried were excellent!). In retrospect, Il Ciocco turned out to be the best place we stayed at, and we cannot wait to go back for a second visit especially after the remodels are finished (estimated early 2012). We highly recommend Il Ciocco for those looking for out-of-the-mainstream accommodations with great views, great service, and great food!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

It's remote, and a bit difficult to find, but worth it. We had a corner suite on the fifth floor, and from our wrap-around balcony, we had a glorious view of the mountains and little towns all around. They are in the process of renovation, so it was a bit noisy during the day, but very restful at night. We ate there three nights, and found the food to be excellent in the restaurant upstairs. Breakfast was consistently good. It was just charming, and they had good gluten-free breads and pastas for my husband. The service, from ALL the staff, was awesome. Marriott is making this into a Renaissance, and it will be spectacular, I'm certain. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a direct view of the mountains and valley. You don't want to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Situated in the mountains, the views from our balcony were unparalleled. Simply amazing. We were upgraded to a suite, which was very spacious. It had a foyer, living area with fireplace and comfortable club chairs and a sofa, desk, credenza with built in mini-bar/fridge, flat screened tv, large comfortable bed, french doors opening to a balcony with patio furniture, large bathroom and huge walk in closet. The room was a bit dated, but still lovely. The entire property is undergoing a renovation (please, please lose the horrid music in the elevator soon - think Chinese water torture). I believe Marriott is turning Il Ciocco into a Renaissance property. I hope they continue to keep their excellent pastry chef, as I had some of the most wonderful breakfast cakes & breads during our stay. Our dinner on the upstairs restaurant balcony was very romantic. Amazing views and delicious food. My seafood risotto was the best I had while in Italy, and of course, the house vino rosso was fabulous, as was the tiramisu. All staff we encountered during our stay were friendly & helpful. Congratulations to Marriott on a great property purchase. It may be remote, but it's a really lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, Castelvecchio Pascoli Barga Lucca, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, recently renovated, is situated within a 2000 hectares estate inside the greenest land of Tuscany, the Serchio Valley. The first Renaissance Resort in Tuscany is an iconic venue where classic and elegant Italian style meets the brand new Chic Design by Renaissance Hotels.Our luxury Tuscan Resort hosts 180 guest rooms, 65 of which have been beautifully restored into new Executive Rooms. There is everything for your meetings & events including 11 meeting rooms fully equipped with every amenity and our “Salone Pascoli “ , ready to host any event up to 900 persons.Step inside our Daniela Steiner Beauty Spa and our Wellness centre to pamper yourself or, if you need some action, we have any kind of sport facility from horseback riding to soccer fields.Whatever is your wish during your stay, at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa you will find the opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy/Province Of Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.