We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, honestly priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Pillory Hill, Noss Mayo PL8 1EE, England
+44 1752 872392
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Noss Mayo
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Swan Inn is a great British pub where you can get a bite to eat throughout the day. With fabulous views over the River Yealm estuary there is no better place to relax and enjoy a glass of your favorite tipple. Our menu is proper pub grub with a varied and seasonal offer. We are not a fine dining outlet with overpriced and undersized portions but offer good English grub at fair prices. We love to cater for family's and welcome man's best friend inside provided he is clean and well behaved. If you want your food and drink dropped into your mouth through a solid gold pipette then look elsewhere.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, honestly priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is what the owners promise and The Swan certainly lives up to it! We ate here twice during the Christmas week and the meat and fish dishes were both great. There are some great local beers, pub games and good background music. A welcome change to the larger Ship Inn across the creek, less expensive and with fab views of the Yealm estuary.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    40
    14
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Had great supper here. Food freshly prepared, tasty and good value for money. Excellent fish cakes crammed full of flavour and fish! Worth the hike down the hill to the friendly welcome for us and dog!. Thank you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice feel, good food, nice veiws, staff were very good, locals were very nice, also has a dart board.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good down to earth pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Whilst on holiday we stopped off at the Swan after a long walk along the coast, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. On both occasions we just stopped for a few drinks and sat outside with the locals who were there, we found them a good bunch to have a chat to as we wanted to know about the area.
We noticed a few meals being eaten and they all looked very tasty, look forward to eating there next time we visit, all in all the Swan seemed a good honest pub which is what we like.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmonde
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very friendly staff. We didn't eat on this occasion, but have in the past and found it very tasty. Eating outdoors is available which if one has children is helpful. I really don't have anything negative to say about The Swan Inn.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Newton Ferrers, Devon
 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.