We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much quiter than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walkers Arms Hotel

Walkers Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walkerville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walkers Arms Hotel
36 North East Road, Walkerville, South Australia 5081, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Walkerville B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much quiter than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at the Walker's Arms last night for a wedding anniversary. I read all of the reviews and noted the noise level as a major issue. Well, for a warm, Tuesday night on busy NE Road, this was one of the quietest rooms we've ever stayed in. Maybe we were lucky but the clean, modern room was silent. I couldn't fault the accommodation, the buffet was excellent and the beer garden very open and inviting. Maybe weekends might be noisier (ask for room nine or ten if staying deluxe) but for our experience, all was fine.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms - book 9 or 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
9
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Arrived after 6pm so had to check in in the gaming room!!! And the staff acted more like bouncers than standard check in folk. The room itself is fantastic - this is Hyatt/Hilton stuff. New, 42" plasma, roomy, bright, awesome bathroom, very comfy bed. And all this for a Wotif special of $99 (I rang the hotel to book direct and they wanted $150!). But its in a pub in not the best part of town. Bit weird really. Also went for the buffet tonight - real value at $25. Massive choice and I did 4 visits!!! Complimentary beer is a thimble of Carlton draught! You explain!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendig
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

It is nearly 11pm on a Monday night and the doof doof music from the bar is thundering into my room Between that, the crowd noise and the massive screen that blinks light even through the curtains, the chances of sleeping are about zero. As far as I can tell, there is absolutely no sound proofing on the rooms that overlook the nightclub/beer garden.

The room is great, but overall the experience is miserable.

Room Tip: Ask for one not over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walkerville hotels

South Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Sorry, but 11 chips, 2 small fillets of John Dory, and a small bowl of tossed greens for 19 bucks does not tickle my fancy!
The smorgasbord? Now, that is a different story. Stick to that, the other menu is a rip off.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here the night, as we had our staff xmas dinner at the buffet.
Convenient location, it meant we didn't have to drive home.
Hotel has just won best beer garden in Australia!
New, funky, fresh, clean, and non smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room facing the hills, as the side that overlooks the beer garden can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I spent an evening here with some of my closest girlfriends, we sipped well made cocktails and enjoyed a meal or two or three in the buffet! What a great selection of different foods and the donut machine!!! WOW.
I will be back! Do yourself a favour and dine in the buffet, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I decided to give the Walkers Arms a go with a group of friends on a Sunday afternoon. I'd heard some good things about this award winning pub, therefore had pretty high expectations. Unfortunately though, our experience was quite a let-down. The staff was inexperienced, vague and less than helpful. The food was expensive, tasteless and below average, and the worst thing was being told at 7.15pm (after having been sitting in the Beer Garden for over 6 hours and spending 100's of dollars between us), that we had 15 minutes to finish our drinks and leave as the dress code was enforced at 7.30pm and a few of my friends were wearing thongs (although we were all presentable and well-dressed). It was a 31 degree day and we were in the beer garden. If we had been in the restaurant, I could have understood why thongs were deemed inappropriate, but in the beer garden where the majority of patrons were wearing thongs on a hot summer’s day, it seemed ridiculous to me that so many were asked to leave. This "dress code" issue literally cleared out half of the beer garden, and for what??? To lose money? I can assure the Walkers Arms Hotel that we would have stayed for another couple of hours had we not been asked to leave, and continued to spend money. Not only did they lose money due to the silly "dress code", but never again will myself or my friends return for the poor service or unsatisfactory food. Pubs on the Parade, Norwood are so much nicer than The Walkers Arms. They have more atmosphere, character and a higher class of patrons, yet there is no “dress code” enforced at 7.30! I would not recommend the Walkers Arms to anyone.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkers_Arms_Hotel, Manager at Walkers Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Hello Bee O,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Walkers Arms Hotel. It is difficult for management to identify a suitable dress code that appeases everyone’s standards, nor offends anyone. We also have to take into consideration patron safety, as the affects of possible broken glass can cause significant injury.

Following your feedback, we are currently reviewing our dress code standards to ensure that patrons who are dressed in neat casual attire, with thongs are accepted at the venue.

This is a decision coming into summer, that we have identified as an important issue as we want our patrons to have the best possible experience in our venue. Neat casual attire with thongs is now considered acceptable.

We’re disappointed that your had a poor experience with your meals, as we do pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and this is reflected on over 3000 covers per week. This will be investigated and we do appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will reconsider visiting the Walkers Arms Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Walkers Arms Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walkers Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkers Arms Hotel

Address: 36 North East Road, Walkerville, South Australia 5081, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Walkerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkers Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Walkers Arms Hotel to your Saves list