We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret little tropical gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arabella Garden Inn to your Saves list
Arabella Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 smith Lane Wollongbar, Wollongbar, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly The Garden Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wollongbar
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A secret little tropical gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We based ourselves here for several days and explored the Northern Rivers. Rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. All rooms had pleasant tropical garden view. The gardens needed some maintenance but a lot of work was being undertaken while we were there. Alstonville is a pleasant walk along what I would describe as a country path - very nice. A small shopping centre and tavern at Wollongbar is virtually at your door. It was a nice small motel where you can base yourself to enjoy Ballina, Lismore and the Byron Bay hinterland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What wonderful people. Nothing a problem. Rooms are well appointed with everything you need. Lovely garden patio outside the room. Breakfast more than ample and reasonably priced. Definitely will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in early January. Room very comfortable. Bathroom spacious. Garden outlook so relaxing. Relief managers very friendly & helpful. Well appointed room, furnishings, mini bar. Very peaceful nights sheep too - no highway noise.

Our stay was great. Thankyou.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Rather than staying in Ballina as a stopover on the way from Sydney to Brisbane, we chose this motel in nearby Wollongbar on the basis of excellent reports here and elsewhere. We were in no way disappointed. We found it easily and our first impressions were of overall neatness and the lovely garden surrounding the motel. When we checked in we did so to the profound apologies of the proprietor at reception, because they were in the middle of a power blackout. Using torches provided we unpacked the car, and then went off to nearby Alstonville, hoping that the power would be on there and we could find somewhere for dinner - which was the case.
By the time we arrived back at the motel, the power was restored and we could fully appreciate our large and lovely room. Extensive use of decorative wood, including a superb polished floor and high quality furnishings made the room very inviting. It was also exceptionally clean. We slept really well and were able to continue our journey North well refreshed. We both agreed that this was the traditional motel at its very best - a real gem and obviously run by caring people.
We'll drive North again in 2013, and this will certainly be one of our stops!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The proprietors/managers were very helpful and informative. The room was very clean and all of the utensils/equipment were in excellent working order. The room contained both air conditioning and a ceiling fan. As it was in the low 30's temperature wise both of these were a welcome relief from the heat. Ordered a cooked breakfast and this came on time and was affordable, well prepared and tasty. The hotel is located close to small bunch of shops with eateries and mini supermarket and pub. Only thing missing was a pool at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I have stayed here twice now and we are booked for a third visit soon. The spacious and airy rooms are very private, with large comfortable beds. These are the cleanest rooms I have ever experienced, and for the price - the largest as well. My family (2 Adults and 2 Teenagers) spent a wonderfull 3 nights here last Xmas, very comfortably. The new owners are just as friendly and accommodating which makes for a truly relaxing visit. The Tavern is right next door as is the Convenience Store. Wollongbar is only a stones throw from Alstonville which is also a beautiful spot, although I would stay here rather than either Alstonville or Lismore. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place is stunning, don't judge a book by its cover, although it does look good on the outside the rooms are huge, the bathrooms are huge and tastefully decorated with a great outlook from the verandah.

Fully stocked mini bar, excellent breakfast, plenty of parking, a/c for heating and cooling. The King bed made for a brilliant sleep. Local hotel next door ( great meals) and a Chinese restaurant is in the local shops with a two minute walk.

A hidden treasure.............try it you won't be disappointed. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Any room is good although they do have two spa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollongbar
3.2 mi away
Alstonville country cottages
Alstonville country cottages
#1 of 1 in Alstonville
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
9.0 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites
Ramada Hotel & Suites
#5 of 18 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
7.7 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#2 of 7 in Lismore
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alstonville Settlers Motel
Alstonville Settlers Motel
#1 of 4 in Alstonville
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Garden Inn

Address: 1 smith Lane Wollongbar, Wollongbar, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly The Garden Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongbar
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wollongbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabella Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just another motel.Beautiful,uniquely stylish and designed for your comfort,set in tranquil,tropical surrounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arabella Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.