We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close really early” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Tahoe Ice Arena

South Tahoe Ice Arena
1176 Rufus Allen Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530 542-6262
Improve this listing
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Attraction Details
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Close really early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was fun, but they closed early and we didn't get to skate very much. It was not worth it for the $80 it costs to get up their with the lift. I woudl advise you to get there early in the day so that your money is worth it. We ended up hanging out at the bar instead even though our whole trip was revolved around the ice skating. 8-(

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, HI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun but Missing Something?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is very cold in there. The ice is kept in good condition. Lack of authority/supervision is nowhere to be found. Like some have said here, it is free for all skating. I witnessed an adult skater get tripped up and hurt from a child who had no business being out on the ice.

The other disappointing factor here is they have no specific section roped off or coned off for little kids. My daughter is seven and that was the first time she ever ice skated. I had to take her out in the open area to teach her how to balance and skate. They DO NOT have trainers for kids/beginners. That is a must at all ice rinks. They did have four or five BUCKETS stacked upside down to use as a training but that is not safe at all.

The price was reasonable. The snackbar wasn't opened at the time of visit. Parking is free in the area which is shared with a indoor pool and park.

I wouldn't recommend this place for beginners or young kids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Fun for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice rink, reasonable price. Kids able to skate for 2 hours. Walking distance from the hotel and ski lifts. Ample area for parents to watch kids skate.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

ice arena is very cold, but i guess its supposed to be. be sure to dress in layers, but its a nice place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My daughter loves to go there to ice skate. The only thing I did not like was that no one seemed to be supervising the skaters. Some people were going the wrong way, but no one stopped them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Tahoe Ice Arena also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to South Tahoe Ice Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Tahoe Ice Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added South Tahoe Ice Arena to your Saves list