We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to skate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Tahoe Ice Arena

South Tahoe Ice Arena
1176 Rufus Allen Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530 542-6262
Improve this listing
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Attraction Details
Mountain View, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice place to skate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had always been skating on the rollers but never on the ice. Though this was the first time i was skating on the ice, i loved the rink and it was fun being around there. The charge was only $9 with $3 skate rentals.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Do this, not that!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

$20 at the Heavenly Village teeny tiny crowded ice rink, or $7 at the huge hockey sized ice arena? Say no more.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great hidden surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've been to Tahoe for 3 years but this was the first time we tried the local ice arena. This is not the ice rink in Heavenly Village. This is the city ice rink. The kids loved it so much we went twice. I think they liked it better than skiing, which was great since the snow wasn't very good later in the week. You can rent skates and skate during their open skate times. Huge rink with big window to the trees outside. We skated while a snow storm hit so we could see the snow falling the whole time we skated. Very clean, big snack area, good restrooms, bleachers for watching inside by the rink, and crates/barrels to help young, new skaters. There was hardly anyone there both times we went. Very affordable too. I think it only cost $10 to rent skates for adults. You can skate the whole time during the open skate. Bundle up though. It's colder inside the rink than outside. We even needed hoods/hats as adults. The kids wore their ski helmets, although the rink has free helmets for kids to use too. Great alternative to skiing or nice way to take a break.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

yoiu pay one time and you can come back anytime. Its a central location too, to make a break for lunch or dinner

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average rink, very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

$20 for adults, $15 for kids. Rink was about 30 feet in diameter - small enough to grade with a riding lawnmower, which they did. Good sound system, kids had fun, but awfully pricy for a family of 4.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Tahoe Ice Arena also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to South Tahoe Ice Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Tahoe Ice Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.