We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasy Inn to your Saves list
Fantasy Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3696 Lake Tahoe Boulvard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Los Banos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We got married at the chapel onsite on November 2. The staff fulfilled all the needs I had to prepare for our special day. Upon reading other reviews we were a little disappointed to not be given muffins and water for our room, the rooms were humid and we had to make a few trips to vending machine to quench our thirst. Overall we will be back for anniversaries.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that everything went well for your wedding. I am so sorry that we didn't have the baskets during your stay. We, unfortunately didn't get our delivery of goodies in that week. We look forward to seeing you on your anniversaries, and hopefully for other occasions too. Congratulations and best wishes for a long and happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We loved our stay at the Fantasy Inn!!! It was a very cozy and quiet place. Great location! Just a short drive to state line, the Tahoe Queen is just across the street, and iHop right next door! The tub was huge and we loved the dual shower!! A fantasy getaway indeed! Highly recommended for couples who want to get away for the weekend! And the price was very affordable!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice. Remodel has been stopped, needs to be finished. Very relaxing getaway, which is why we go. This was our second stay. We enjoy the location and the shoppes in the area offer a vast variety of venues. Tahoevis beautiful in the fall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see your again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a romantic weekend trip. Usually we go to Reno (about an hour and a half from our home) but this time decided to drive up to Tahoe for a change of scene. We stayed in a Royal Spa room with oval Jacuzzi (at the recommendation of the desk clerk that said that was more comfortable than the heart shaped ones). There were numerous light switches that didn't seem to control anything. Light switch for shower was on the other side of the room. No exhaust fan anywhere even in the little lavatory/toilet room. Needless to say it became very humid. There was so much condensation in the room it was puddled on the window sill and back of the window curtains looked mildewed. Room was relatively quiet (no hallway noise) until anyone in an adjoining room turned on their shower or jacuzzi then we couldn't even hear the VERY OLD TV. SOMETHING must be able to be done about this as we have stayed at numerous other hotels with Jacuzzi suites and theme rooms and never encountered this issue. I read several management responses to reviews over the last 2 years stating that they are in the process of updating the property. Having not stayed there before its hard to judge what has been improved but to me It looked like it has all the original furnishings and plumbing fixtures from the mid 80's. Dirty carpet in the hallways. Neglected flower beds and containers outside. VERY uncomfortable hard lumpy mattress. While the room was much cheaper in price than other Jacuzzi rooms we priced remember that you get what you pay for. This hotel has the potential to be very nice with some TLC and MUCH NEEDED updating. We will not return until some work has been done on the property. While it served its purpose we left feeling disappointed, very sleepy and not refreshed. Hopefully the management makes good on its remodeling claims. We would be willing to give it another try once it is fixed up! But until then we will pay more for better quality somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I am the new manager here so I don't know what was being said or done for renovations in the past. I do know that the owner is in the process of trying to obtain funding for the renovations. Once he does, then we can start on renovation. I am hoping that once they are done, you will come back and give us another try. Keep an eye on our website or Facebook page for updates. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I found this hotel after learning that a similar property was booked on the dates I had planned to be in Tahoe. I had such a great time here that I am very glad the first hotel was booked! The reviews here do not do this place justice. The customer service I received upon check-in was above and beyond. As I asked about the room types, I was offered tours of the different types to help me make up my mind. We decided on the Queen's Quarters, on the second floor (the second floor rooms have windows with a view). The rooms themselves are exactly what I was hoping for in a romantic getaway. Many of the rooms have dated televisions, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway. Otherwise it was great to have a refrigerator, and there is a microwave in the hallway available for public use. The beds are comfortable, the jacuzzi was spacious, and complimentary muffins and water was waiting for us in the room, and refilled the next day! I just love when hotels use small touches like that, rather than trying to nickel and dime you every step of the way. We were also not bothered by maids, even though we didn't leave the hotel until around 1pm one day -- and yet our room was cleaned when we returned.

Very rarely do I like a hotel enough to want to return (rather than try another place) but this one, I'm sure I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I was upset because I booked the Romeo and Juliet room and I got a diff one when we got there. The lady at the front desk gave us a 10% discount but an attitude as well. We still had fun but It made me upset because when I called they said to make the reservation online that it is the same thing but when I did a mistake was made. Next time I will call the desk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that there was a mix-up with your room when you made your reservation on-line. We are happy that you still had fun. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here and we love it!! We came for our 1 year anniversary and plan on coming back next year.
We stayed in the princess room and it was perfect. We love how quiet the hotel is and that you don't hear a bunch of kids running around like at other hotels. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We loved waking up and looking out the window and seeing the snow. This hotel definitely makes our trips to Tahoe perfect and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and will be coming again. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Inn

Address: 3696 Lake Tahoe Boulvard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fantasy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is just one, very unique Fantasy Inn... an originally designed retreat, refreshing in its simple elegance yet exciting your senses with cleverly designed theme rooms. You won't find it anywhere on earth except here.Built in 1993 across from Lake Tahoe in the heart of the South Lake Tahoe's casino, recreation and skiing core, the inn combines the use of stone, brass, wood and a rustic ambiance with eclectic cupolas and spires like a whimsical palace.And that's just the outside...Inside, 52 rooms, 14 of them one-of-a-kind theme rooms, each present an oversize whirlpool spa and adjacent European shower as its focal point. The mood is definitely romance for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fantasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Hotel Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Inn Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.