We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a nice getaway after 20 years of marriage....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasy Inn to your Saves list
Fantasy Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3696 Lake Tahoe Boulvard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Lincoln, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was a nice getaway after 20 years of marriage....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Although the rooms were a little outdated and stained carpets (needs to be steam cleaned), overall the stay wasn't that bad. When updating, might be a good idea to insulate the showers a little better so you don't hear the neighbor's shower

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay with us. I will have to agree with you in regards to the carpets. That is one of the issues that I am working on getting done. We are in the proccess of updating our rooms and giving them a nice facelift. I am sure that on your next visit you will be pleasantly surprised with the changes that you see. Thank you again for your continued business and for being a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband & I stay here July 2012 in one of the Royal Spa Rooms!! What a room.. We had tickets for the Beach Boys concert so didn't get to spend as much time in the room as we had hoped. Promised each other we would go back... husband had surgery last Aug complications arose and he is now up to going back so we are headed back there this week end. We can't wait to get there and just relax and leave the world outside. As we were leaving last July Kathy was at the front desk and we talked for a bit about the rooms being redone... I had hoped the ground level spas would still be there when we were able to go back but she was not sure if they would be.WELL YES THEY STILL ARE and we will be staying in one of the Deluxe Themed Rooms.So glad they didn't take those out as of yet....Highly reccomend anyone looking for a nice relaxing week end to look into these rooms... you won't regret it at all....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experiences while stay with us here at Fantasy Inn and Wedding Chapel. I am so glad that you had the chance to stay in one of the deluxe Theme rooms on your last visit. Your not alone in saying that you hope that the sunken spas are one of the things that we continue to offer. many of our guests feel the same. Thank you again for being a valued guest and we appricate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we just spent our 3rd wedding anniversary at the fantasy inn...we have spent all 3 anniversary's there and this year was amazing we had the Tahoe room, and it was beautiful. Kathy ( manager) had spread green and white rose petals from the door to the bed..we had an amazing weekend the staff is great, the manager is wonderful, our room was beautiful and very clean...the tub was as always perfect!!! see you next year on 4-20 for our 4th anniversary <3

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Leah
I would just like to take a minute to thank you and your hussband for allowing us to be your host while here in Tahoe. I am so glad that you enjoyed your anniversay and please let us know next year if there is anything that we can do to help make your stay one that you will never forget. see you both next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I selected this hotel for our first anniversary getaway. Reviews were mixed, so I trusted my instincts. I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked the hotel and the theme it is based on. It is a quite hotel with lot of privacy for the guests and spacious rooms with lots of personal touches given to ensure the guests feel special. We were welcomed in the room by a goodies basket with a thank you note, temperature of the room already set to comfortable. It was freaking cold outside and we really needed that. Another thing I really liked was that some nice music was kept on as we entered and took a view of the room. We booked a Royal Spa room, so it was very spacious with a huge, clean tub and a very nice and comfortable bed. The decor of the room makes it very romantic. For some, the decor can be a little over the top, but for some, it can be a very nice change from the usual hotel decor. The place is indeed a little old, but it is very well kept and it looks old in a nice way like an old inn or a old hotel. The jets or the tub inlet tap makes a some noise and you can hear when your neighbor turned their tun on. Not a big deal but something to keep in mind. For the price I paid and service and the room I received, I really recommend it to someone looking for a nice romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Royal Spa King is a huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us here at Fantasy Inn. I do appreciate it very much. All of the staff here as well as myself are working very hard to ensure that all of our guest have a pleasant and enjoyable stay while they are here. I just recently added the baskets for our guests to enjoy. I was very pleased with the number of guests who have made it a point to stop by the desk and let us know they really like them. We are going to be adding a breakfast area in the future that where guests will enjoy a delicious buffet style breakfast at no extra charge. Until that is available I felt that guest should at least have a little something to hold them over until they are ready to go have breakfast. Next time you are here please stop by the office and introduce yourself as I like to get to know as many of our guest as I can and I am always happy to hear your comments and ideas for what makes your hotel stays one that you truly remember and wish to experience again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was looking for a romantic place to stay for our anniversary and we loved this hotel! We stayed in the Royal Spa room. The jet tub was amazing!! The shower was great. We are planning on going back to Tahoe again for a longer stay and will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay with us at Fantasy Inn. I am always happy to hear and see about guest that return each year and give us the privlidge of hosting thier special day such as birthdays, anniversaies or weekend getaways. Thank you again and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Although the hotel is somewhat dated the room was nicely done and not over the top as we thought might be the case. They are in the process of updating all their rooms so they should be a little nicer in the near future. Nice romantic getaway. Will go again when the rooms are all updated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us here at Fantasy Inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are all very excited about the all the changes that we are making and hope that you will be as well. We look forward to seeing again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This our second stay here, we stayed here 15 yrs ago in the Arabian nights room. There was strange mural of a woman in a burka that was creepy. But we decided to give it another go since its been remodeled. We stayed stayed in the Anthony & Cleopatra room which was very nice. Give a shout out to Christopher at the front desk who was very nice a check in. Our room was clean and there was a cool gift basket too! The cleaning crew was in hit the 2nd night. The roomed smelled clean and our blankets were laid out in a welcoming way. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, General Manager at Fantasy Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing your opinion. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Inn

Address: 3696 Lake Tahoe Boulvard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fantasy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is just one, very unique Fantasy Inn... an originally designed retreat, refreshing in its simple elegance yet exciting your senses with cleverly designed theme rooms. You won't find it anywhere on earth except here.Built in 1993 across from Lake Tahoe in the heart of the South Lake Tahoe's casino, recreation and skiing core, the inn combines the use of stone, brass, wood and a rustic ambiance with eclectic cupolas and spires like a whimsical palace.And that's just the outside...Inside, 52 rooms, 14 of them one-of-a-kind theme rooms, each present an oversize whirlpool spa and adjacent European shower as its focal point. The mood is definitely romance for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fantasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Hotel Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Inn Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.