We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Tahoe hideaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel to your Saves list
Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3696 Lake Tahoe Boulvard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My favorite Tahoe hideaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn four years in a row during our annual tahoe anniversary trips. We started our 1st year staying in Antony and Cleopatra 4 years ago and we have since stayed in caesars indulgence and marie antoinette. As far as cleanliness, I am a registered nurse and a clean hotel is very important!! This hotel has always been very clean. We have always gone through dozens of towels and It seems so strange that there is such a towel shortage when we have always gotten fresh towels without hesitation. We have never experienced a lack of hot water which would make for a miserable stay
Since the shower and the jacuzzi are our fav things about the rooms. There has always been plenty. Some of the lighting has not worked on a couple of our visits but with the fireplace and dimmer lights we can't complain. Plus the mirrors are so much fun and never have I seen anyones fingerprints in any of the steam! I will stay nowhere else when I visit tahoe. I look forward to the updates and rennovations that are going to take place. We have always had a great time here. Its close to the casinos and walking distance for a moonlit stroll to the lake. It is a place for fantasy and not prudes. Use your imagination and lighten up. Lovers stay here and everyone else check out the best western.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is appriciated very much. I make it a point to respond to my guests comments, questions and concerns. I am glad that you enjoyed your last stay with us. We have just begun the renovations here at the hotel and I am sure that you will be very happy on your next visit to see some of the great things we are doing. If there is ever anything that we can do to make your next trip more enjoyable please let us know. Next time you need to book a room please call the hotel and ask for me, Kathy. I would like to speak to you and say thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
5
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went on June 12, 2012 for our 2nd wedding anniversary. When we returned from dinner, we wanted to use the spa. This is where the problems started. We had no hot water. We called the front desk. We were told, they would check the boiler to make sure it was on, since they had been having problems with it (we were not told this when we checked-in). One hour later, we called again, still no hot water. They said the boiler had been off, it was now on. Just give it more time. The water did finally get warmer after about 1.5hr.
Next morning, we wanted to take a shower, again no hot water. We called down again (this was the 3rd time we had to call for hot water). Check out was at 11am, it was 10am when we called. No hot water, just a cold shower.
During check-out, we spoke to the front desk person. She tried to tell me the boiler was on-bull.
They knew about the problem and didn’t say anything. Then they tried to lie about it when questioned. They gave us $20 dollars off the bill. This is bad business not to mention the possible code violations. We will never go back.

Nat&Kim

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

stayed her with my girlfriend dec 2011 new years eve, got there at 3pm and upon check in, was told no towels yet in room, we said ok, we were going out and wanted to shower by 5pm. at 5 still no towels, we called again, was told in dryer, 6pm no towels called again and let front desk clerk we would want a refund if no towels are avail, they finally brought some down and had only two and one hand towel that looked like car wash towels. un-acceptable. jaquzzi was nice room was clean but bad staff and manager could care less about our situation. nancy good luck to change this review around for future.

Room Tip: check for towels first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Despite all the bad reviews, my boyfriend and I chose to stay anyway. The room was better than we expected. Very clean, we even brought bleach to clean the jacuzzi but there was no need. The only complaint would be that the remote did not work. But who really watches tv ?

No, it's not a 5 star hotel, but we knew that before going. We wanted something different and that is what we got. The maids were more than happy to show us the other rooms. We even seen them cleaning the mirrors on the ceilings.

Over all, we were quite happy with our stay, and will be going back.

Room Tip: I always call the hotel directly to ask any questions I may have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Well first I would like to thank you for choosing to saty with us here at Fantasy Inn. We are now under new ownership and there are many changes happening now and in the very near future. We will be remodeling all of our rooms as well as changing some of the themes.This proccess is just now beegning. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again and I would love to hear what you think of the new rooms when they are done. Thank you again for being a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

On top of being just a very run down place, they charged us extra on the credit card for no reason . So far I have not been able to get a hold of anyone there so I disputed with the credit card company. What a complete waste of time.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place. There are many better options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
I am sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected and I personally apoligize for any problems or inconviences that you had. We are now under new ownership and are remodeling and updating our entire property. I understand what you say about need for updating and that is what we are doing. We will be remodeling our entire hotel, in fact that has began just this week. As for the extra charge to your credit card, this is th first I have learned of it. I would appriciaate it if you would call the hotel and ask for Kathy, I am the general manager and I will personally look into the issue and hopefully we can resolve the problem right away. Please call me and I will be happy to speak with you and see what I can do to make it right. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for your comments and I will address any and all issues and hopefully you will be willing to come staay with us again in the future once our remdel is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We toured the Inn to see if we would be interested in staying here. What we saw was pretty gross. The rooms did not look clean and the tubs inside did not look clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy W, General Manager at Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I must say that I am surprised to hear that you toured the hotel and feel that the rooms nor the spas were clean. Our housekeepers are very thorough and each room is inspected daily by my housekeeping supervisor to ensure nothing was missed. I personally check several rooms on a daily basis as well to make sure they are as they should be. I would be interested to know, when you toured the hotel and felf it was not clean why that you decided to stay with us. I would also like to know if you informed any of the staff of any issues that you had. I would be happy to talk to you and I ask that you please give me a calll and I will be glad to see what can be done to make you happy. You can call the hotel and ask for me, Kathy as I am the general manager and I will do what I can to resolve this and any issues you have. Thank you for your response and I look forward to speaking to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The wife and I decided to stay here for our anniversary, we stayed in the rain forest super sweet. As we were checking in, the man at the desk (I believe he was the manager) asked if we were going to be using the pay per view, I told him no, he said that good we have been having trouble with the pay perview in that room. Then he told me that they were having trouble with the hot water knor bor the hot tub shutting off, but he thought it was fixed now, when we got to the room, the hot water in the hot tun was running a bit......I went to turn it off, and discovered that the screw was loose, so I used my leatherman and tightened it up, no more trouble there. The toilet would not fush well, and would keep runnin until you went in and jiggled the handle. the smoke alarm was dangling from the ceiling, when the people in the room next door turned on thier water (assuming to fill the hot tub) it was so lound, i could no longer hear the fm radio station that i was listening to (am/fm reciever in the room. There are dual shower heads in the open shower area, they call them his and hers, but when you use them you discover that you need to use both at once to get half of the water pressure that you would get in your shower at home, The manager was a very friendly individual, in fact shortly after we checked out, he called me to let us know that my wife had left her drivers license in the sleeve with the room keys that I had check back in to the front desk. He also told me that the owners were getting ready to put a half a million in upgrades into the proerty, I hope that they make necessary improvments, I would love to stay there after the renovation, to see how it turned out, because the idea is great, the themes of the rooms could be captivating! the ireplace worked well, kept the whole room warm.....but dont run the fireplace and the hot tub at the same time...THE ROOM GETS SUPER HOT!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel

Address: 3696 Lake Tahoe Boulvard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is just one, very unique Fantasy Inn... an originally designed retreat, refreshing in its simple elegance yet exciting your senses with cleverly designed theme rooms. You won't find it anywhere on earth except here.Built in 1993 across from Lake Tahoe in the heart of the South Lake Tahoe's casino, recreation and skiing core, the inn combines the use of stone, brass, wood and a rustic ambiance with eclectic cupolas and spires like a whimsical palace.And that's just the outside...Inside, 52 rooms, 14 of them one-of-a-kind theme rooms, each present an oversize whirlpool spa and adjacent European shower as its focal point. The mood is definitely romance for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Hotel Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Inn Lake Tahoe
Fantasy Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Inn & Wedding Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.