We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi!”
Review of Off The Hook

2660 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
5305445599
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Locally owned and operated since 2004, Off the Hook has quickly become the locals' favorite spot for delicious food in a fun, upbeat, inviting atmosphere. Far from a traditional sushi restaurant, this California-style sushi bar puts a Western twist on an ancient Eastern food idea, offering so many unique flavors and ingredients you won't find anywhere else. There are over 40 rolls on the menu, but the Dragon Balls, Fire in the Sky and Gambler are a must try. The sushi is undeniably fresh as the chefs take the utmost care in breaking down and preparing the best quality fish available from whole into delectable bites for their customers. If sushi isn't your thing, the menu also includes a variety of cooked items, such as Tempura, Teriyaki, Bento Boxes, Udon Noodle Bowls, and cooked fish entrees. You'll even find Honey Walnut Prawns, Ahi Poke Salad, and Korean-Style Kalbi Ribs. The homemade desserts (tempura green tea ice-cream!)and extensive sake selection are as equally enticing! Located right in the middle of town on Highway 50, Off the Hook continues to strive to be a casual, yet high qaulity restaurant, cutting no corners when it comes to the customers' dining experience. Find out for yourself why Off the Hook has been voted "Best Sushi" by Tahoe locals for the last six years! Check out their Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:30 - 6 pm where many of their rolls, appetizers and drinks are discounted.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    24
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Off The Hook
See the most recent reviews
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ate here one night while staying at Tahoe, and were impressed. My wife had a big plate of sashimi, and I had the bento box, and everything was excellent. The house white wine is only $17/ bottle and is a nice sauvignon blanc from Snoqualmie (Washington). Even sweeter -- restaurant.com has a coupon for this place! Highly recommended, and quite popular. We arrived around 5:45 on a Thursday, and had to wait a few minutes. I suspect the line would be quite a bit longer on weekends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best sushi in South Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm very picky when it comes to sushi having lived in Japan. This place is very good and has the best prices in the area. The other sushi places in SLT are much more expensive and not as good. Happy hour has a great menu and for cheap! Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Off the Hook's name is right on... Off the Hook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

These guys rock... Food is so great and the staff is off the hook as well. That's probably a good reason they keep winning Best of Tahoe with the locals. If it's good with the locals, you might want to just get your butts over there... Whiskey Dicks bar is located across the parking lot so when you finish stuffing your face, go slam some beers with Tahoe's finest.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I highly recommend Off the Hook in South Lake Tahoe. There's no view of the lake, it's not near the casinos, and they don't have live music. They have a cozy dining room, with the friendliest staff I've ever experienced and the sushi tastes excellent. Some of my favorite Maki rolls are the Gambler, Fire in the Sky, and the Sugar Mama (every young Tahoe Bro's dream). Some of the Maki rolls I will try next time are the Funky Roll Medina and the Stop Drop and Roll. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must while in Tahoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Happy hour is a great way to taste an assortment of choices. Loved the Shrimp Dynamite. Too sweet for my diabetic husband, but I loved it! Service is great, too. Found this place in 2011 and it was our first choice on our return trip in 2012. We recommend Off the Hook to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off The Hook also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Off The Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off The Hook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.