We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't sleep because it was so loud, and didn't feel like real camping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Campground by the Lake

Campground by the Lake
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campground by the Lake
1150 Rufus Allen Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Couldn't sleep because it was so loud, and didn't feel like real camping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My boyfriend booked this campground for us without doing his research, and we ended up not enjoying most of our time at the campsite. It was loud, and there were a lot of people partying and smoking and drinking near us. Also, its right by a major road through S Lake Tahoe, and it didn't feel like we were really camping in the woods. The sites are flat, and rock-free, but there aren't many trees between the sites which makes it less private. Next time, we hope to stay somewhere deeper in the forest, and with less commotion.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Well maintained, organized, clean, great campsites! Fast free WiFi, inside city so access to everything via bike/trolley, walking, great location easy to get to mountains. Quiet time begins at 8pm so no loud parties. Shady lots of trees, not dusty.

Only downside is it is near highway so you hear traffic all night long.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

this will be my 6th time camping at this location and i have to say I LOVE IT,,, great location and beutiful scenery..

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a joke! The website for this place is totally deceiving. Camping along the highway is not camping. I was beyond bummed out when we arrived, so upset in fact that even after paying for 2 nights I decided to call up a few other campsites in Tahoe to see if anyone had any openings. Ended up staying two nights at DL Bliss instead...which was AMAZING. Don't stay here unless you want to be able to walk to Denny's and the casinos.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Calif.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Camp has rules not to make noise from 8:00 pm to 8:00 am, although loud equipment in either or both of the two yards ( maintenance yard - corp yard ) gets started up at 5:00 am and /or about 7:00 am. It is not what I feel is true campng. You are close to the city and can bike to restaurants and grocery stores, take the city trolley and go to many places in Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We've been coming to Tahoe for many summers, now , and have never stayed at Campground by the Lake. We always wanted to, but didn't, until this summer. We have loved staying here and enjoyed all the amenities and close proximity to the lake, stateline, laundromat, grocery store and restaurants. We walked and biked everywhere. We've enjoyed the whole experience! Our friends, who have never been to Tahoe, came up to join us for several days and were in awe! We are hoping to become camp hosts in the near future.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We have been coming to Tahoe for family vacations each summer for 12 years. We usually stay in a condo but are on a budget this year and rather then opt out, we decided to camp instead. Located across the hwy from the lake with an amazing lake view! Perfect for budget minded families who want to spend a few days. Ice rink and public swimming right next to property. Showers on site. The staff is very friendly and accomodating! They go out of their way to help, unlike other camps in the area we have stayed at. Even after a billing mix-up on my part, Gloria was nice enough to try to fix it without any hassle about the inconvenience I caused. We now plan on returning with the whole family next month as well! At under $30.00 a night for 6 people, you can't beat it, we can even bring our dog (leashed of course)!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campground by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campground by the Lake

Address: 1150 Rufus Allen Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground by the Lake-owned and operated by the City of South Lake Tahoe has 50 hookup spots and 120 spots without hookups. Tons of fun for the whole family, we are 2.3 miles away from the stateline on the California side. We are directly across route 50 from El Dorado Beach, a popular South Shore destination. We have shops and restuarants within walking distance and public transportation east to the Stateline (Casinos, Heavenly Village) and west all the way to Emerald Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campground By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campground by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Campground by the Lake to your Saves list