We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not camping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Campground by the Lake

Campground by the Lake
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campground by the Lake
Save Saved
You added Campground by the Lake to your Saves list
1150 Rufus Allen Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is not camping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a joke! The website for this place is totally deceiving. Camping along the highway is not camping. I was beyond bummed out when we arrived, so upset in fact that even after paying for 2 nights I decided to call up a few other campsites in Tahoe to see if anyone had any openings. Ended up staying two nights at DL Bliss instead...which was AMAZING. Don't stay here unless you want to be able to walk to Denny's and the casinos.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Camp has rules not to make noise from 8:00 pm to 8:00 am, although loud equipment in either or both of the two yards ( maintenance yard - corp yard ) gets started up at 5:00 am and /or about 7:00 am. It is not what I feel is true campng. You are close to the city and can bike to restaurants and grocery stores, take the city trolley and go to many places in Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We've been coming to Tahoe for many summers, now , and have never stayed at Campground by the Lake. We always wanted to, but didn't, until this summer. We have loved staying here and enjoyed all the amenities and close proximity to the lake, stateline, laundromat, grocery store and restaurants. We walked and biked everywhere. We've enjoyed the whole experience! Our friends, who have never been to Tahoe, came up to join us for several days and were in awe! We are hoping to become camp hosts in the near future.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We have been coming to Tahoe for family vacations each summer for 12 years. We usually stay in a condo but are on a budget this year and rather then opt out, we decided to camp instead. Located across the hwy from the lake with an amazing lake view! Perfect for budget minded families who want to spend a few days. Ice rink and public swimming right next to property. Showers on site. The staff is very friendly and accomodating! They go out of their way to help, unlike other camps in the area we have stayed at. Even after a billing mix-up on my part, Gloria was nice enough to try to fix it without any hassle about the inconvenience I caused. We now plan on returning with the whole family next month as well! At under $30.00 a night for 6 people, you can't beat it, we can even bring our dog (leashed of course)!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Every year my family and I go to Lake Tahoe and camp at Campground by the Lake. It is off of hwy 50 about 3 miles from the casinos and there is a beach right across the street or you can drive to nearby beaches-Baldwin Beach, Pope Beach, Camp Richardson, etc. The campground is very clean and quiet although it is located next to the main road going into town. Spots with full hook-ups are located near the road while dry spots are located more inward. Showers are hot and free. There is also a shuttle every half hour that takes you to the casinos and brings you back. Dogs are allowed on leashes. There is a playground across the street and also an ice rink with arcade. This is a nice way to spend some family time together if you're on a budget but want to see Lake Tahoe or if you just like camping!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campground by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campground by the Lake

Address: 1150 Rufus Allen Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground by the Lake-owned and operated by the City of South Lake Tahoe has 50 hookup spots and 120 spots without hookups. Tons of fun for the whole family, we are 2.3 miles away from the stateline on the California side. We are directly across route 50 from El Dorado Beach, a popular South Shore destination. We have shops and restuarants within walking distance and public transportation east to the Stateline (Casinos, Heavenly Village) and west all the way to Emerald Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campground By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campground by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.