We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo Great!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soooo Great!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were skeptical when we drove up.....greeted by the owner and Kona and the weekend was fabulous. The rooms are small but well decorated, all inclusive continental breakfast was great, all the dogs there great.....Met some nice people around the fire pit. Would I go again? Yes absolutely, in a heartbeat. Cutest Place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Fireside Lodge for 4 nights and loved it. We chose the place because it was highly rated as a dog-friendly place, but I'd rate it highly dog or no. It's really comfortable -- the design is cozy, and makes you want to relax. There are fireplaces everywhere -- in the room, in the main lodge, the fire pit outside (s'mores!). The design is cozy and cute without being too cutesy. It's also really clean, not a speck of dust. Our dog was welcomed by the innkeepers and also by their dog Kona (a big yellow lab that's great with smaller dogs). And we felt really taken care of -- there are snacks in the lodge, and wine/cheese in the evening, and breakfast with waffle bar with every waffle fixin' you can dream up, a superb hot chocolate machine, DVDs you can borrow for free and free microwave popcorn to go with it. The property backs onto the national forest so it's easy to run the dog after a day of skiing. Last but not least, the innkeepers make sure you've got what you need and feel taken care of. They care about getting it right, and it shows. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and stay here if going to Lake Tahoe. Like staying with family, without the drama! My go to place to stay! Exceptional value, especially if you ski @ Sierra At Tahoe and buy your tickets at Fireside.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When we drove up, we were a little disappointed because the outdide looked like motel... However, we really were impressed by the cleanliness of the place and the true dog friendly nature of the place! Your dog can truly go eveywhere on the property. Wune and cheese evenings were great and the marshamellow/smore making party was wonderful ! While they have a sledding hill in the back of the property that the owner built, its s liitle steep for the young ones... For sledding, we highly recommend sropping off at Fish Pond before giing to Fireside. With 5 to 6 different hill grades, kids of all ages will definitely have a blast!!! The motel is a little dated, but it definitelybis cozy and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in the springtime in room 8 - (the angler room). Nice size & a fireplace. The owners & pup are so wonderful. These two have thought of EVERYTHING!! They even have free kayak use & mountain bikes. There is a trail behind the property that is beautiful - we packed a picnic lunch & we stopped at every beach along the path - so nice not to have to deal with parking & traffic.

In the evening they have a 'happy hour' with wine & cheese. A large movie dvd collection & they have a nice garden area with fire pit for hanging out.

A true gem! You won't regret it. Can't wait to return next summer & may try it out this winter as well!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markleeville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We think it would be impossible for anyone to have anything other than a great time at the Fireside Lodge. It is apparent from the first moment that you walk on property that this is not your average hotel - it is a labor of love. Every detail is perfectly appointed - from the thoughtful decorations, to toiletry items in the bathroom, wonderful breakfast, even wine and cheese hour and drinks in lobby. They have bikes and kayaks for guests to use. This is the most comfortable, accommodating place to stay in TAHOE! Christine, Dave and Kona have thought of everything! We spent our wedding night here and then came back for our 4 yr anniversary. 4 yrs ago this place was amazing! We have exactly the same sentiment today - we loved every minute of our stay and hope to be back very soon! Well worth every penny! The Fireside Lodge deserves at least 6 stars! (PS - there is no pool but I couldn't figure out how to take the stars off, but there is an amazing lake in close proximity that definitely counts as a pool in the summer time!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the recently renovated Mariner Room - would be great for a family. It had bunkbeds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We simply can't rate the Fireside Lodge highly enough! The only thing better than the facilities and general location is the personal customer service. David and Christine go well above and beyond to ensure you're taken care of every minute of your stay. We found Fireside Lodge when we moved from Omaha, NE, to Northern California. A year later, I booked an anniversary weekend getaway but had to delay when I was deployed on very short notice to the Middle East for a couple of months. Our reservations were put on hold until we could get a few days away and Christine worked with me personally every step of the way. After one crazy spring and summer, our three-night stay was a blessing!

Room Tip: Don't forget your dog! The property backs up to the state forest, which makes for easy hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Lodge b&b
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list